We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic stay”
Review of Haus Giotto B + B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Haus Giotto B + B
Ranked #1 of 4 De Kelders B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“fantastic stay”
Reviewed 14 April 2013

This is an immaculate and beautiful house in a quiet residential area. Lovely views of the ocean and within walking distance of a lovely cliff walk to caves and a spectacular beach. Gina and Otto were perfect. Friendly, helpful and very polite. They booked our shark diving trip and our restaurant on our first night. They recommended where to go and what to see. Room was spotless and to a very high standard and breakfast was great. highly recommended and we would stay again.
The only minor issue we had was with the balcony. It is a beautiful large shared balcony, set up with a separate table and chairs outside each of the 2 units that open onto it. This should work fine in theory but unfortunately some people are a bit rude and we had our balcony furniture taken away by a large group of germans staying with the people in the room next door. This meant we could not sit outside on our last night. If we had been staying longer, we would have made a fuss about this but we didn't want the hassle. It may be worth asking guests not to remove other guests outside furniture or have a small divider on the balcony.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank themagichands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    27
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
101
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wilts
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

We stayed at Haus Giotto last year, having turned up late on spec & Gina managed to find a little room for us & squeeze us in.

This year I planned ahead in the knowledge that they have far better rooms & that we would be heading this way again.

We got a front facing room with shared balcony, cooking facilities & all the necessary equipment.

We booked for 2 nights but stayed for one more. A few of the B&Bs in de Kelders have a sea view, great for whale watching, but Haus Giotto is only a matter of minutes walk from the coast & probably one of the best spots for land based whale watching in the world.

As has been mentioned elsewhere both Gina & Otto are more than helpful & put themselves out for their guests - I think they very much enjoy the company.

The rooms are comfortable, the breakfasts quite up to standard & the rates are very favourable. If a sea view is not important to you, you could do very much worse than Haus Giotto.

Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank tether_end
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Gina and Otto are fabulous hosts and we enjoyed our stay (which unfortunately was for one night only) greatly. The house is conveniently located close to the coastal cliffs in Gansbaai, with nearby access to a walking trail.

The room was very nice and tidy and we had the possibility to sit outside on a terrace, breakfast was very good and served in a friendly atmosphere. This short stay belongs to the definite memories of our recent trip to South Africa.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kai E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, UK
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

A simply wonderful experience. The owners, Gina and Otto, were so thoughtful and welcoming; they helped us plan our whale-watching walks, lent us bird and flower books and advised us of all the best local places to visit. Gina and her friend even invited us to join them on a wonderful walk over a nearby private nature reserve, to explore the amazing Fynbos flowers.
The whole house is beautiful and our room was light, spacious and luxuriously furnished with a picture window and balcony. We could see whales in the distance, from our balcony. The breakfasts were excellent, with fresh fruit salad, cereals, yogurts, warm fresh bread and toast and a choice of cooked breakfast. As we expressed interest in trying local food, on our last morning Gina even cooked us a sweet South African sorghum porridge, which was delicious.
Just ask Gina and Otto, if there's anything you want to know about the area, booking whale-watching or shark-diving cruises, places to eat out, etc, etc. - they love the Whale Coast and are very knowledgeable.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran-and-Pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We stayed for three nights. The Guest House was lovely, and situated in a quiet residential area. Our room was large, nicely decorated and had superb views. Breakfast was delicious. Gina and Otto went out of their way to be helpful and made us feel very welcome. They were happy to advise on places to eat and things to see in the area. Gina even booked our whale-watching trip which was fantastic. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2012

What a wonderful guest house in De Kelders with superb hosts. Room was beautiful. Otto went out of his way to walk me along the cliffs and made every attempt to get us into the cave, but to no avail, the water was just too high. Gina is a wealth of information and has such a lovely personality. I will definately return. THANK YOU FOR YOUR WARM HOSPITALITY!

Room Tip: They are all lovely and sunny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

As the author of "Adventure Hikes in the Cape Peninsula" and "Off the Beaten Track", I stayed here with three friends while doing a review of the Perlemoen Trail. The breakfast was delicious and freshly prepared by Otto while Gina gave us information about the area. Freshly brewed filter coffee and orange juice washed down eggs of our choice,after freshly chopped fruit salad with muesli and yogurt.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gypzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near De Kelders
11.8 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
683 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sea Star Cliff
Sea Star Cliff
#1 of 2 in De Kelders
104 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cliff Lodge
Cliff Lodge
#1 of 29 in Gansbaai
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Roundhouse Guesthouse
The Roundhouse Guesthouse
#7 of 29 in Gansbaai
400 reviews
2.9 mi away
Grootbos Private Nature Reserve
Grootbos Private Nature Reserve
#1 of 1 in Grootbos Private Nature Reserve
703 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kleinzee Oceanfront Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haus Giotto B + B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haus Giotto B + B

Property: Haus Giotto B + B
Address: 81 Hoofweg, De Kelders 7220, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > De Kelders
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in De Kelders
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Haus Giotto B + B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gina and Otto would love to welcome you to "Haus Giotto", a small and intimate B&B in the peaceful village of De Kelders. Haus Giotto has three suites - each with a bedroom, bathroom, lounge area, kitchenette and balcony. You're a three minute walk from the ocean with its cliffs, caves, coastal paths and beaches overlooking Walker Bay, one of the world's premier locations for land-based whale watching. Close by you have fynbos hikes in the mountains with bird watching, the world's best shark diving and local ecotours and much more. Any assistance you require during your holiday will be provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Haus Giotto B + B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing