We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place where time stops”
Review of Haus Giotto B + B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Haus Giotto B + B
Ranked #1 of 5 De Kelders B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
“The place where time stops”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

The title is because you wake up feeling so relaxed and you can just lay there in the silence without a care in the world as if time had just stopped and in that moment all you find is perfection and you want the rest of the day to just stay as it is at that moment.

Staff are friendly and helpful, we met some interesting people on our stay there. The rooms are very clean and well decorated giving it a homely and welcoming feeling. This was my 1st time at a B+B in Gaansbaai but if I ever go back I'd definitely go stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Marvin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    27
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
101
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We had an Excellent stay. The room was very neat and comfortable and equipped with all that was needed.Breakfast was great. Will definately visit again when we travel thqat way. Hosts were very friendly and made us feel most welcome.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Yolande E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We won a weekend at Haus Giotto when they sponsored a prize in a fundraiser for a girl with hearing loss who has to have a cochlear implant. The room was perfect in every way and even has a kitchenette and a balcony where you can eat ouside with a view of the sea. Breakfast was very nice and more than enough so that we could skip lunch! Gina and Otto were wonderful hosts and when we left, we felt we were saying goodbye to friends, not hosts. There were 7-8 whales in the bay on each of the 3 days we spent there. The coastline is a short walk from Haus Giotto. There is a lot to see and do in and around De Kelders. We will definitely be going back to Haus Giotto and can strongly recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beatrix P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We had two very nice days at House Giotto. We could walk down to the sea and watch whales and dolphines. The owners (including the dog) were very friendy, and we had some interesting conversations. We can recommend House Giotto!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lars O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

This is an immaculate and beautiful house in a quiet residential area. Lovely views of the ocean and within walking distance of a lovely cliff walk to caves and a spectacular beach. Gina and Otto were perfect. Friendly, helpful and very polite. They booked our shark diving trip and our restaurant on our first night. They recommended where to go and what to see. Room was spotless and to a very high standard and breakfast was great. highly recommended and we would stay again.
The only minor issue we had was with the balcony. It is a beautiful large shared balcony, set up with a separate table and chairs outside each of the 2 units that open onto it. This should work fine in theory but unfortunately some people are a bit rude and we had our balcony furniture taken away by a large group of germans staying with the people in the room next door. This meant we could not sit outside on our last night. If we had been staying longer, we would have made a fuss about this but we didn't want the hassle. It may be worth asking guests not to remove other guests outside furniture or have a small divider on the balcony.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank themagichands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wilts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

We stayed at Haus Giotto last year, having turned up late on spec & Gina managed to find a little room for us & squeeze us in.

This year I planned ahead in the knowledge that they have far better rooms & that we would be heading this way again.

We got a front facing room with shared balcony, cooking facilities & all the necessary equipment.

We booked for 2 nights but stayed for one more. A few of the B&Bs in de Kelders have a sea view, great for whale watching, but Haus Giotto is only a matter of minutes walk from the coast & probably one of the best spots for land based whale watching in the world.

As has been mentioned elsewhere both Gina & Otto are more than helpful & put themselves out for their guests - I think they very much enjoy the company.

The rooms are comfortable, the breakfasts quite up to standard & the rates are very favourable. If a sea view is not important to you, you could do very much worse than Haus Giotto.

Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank tether_end
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Gina and Otto are fabulous hosts and we enjoyed our stay (which unfortunately was for one night only) greatly. The house is conveniently located close to the coastal cliffs in Gansbaai, with nearby access to a walking trail.

The room was very nice and tidy and we had the possibility to sit outside on a terrace, breakfast was very good and served in a friendly atmosphere. This short stay belongs to the definite memories of our recent trip to South Africa.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kai E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near De Kelders
0.7 mi away
Cliff Lodge
Cliff Lodge
#1 of 29 in Gansbaai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Roundhouse Guesthouse
The Roundhouse Guesthouse
#7 of 29 in Gansbaai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crayfish Lodge Sea & Country Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
49 on Cliff
49 on Cliff
#3 of 5 in De Kelders
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.3 mi away
65onCliff
65onCliff
#6 of 29 in Gansbaai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
2.0 mi away
Saxon Lodge
Saxon Lodge
#5 of 29 in Gansbaai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haus Giotto B + B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haus Giotto B + B

Property: Haus Giotto B + B
Address: 81 Hoofweg, De Kelders 7220, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > De Kelders
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in De Kelders
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Haus Giotto B + B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gina and Otto would love to welcome you to "Haus Giotto", a small and intimate B&B in the peaceful village of De Kelders. Haus Giotto has three suites - each with a bedroom, bathroom, lounge area, kitchenette and balcony. You're a three minute walk from the ocean with its cliffs, caves, coastal paths and beaches overlooking Walker Bay, one of the world's premier locations for land-based whale watching. Close by you have fynbos hikes in the mountains with bird watching, the world's best shark diving and local ecotours and much more. Any assistance you require during your holiday will be provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Haus Giotto B + B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing