We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Whales”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
De Kelders, Overstrand, Overberg District, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
English first
Portuguese first
Any
English first
jytte58
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Whales”
Reviewed 7 October 2018 for a stay in October 2018

Amazing location for watching whales. Very nice apartment, with wonderfull view. Whalesafari is fantastisk,

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Oct 2018
Hi Jytte, thanks so much for your review. I'm really pleased you enjoyed the apartment, views and, of course, the magnificent whales!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pauladelo
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Whale Lovers Paradise”
Reviewed 29 September 2018 for a stay in September 2018

We chose this apartment because of its great position for watching the whales in the bay and it didn’t disappoint. I was able to pull back the bedroom curtain to see calves breaching in the bay.
Apartment was clean and comfortable Had to request extra heating but this was promptly provided. Only downside was no laundry facilities. We stayed 7 nights and could have done with this, and no clean towels offered during the stay. Otherwise a great rental. Would be happy to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2018
Thank you Paula for taking the time to review us, we do value honest feedback from our guests.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the whales put on a good show for you!

Kind regards,
Lauren
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ebert S
Cobham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great view”
Reviewed 28 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Great location for whale watching and beautiful sun sets. The apartment was clean and well equipped for a comfortable stay.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2018
Thank you Ebert for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to welcome you back again one day!
Kind regards,
Lauren
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NatalieW3...
1 review
“Winter AGetaway”
Reviewed 20 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Impressed! Great accommodation, clean and well stocked. Amazing views all round. Beautiful town and we will definately be back!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jun 2018
Thanks Natalie, I'm so pleased you had a great stay. We look forward to having you back! Kind regards, Mailie.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohannaFr...
Parainen, Finland
1 review
“Beautiful home with spectacular view”
Reviewed 20 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

In a quiet area that felt very safe is this really beautiful flat. The view overlooking the ocean and mountains on the other side is breahtaking... very well equipped!! We should come back another time, in whale season :)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Mar 2018
Thanks Johanna for taking the time to review the apartment. We're very fortunate to have such a wonderful position - we look forward to seeing you back to enjoy the whales in season!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hezac
Bucks
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Special Place”
Reviewed 8 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

The Lookout is a superb apartment in an excellent location - particularly in whale watching season. The place is very comfortable, well equipped and ideally placed so that you can indeed watch whales whilst lying in bed. It is also well positioned for shops and restaurants and to visit some of the other attractions on this section of the coast.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Nov 2017
Thank you for your review, and I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay!

Kind regards,
Lauren
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LYNN B
Constantia, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little bit of heaven.”
Reviewed 4 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

What a wonderful place for us to spend 9 days. The apartment had all we needed plus a great big wonderful balcony for us to watch the whales, we hardly wanted to move. Lots of wonderful restaurants nearby and a good supermarket for the days we wanted to eat on the balcony. An amazing big cat sanctuary, Panthera Africa, is so worth a visit, a very moving experience. The Lookout is a 'definite visit again' place. Lynn & Stephen Brown, Bramhall, UK

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2017
Thank you Lynn & Stephen. I'm thrilled you had such a lovely stay and we hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing