We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cliff Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Baleens(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$577
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windsor Hotel & Apartments(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
US$81
US$74
SA Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$246
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Four Pines Lodge(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
US$120
US$101
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$108
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$236
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (660)
Filter reviews
660 results
Traveller rating
643
13
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
643
13
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean suiteeast roomb bspectacular viewsoutdoor showerour honeymoonwhale watchingcarrot cakeguest houseattention to detailsouth africanothing is too much troublesecond to nonebeach bagowners and staffwalker baycape town
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
427 - 432 of 660 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2011

This has now been my third visit to Cliff Lodge and I can honestky say that each visit gets better and better. The amazing location, perfect unobtrusive but professional service, rooms that are so delightfully comfortable and hospitality that always exceeds the highest expectations. I really did not want to leave!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rose021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2011

We have just returned from a two night stay in the North Room at Cliff Lodge and wanted to highly recommend this fabulous lodge and its hosts who provided us with comfort, restaurant tips (especially in a very dormant Gansbaai at this time of the year), drive suggestions, walk itineraries and a an overall simply wonderful stay. I have never stayed in a hotel/lodge/guesthouse where every detail has been thought of (plug adaptors, torches, maps, extra toothpaste if needed, etc etc). We were even lucky enough to have Nico, the manager, spot whales way out of season (or at least very early one in the season).

We thank Gill, Gideon and Nico and wish them a great next season and will be back!

Room Tip: North room has a fab view and private balcony
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ciara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Cliff Lodge has suberb view over the ocean, wonderful trails and beaches, is close to enjoyable attrations like Cape Agulhas and other charming towns and cities and offers high quality hospitality in every sense: warmth from Gideon, Gill and staff; confortable bedroon with wonderful views, great breakfast, efficient services and very good and knowledgeable information support from owners.
A place to go more often!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulobergamasco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

After reading all the positive reviews and viewing the website, I was really looking forward to a night's stay at Cliff Lodge with husband and friends. The property is very nice and the view is stunning, but the owner was arrogant and rude. His poor hospitality ruined our experience. There are several B & B's on the same road with a similar view, so the next time that I am in the area I would rather choose a guest house where I feel welcome.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bestcongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shapiros, Owner at Cliff Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2011

Dear Bestcongo
Your time at Cliff Lodge was very brief (a couple of hours) because we asked you to leave and offered to find you alternative accommodation. This is the first time in 11 years of business that we have had to ask guests to leave, and it was a very unfortunate experience for all concerned. When you arrived we upgraded you free of charge to our sea front rooms. However you did not spend any time in your rooms at all. Cliff Lodge is a peaceful, relaxing guest house, and your group behaved in a racist, rude and rowdy manner. Your group was drunk, and one of the men became very abusive when he was asked to turn down the blaring music and to tone it down. We did not charge you for your considerable bar bill or for the rooms that we could have filled. Our guest house is not a pub, and we did not feel that this was the correct place for your party as you were disturbing our other guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2011

Kindest thanks to the Shapiros we will never forget this place and look forward to come back next time we are in the Cape Area.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melan95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews