We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“journey to paradise”
Review of Tsitsikamma on Sea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tsitsikamma on Sea
Ranked #1 of 2 Witelsbos B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 March 2013

stayed at Tsitsikamma on sea and had the time of our lives. The views were picture postcards, the owners went beyond the call of duty, different idyllic spots to watch sunsets, sitting around camp fires listening to guitar and flutes playing, amazing walks, horse riding, home cooked wholesome food, veggies and salads picked from their organic vegetable patch. An unexpected paradise highly recommend, especially if you want idyllic views, warmth, and the energy of nature surrounding you. We stayed in the lodge and went back on our return journey to stay in basic cabin. Depends what you want, but it is all about the nature.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bulawayo26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan B, Owner at Tsitsikamma on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Thank you for your kind review. We would love to host you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2008

This was a last minute booking because our chalet in Tsitsikamma National Park was flooded. Did not have time to do proper research, and boy was that a mistake. I don't know where their website (on SA Venues) got their luxury pictures from, because we literally stayed in a tool shed. The lights didn't work, the pilot light on the stove and oven was out (forcing us to use a cig lighter to light the thing), there was a satellite dish but no tv (??), there was a big bull next door to us behind a fence consisting of a single rope, the furniture was dingy, and the drive to get there was nearly impassable. The view was not anything to speak of either.

AND, it was a 4 star place and cost 800 rand per night!!! It was the most expensive of any of our accommodation, all of which was much nicer.

The drive to the guesthouse is down a 7km dirt road with huge potholes and sand. We had a sedan and did not know that we would barely make it. Our car truly took a beating and the driving was stressful.

We never once saw the owners, as they called me and told me we were staying in cottage #2 and the key was inside. I was so disgusted with the place and the price, and too scared of the road conditions, to go look for the owners.

Do not stay here, ever. Look in Storms River, as you will be much closer to the N2 and activities, coffee, and the National Park.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank prontopup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan B, Coonsultant at Tsitsikamma on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

These guests that arrived already irate about their circumstances were helped out in their emergency and accommodated in an unrated cottage on the estate at a fraction of what it would have cost them in the lodge had we been able to accommodate them. The cottages are exactly what they claim to be - cottages. The lodge has maintained its 4-star rating for the past 12 years and Superior Acommodation AA rating. The picture that they posted is NOT of the master suite at the lodge. They never set foot in the lodge and the review is not about Tsitsikamma on Sea Luxury Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2008

Here's our sad story: we were originally booked to stay in cabins right on the beach in Tsitsikamma National Park but received an email that a storm had caused some damage to accommodations and we have 1 day to find alternative lodging.

Because of time shortage, we did not do our research when picking Tsitsikamma on the Sea and we definetely paid for it.

It is located outside of the park at the end of REALLY bad dirt road (about 8 km long). I would strongly recommend you to drive there only if you have a 4x4. If you have a sedan and it rains while you're at the cabin, you will not get out, guaranteed.

Now, onto the accommodations. We rented a self-catering 2-bedroom cabin for 800 ZAR a night. The cabin (#2) was pretty shabby and about 1/3 of the light fixtures did not work. There was only a bath tub in the bathroom and no shower -- the bathroom was pretty small so I ended up splashing the entire room as I was trying to use the hand-held shower in the tub. The small kitchen did have the dishes and pots but the entire outfit looked pretty worn out and the cabinets smelled pretty funny.

The cabin did have 2 bedrooms with closing doors (one with queen-sized bed and one with a twin) + a bunk bed in the living room. The cabin had a satellite dish but no TV. You can see the ocean from the cabin but it is definitely not ON the sea as the ocean is over a kilometer away and down the cliff through some agricultural land (in other words, no sunset walks to the beach.) Overall, a pretty desolate place, you feel like you're in the middle of nowhere-- our only neighbors were a cow and a horse hanging hearby.

And here's the cherry on the cake -- this place has been ranked as 4 stars. Who comes up with those!?!?

Bottom line: go find another place. We have stayed at other guest houses in the Western Cape and I guarantee you there are cheaper and cleaner places out there. Check out the lodging in the Tsitsikamma park for the real ocean experience (and hope there's no big storm!)

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank Gina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan B, Consultant at Tsitsikamma on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

These guests arrived late night without an advance reservation and were helped out in their emergency. They chose not to stay in the 4-star rated luxury lodge but in one the unrated cottages on the estate, a working farm, for a fraction of the cost. The people managing the cottages were ill-prepared for unexpected late-night surprises by already irate people because of their earlier misfortune.

The luxury lodge has maintained its 4-star rating for the past 12 years and Superior Acommodation AA rating. These guests of the cottages never set foot in the lodge and their review is misplaced. It is NOT of Tsitsikamma on Sea Luxury Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2008

We found ourselves in a bind when our scheduled booking was unexpectedly canceled, and this was the first place we found. I'm sure the suites pictured on their web site are lovely - through some misunderstanding (likely on our part) we wound up in a cottage (not pictured on the web site) that didn't quite meet my definition of 4 star accommodations.

The road to the establishment is heavily potholed, and our little rental sedan was nearly swallowed. The other sort of scary bit was the rather large bull behind what appeared to be a thin piece of twine, rather than something along the lines of an electric fence. Just a bit of a surprise.

I'd suggest booking a suite if staying here rather than a cottage.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank bk127001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan B, Consultant at Tsitsikamma on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

This review is not of the 4-star rated Tsitsikamma on Sea Luxury Lodge, but of unrated cottages on the estate, a working farm, that were made available to these guests who had an emergency and who had chosen not to stay in the lodge but in the cottages, at a fraction of the price. Others have found the same cottages delightful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016
Thank 981amberh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank andywaechtler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 19 December 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manuela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan B, Consultant at Tsitsikamma on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Witelsbos
7.3 mi away
Tsitsikamma Lodge
Tsitsikamma Lodge
#2 of 4 in Storms River
756 reviews
14.3 mi away
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
#1 of 4 in Storms River
979 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Fernery Lodge & Chalets
The Fernery Lodge & Chalets
#1 of 12 in Storms River
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tsitsikamma on Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tsitsikamma on Sea

Address: Robbehoek Road | Robbehoek off the R102 at, Witelsbos 6304, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Witelsbos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Witelsbos
Price Range: £97 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tsitsikamma on Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the Tsitsikamma cliffs overlooking a wide expanse of ocean on an estate spanning over 3kms of oceanfront, this fully licensed four-star rated lodge boasts six exquisitely appointed suites, all with ocean views; four with private balconies for intimate breakfasts or dinners if you choose not to use the dining room. The Ocean/Garden Suite has in addition to entrance through the lodge a separate garden entrance and the Master Suite opens up onto to an enormous veranda. Braais (barbeques) could be had on the veranda, or on the cliffside deck. The lodge is remote and secluded, an escape to nature in luxury, without television or phones in the suites.Activities include horseriding, guided walks down the registered Tsitsikamma On Sea trail through the tropical Tsitsikamma National Forest to explore the ocean below, or nature walks along 3kms of oceanfront over streams and through dense woods.Rates include a buffet dinner, bed and traditional South African breakfast, though an ala carte menu is available upon request and advance notice at a premium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Tsitsikamma on Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing