We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice property - great beds and big rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cape Girardeau
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Cape Girardeau
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
340 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Very nice property - great beds and big rooms”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We were coming back home from vacation at Gulf Shores and this was about the right distance for an overnight break. Typically I make every effort to stay at Marriott properties, but that wasn't an option. The HI had a decent price for a state government rate and the rooms were very nice: large; large and clean bathroom; efficient and quiet AC; and a nice breakfast. Overall, we were very happy with our short stay but would certainly stay here again if we were coming through.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoCoMoTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karla C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Girardeau, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thanks for your great comments on our hotel. We love that you were able to choose us during your trip and enjoyed your stay. We hope you get a chance to visit us again soon! Hope you had a great trip to Gulf Shores. It is one of my favorite places to vacation. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    60
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
92
69
14
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Washington, Missouri
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This property is right off Interstate 55, Great location, The lobby and the front desk staff were great. Some of the breakfast staff needs retraining to produce a breakfast experience of HIX standards. Room was a little small for a fairly new property. Showers need to be taller, Six five'ers will need to lean down.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shuttletrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karla C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Girardeau, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thanks so much for your comments about our hotel and staff. We appreciate hearing good feedback. We take comments like yours seriously and work hard at fixing items that may need improvement. We hope to see you again some time! Thanks for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I would not hesitate to stay here again. We stayed one night in a suite which was large and very clean. A bottle of complimentary water was waiting in the refrigerator. The staff was very friendly and a wonderful breakfast buffet was provided.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karla C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Girardeau, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for your comments about our hotel and team. We are so happy to hear that you found our rooms clean and spacious. Thanks so much for choosing our hotel for your stay and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We are traveling home from vacation and stopped in Cape Girardeau around 6:30pm to spend the night. We pulled in to the Holiday Inn and my husband went in to get a room. My husband said he would have gone ahead and gotten a room at the full price rate until the young man at the desk told him that they wouldn't give a discount for our AAA or AARP card because he felt they would get all heir rooms rented out that evening at full price. We went across the street and got a really nice room for $40 less.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Showme52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karla C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Girardeau, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
We apologize and hate that you did not get to stay with us during your trip through our town. We do offer AAA/AARP discounts, but it is based on availability and unfortunately on that evening we were not offering anymore discounts due to availability. We hope that you will stop by and give us a try the next time you are in our area. We would love to have you try out our great hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
114 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I've stayed at a lot of Holiday Inn Expresses, but this one really takes the cake! My parents stayed in the room adjoining mine and my kids' so it was easier for us to communicate plans and such, but the individual rooms were fantastic! There was a separate sitting area (sofa, coffee table and such) in one section of the room, with the beds in another section. There was also featured a little kitchenette with full-sized microwave and dorm room fridge, as well as a nice little coffee maker on a marble counter with a sink. While this sounds ordinary, the design and setup of this area was very nice, high-end-looking. We were going to stay only one night but then decided to extend our stay an additional night while we explored the surrounding area for Geocaches, the annual Oran Fourth of July Picnic and some shopping (Sikeston, Cape Girardeau). The breakfast area was very well-kept and it was a good size, not a tiny cramped room where people have to wedge themselves into a table to eat, like some places. A great, restful stay!

Room Tip: If traveling with more than four people, ask for adjoining rooms. You can open the doors to facilit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spiritwolf922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karla C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Girardeau, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thanks so much for your great comments about our hotel. We are so happy that you found our rooms spacious and convenient for your family and your stay. Thanks for staying an additional night with us and we hope you get a chance to visit us again some time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed here two nights with our daughter and two grandchildren and had adjoining, connected rooms, which were quite nice. Our room's bathroom was equipped with grab bars in tub area and by the toilet. (Although I had asked for a handicapped accessible room, I think all hotel bathrooms should be equipped with grab bars in the tub area because anyone can slip in the bathtub.) The rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff was accommodating and courteous. Breakfast was good and substantial. We would definitely return here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karla C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Girardeau, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank so much for your great comments on our hotel and staff. We are so happy you found our adjoining/connecting rooms quite nice. We will certainly pass this on to our team and let them know what a great job they are doing. We look forward to your return stays with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I recently had an issue with HIE at Cape Girardeau. You can read my previous review. However, I received a call from them since and they have given me a certificate for a free stay. They had already reduced my room rate for the night I stayed(they didn't tell me that when I checked out), so I feel they've have now gone above and beyond to make it right.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karla C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Girardeau, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you so much for your updated comments. We are so glad we were able to make things right and we hope to see you again some time soon! We promise to make your second stay with us the best it can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Girardeau hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Cape Girardeau I-55 East
0.1 mi away
Auburn Place Hotel & Suites
Auburn Place Hotel & Suites
#2 of 10 in Cape Girardeau
392 reviews
0.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites Cape Girardeau
Candlewood Suites Cape Girardeau
#7 of 10 in Cape Girardeau
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Drury Suites Cape Girardeau
Drury Suites Cape Girardeau
#3 of 10 in Cape Girardeau
173 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pear Tree Inn Cape Girardeau West
0.1 mi away
Pear Tree Inn Cape Girardeau Near the Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cape Girardeau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cape Girardeau

Property: Holiday Inn Express Cape Girardeau
Address: 3253 William St, Cape Girardeau, MO 63703-4961
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Cape Girardeau
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cape Girardeau
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cape Girardeau
#3 Business Hotel in Cape Girardeau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Cape Girardeau 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cape Girardeau. This newly built Cape Girardeau hotel opened in June 2005. Conveniently located at Interstate 55 and William St. (exit 96). The hotel is just minutes from Southeast Missouri State University, St. Francis Hospital, Southeast Missouri Hospital, Doctors Park, Show Me Center, Procter & Gamble, Nordenia, Shawnee Park and Biokyowa. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cape Girardeau Hotel is midway between Memphis and St. Louis on I-55 within the Park West Hospitality Center Complex. Surrounded by a wide selection of eating establishments, this new hotel features 102 one room suites, a grand lobby area, free high speed Internet service and two meeting rooms. Hotel amenities include an indoor pool, whirlpool, fitness room, game room, refrigerator & microwave in every room. We are proud to be a 100% smoke free facility. When selecting a Cape Girardeau hotel, Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cape Girardeau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cape Girardeau Hotel Cape Girardeau
Holiday Inn Cape Girardeau
Cape Girardeau Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing