We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“College Reunion”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites Cape Girardeau
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Cape Girardeau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We gather in Cape Girardeau every Labor Day weekend for a reunion with our college friends. We always stay at the Drury Suites as it is a good value. We enjoy the evening reception and the breakfast. This year however the hotel was completely booked and the breakfast area was packed and it was difficult to get food especially the make it yourself waffles. The staff is always friendly and helpful. We do plan to meet at the same place next year.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BernardMissouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2011

Staff is extremely helpful and the room is far better than I expected, as I've never actually stayed in a suite before. Fridge and Microwave work flawlessly, TVs are great, A/C kept me absolutely freezing, which is a plus. Less than five minutes from several wonderful restaurants, a walmart, and a convenience station.

There are a few problems though. Overall, the hotel is a tad dated, the decor is obviously older, and the appliances show their age as well. The bathroom is much smaller than I expected, and the toilet is rather low to the ground (for a relatively tall man). The room was a bit dusty, but nothing that overtly shouts unclean.

Overall, it's a Drury, which means it's intrinsically great, but this particular hotel could use a bit of a makeover. That being said, given another opportunity to stay here, I probably would...but there ARE better hotels in Cape Girardeau, including the recently remodeled Drury Lodge and the Holiday Inn Express (which seems relatively new at the time of this review, but is more expensive.)

The hanging chandelier in the main lobby is awesome to look at though :D.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ominae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DruryHotels, Manager at Drury Inn & Suites Cape Girardeau, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2011

We appreciate hearing from our guests and thank you for the feedback on your recent stay. It is very helpful for us to hear from our guests because it helps us to identify any concerns with our team to make the appropriate changes for upcoming stays. We acknowledge that the hotel itself is older, but we are always updating and maintaining so that it does not inconvenience our guests. For example, we have just installed shampoo, conditioner, and shower gel dispensers in every shower. These are great for the environment and easy to use.
If you have any further questions about Drury Hotels, please let us know how we can help. Again, thanks for your feedback and we do hope we'll have a chance to see you as our guest again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

My Family traveled to Cape for a quick family reunion and we all stayed at the Drury Suites. The room (RM 120) was large and very accommodating. Our suite was very large, with a sitting room and the bedroom with two twin beds which were very comfortable. There was two flat screen TV's, (sitting room and bedroom) the remotes worked just fine, there was a microwave and a small refrigerator in the cabinet in the sitting room. We did not use the microwave but the refrigerator worked just fine.

The only noise in the hallway came from our own family LOL . The pool and hot tub area was great, I did not go in the pool but family said it was cold but I did use the hot tub which was nice and hot. They even provide towels in the pool area. They have a washer and dryer on the 5th floor which takes quarters $1.25 for one cycle and they have a soap dispenser where you can purchase soap.

The breakfast was very good, with eggs, french toast, juices, bagels etc... lots to choose from. They even have an evening event where they serve nachos and other snacks along with a soda machine and alcoholic drinks for the adults.

Now for the personalization, we had a friend come visit and we all sat in the main lobby area before the evening event began. Kevin, the desk manager turned the soda machine on for our group and provided us paper plates, cups and napkins for the pizza we had delivered.

Patti, the breakfast lady was very nice and constantly roamed the area, asking guests if they needed anything and just being very helpful. Those are the only two names I got but everyone was very nice and made our visit very pleasant.

I will be going back to Cape in October and if I need a hotel I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TN2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Don't get me wrong, there's a time and a place for Motel 6...it just wasn't what I was expecting at the Drury Suites.

I would have rated it 1 star on merit alone, but added an extra star because they DO have good "freebies" like the breakfast, happy hour, and WiFi.

But that was pretty much the extent of what was good about it. Can anyone say "one ply toilet paper"? A suite hotel should NOT have one ply toilet paper. That's just gross. I'd rather do without the cheese dogs at happy hour if it meant they could round up an extra couple of bucks for an extra ply for their guests. Eew.

The bathroom was again: Motel 6. Nasty old tiles with dark grout, I just felt like I never wanted to walk barefoot. They don't even give you toiletries - just 1 bottle (yes one singular bottle) of shampoo-slash-conditioner. Don't even get me started on the towels. Bonus points if you can dry yourself without having them fall apart.

Then comes the dirty part: there were 2 spots on our carpet where when I walked over it with my socks, my socks stuck. I don't even want to know what was on that carpet.

THEN...this is the best part: we went to turn down the bed and the pillow was COVERED in hair. Not like one accidentally got on there somehow, but that someone had absolutely slept on that pillow before us, and it hadn't been washed.

Adding insult to injury was the fact that our ground-floor room looked out onto the indoor pool, so we had to keep the drapes pulled the whole time, because there were all kinds of screaming kids RIGHT THERE when we opened the drapes. If you dare stay at this place, request a room that's not on the ground floor, or you'll turn into a vampire during your stay for lack of sunlight.

The decor was old, tired, and dark - straight from the 70s. The bed was so nasty - forget the fluffy pillow-top beds that places like Hampton Inn are turning to...I rolled over and pulled the sheet with me, and the nasty mattress was exposed.

They also allow smoking inside some rooms, but since all the rooms are connected to the same air vents, we had to smell everyone else's second-hand smoke all night, even though our room was supposed to be non-smoking.

I'm coming across as a huge hotel snob, and I'm really not. If this really WERE the Motel 6, I'd have no complaints, because it would be what I would expect. This was just so far below my expectations that I had to write about it.

And PS - in case the manager reads this and retaliates that we never complained during our stay or everything would have been fixed - I have made it a habit of never complaining during hotel stays for fear that something will go missing or my toothbrush will end up in the toilet!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BizzyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DruryHotels, Manager at Drury Inn & Suites Cape Girardeau, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2011

We appreciate your feedback about our hotel, but regret that you did not enjoy the experience. We sincerely apologize that your stay was less than you expected and deserved. Please feel comfortable relaying problems to our staff at any time during your stay with us. We believe that our 100% satisfaction guarantee is the least you can expect, and always treat guest difficulties with the utmost care and concern. If you have any further questions, we would welcome your contact.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2011

I don't know how anyone could complain...I stay at Drury everytime they are in a town I travel to and I have never once been disappointed..this was no exception. Clean, comfortabel but one of top things is how friendly, helpful staff is! They go out of their way to make your stay pleasant and let you know how happy they are to have you. By far, the number one reason Drury stands out is their staff!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ritarealtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2011

After driving for many hours, my husband and I spent the night at the Drury Suites. We can't say enough great things about this hotel. The price was great. We thought we were getting a hotel room and we ended up with a suite.....a living room with a separate bedroom. It was very roomy. The couch in the living room pulled out to a bed if needed. Also had a nice recliner and flat-screen TVs in bedroom and living room. From 5:30 PM to 7 PM, the hotel hosted a "happy hour" of sorts in the main lobby. They gave us each 3 beverages (beer, liquor, sodas, etc) along with hotdogs, meatballs, chicken strips, salad, veggies and dip, and lots of chips. No need to go out for dinner! The hotel is clean and well appointed. There is a free breakfast in mornings too. Don't stay anywhere else.....stay here!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gailsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2011

We checked in really fast and got to our room. About 15 minutes after being in the room, the phone rings. It is the front desk asking if our room was ok and if we needed anything to call. I thought that was nice. We went swimming. The pool was cold but the hot tub was nice. The kids didn't mind the cold pool. There were some kids there without adult supervision and an employee of the hotel asked their parents to come down and the employee stayed with the kids until an adult came. I was impressed with that. The food was excellent. For supper, we had hot dogs, chili, baked potatoes, salad, and chips. The rooms was nice in that the sleeping area was closed off from the sitting area in the suite. Breakfast the next morning was wonderful. Eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy, french toast, waffles. And it all tasted good. Very family friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taressw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Girardeau hotels
0.3 mi away
Drury Plaza Hotel Cape Girardeau Conference Center
Drury Plaza Hotel Cape Girardeau...
#7 of 10 in Cape Girardeau
10 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Girardeau
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Cape Girardeau I-55 East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Auburn Place Hotel & Suites
Auburn Place Hotel & Suites
#4 of 10 in Cape Girardeau
417 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pear Tree Inn Cape Girardeau West
1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Cape Girardeau
Candlewood Suites Cape Girardeau
#8 of 10 in Cape Girardeau
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn & Suites Cape Girardeau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites Cape Girardeau

Address: 3303 Campster Dr, Cape Girardeau, MO 63701-8472
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Cape Girardeau
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cape Girardeau
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cape Girardeau
#3 Family Hotel in Cape Girardeau
Price Range: £87 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites Cape Girardeau 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drury Hotel offers its guests a variety of free extras – take, for example, our free hot breakfast. At Drury, “hot” means scrambled eggs, biscuits & gravy, sausage and make-your-own Belgian waffles. In the evening, join us at our 5:30 Kickback® for free hot food and cold beverages. Our rotating menu features a variety of hot foods, baked potatoes, garden salad, beer, wine, mixed drinks and more! To burn off all of those free extras, Drury has a 24-hour exercise center and a parking lot to jog around. Lastly, Drury’s free wireless Internet and free long distance calls will ensure you can keep tabs on all of your posse back home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites Cape Girardeau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Suites Cape Girardeau Hotel Cape Girardeau
Drury Hotel Cape Girardeau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing