We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem”

Casa de Loco Winery
Ranked #4 of 14 things to do in Camdenton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
322 reviews
174 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

It's true- the drive out here will make you think you took a wrong turn somewhere.. but you didn't! It is gravel roads the last few miles, but totally worth it!. They have a wonderful set up, with multiple decks and areas to hangout. The waterfall canyon is a great location for some shade. The whole winery overlooks one of the creeks flowing off the Lake of the Ozarks, so it makes for beautiful scenery. We can't wait to return!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindsey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaCamdenton, Manager at Casa de Loco Winery, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words. We hope that you come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    10
    5
    3
    3
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

It may be a 2 mile drive on gravel, but it is well worth it. Beautiful scenery. T b is is a sister of Shawnee Bluff Winery. Wines are excellent and the names are fun and quite tasty. Great staff.

Helpful?
2 Thank mmccubb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wine, music, and kayaking”
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

This place is nostalgic, natural, and great fun. Beautiful view of river from multiple decks, great customer service, lodging is comfortable, and their wines are pretty darn good. Perfect place to watch the sunset then sit around the fire pit. Rented a kayak and they deliver you to the take out and you arrive back at the winery. Employees are a group of amazing people who really make you feel welcome...Ozark hospitality and friendliness extraordinaire!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank MHMac7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A difficult destination to embark for a day of vino!”
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

You will be sure you are lost before you arrive at casa de loco! Hard to get to and a bit of a let down once you arrive. Mother Nature provides the perfect back drop but the accruements are just second best. It just never seems safe, ( (accidents waiting to happen) clean and sanitary. Brick oven pizza is tasty but flies out of control. Good wine selection and gift shop

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bbeatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kansas ctiy
Level Contributor
128 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“No grapes grown or wine made at this "Winery" & It doesn't help it's not good wine!”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I went with my mom while we were down visiting Lake of the Ozarks. We were not only very disappointed with the wines, the presentation, and the fact this was named a winery. When we asked if grapes were grown on site we were told no, when we asked if wine was made at the winery we were told no...no grapes or wine made at a winery? Wouldn't this make this a wine store? The wine tasting when we went was free, however be warned they are going to stop doing free wine tastings (probably because the wine is gross and no one is buying bottles after trying it) The employee helping us didn't know much about wine to explain what we were drinking and we were given hints about the buildings history as we were tasting the crazy labeled wines. The employee helping us didn't seem she even wanted to be helping us until my mom reached in her pocket and started pulling out tip money.

Helpful?
Thank sashadog24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaCamdenton, Manager at Casa de Loco Winery, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
I am sorry about your recent visit. We do not grow our grapes on site or make our wine onsite, that is correct. However, we do not do it on that site because we have a vineyard location approx. 45 minutes from our location. I sincerely apologize that you did not have a good experience. I will talk with the employees about their customer service. You opinion on our wines is fine, but I would like to clear up any confusion. We have 30 acres in CA where our California wines come from. We make trips 3 times a year. We visit during the 2 harvest seasons, and once to bottle. We participate in all aspects of "making" our wine. We also have contracts with a vineyard in Rocheport, which we work closely with to come up with blends and such to produce our wine. We are very much a winery, just maybe not a winery you are accustomed to. I appreciate your feedback. Feedback helps grow successful businesses.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa de Loco Winery also viewed

Lake Ozark, Lake of the Ozarks
Camdenton, Lake of the Ozarks
 
Linn Creek, Lake of the Ozarks
Osage Beach, Lake of the Ozarks
 

Been to Casa de Loco Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing