We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Amazing Trip Back in Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Boots Court Motel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carthage
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Boots Court Motel
Ranked #1 of 6 Carthage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brevard, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
58 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“An Amazing Trip Back in Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

The Boots Motel is back, and Route 66 has another iconic place to spend the night. This was our fourth trip end-to-end on Route 66, and we made a point of arranging our schedule to stay in this newly refurbished and reopened classic motel. We weren't disappointed; in fact, we were delighted. We stayed in Room 6 and it was amazing in every respect. The cleanliness, the detail of the restoration and just the right touch of modern amenities - WiFi and a/c, but no TV. Perfect! The Boots has instantly climbed to the top of my favorite places to stay along all of Route 66.

And for you highway aficionados, Carthage doesn't just include Route 66; the Boots Motel also sits on the historic Jefferson Highway, which ran from Winnipeg, Manitoba to New Orleans, LA. If you do some exploring along north Main Street you will step into the past and see where a section of the road once existed, but is now a distant memory. The Jefferson Highway and Route 66 crisscross and share sections of highway between Carthage, MO and Vinita, OK.

Also, don't miss seeing a movie at the Route 66 Drive-In. We took our 1937 Ford there and spent a wonderful evening. Do yourself a favor and stay here.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great. You can't go wrong no matter which one you choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    18
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
24
54
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012 via mobile

What an American treasure. If you don't know the history, be sure and Google it.

We stayed in Room #10, one of the ones, legend has it, that Clark Gable stayed in, when he was traveling Route 66. At the time of this writing, five rooms in the back have been completed. Rooms with two beds are $71; one bed $66. (Crossroads of America... 71 & Rt. 66, get it?).

The restoration has to be a passion of love. Clean, retro, and a radio in every room. If you're looking for kicks, don't miss this one.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank L C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

My husband and daughter and I are taking Route 66 in bits and pieces. We were thrilled to hear that the Boots, long endangered, was back on the map. They are still renovating this gem of a motor court, but there are five lovingly-restored rooms in the back: basic decor, some original pieces, no TVS, new old-style radios, gorgeous tilework and wood floors, chenille bedspreads, and lots of room. For the clean-obsessed (me), the beds are on metal frames and the mattresses are wrapped--and they are comfy. For those wanting mod conveniences, you'll be happy to know there is free wifi and nice new window AC units. The caretaker was incredibly friendly, and we sat outside at the front of the motel watching the 66 traffic in the evening. Carthage has some good eateries--we tried the Carthage Family Restaurant (try the breakfast skillets) and the Carthage Deli on the square--but we were in love with the Bradbury Bishop diner/restaurant just down the road in Webb City (also on the Route). You might see the peeling paint at the front ('course, it might be repainted by the time you get there!) and drive by; but you'll be missing a lovely opportunity. This motel is definitely worth a stop-- and if you've already spent a night elsewhere, just stop by and take a tour.

Room Tip: All are nice, all are different. You might ask to stay in the Clark Gable room.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KansasKate73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gulf Coast
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

From the original oak floors to the retro radios, the rooms at the Boots Motel are brimming with nostalgia. The excitement the owners have about restoring the place is infectuous. Take the opportunity to get away from the look-alike motel rooms across the country to stay in one with style at historic Carthage, MO, the crossroads of America on the old Route 66. The price is very reasonable.

Room Tip: For couples who don't want to sleep together in a double bed, book a double room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TrekkingOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

We stayed at the Boots for one night recently (end of May 2012) as we were traveling on the old Rte 66 from St. Louis to Oklahoma City. It was a great place to stay and has a very bright future ahead as the restoration continues. Our stay was in one of the 5 rooms at the back of the property that have already been restored. Our room was one in which Clark Gable stayed when he was traveling. He could park his car in the garage underneath the room and take the inside stairs to his room without anyone knowing he was there. How exciting! Our room had beautifully restored original wooden floors with period appropriate furniture. No televisions in the rooms since TV was not around yet when the Boots was first built. Instead they advertised free radio in each room. So our room had a very nice replica of an old radio that was tuned and playing when we checked in. The rooms are very spacious, and the bathrooms are nice. There is even a closet. For meals, one must walk to a local restaurant, and we had a great breakfast at the Pancake Hut. The lady who is the manager of The Boots is delightful and full of information. She gave us a great tour of the place. The Executive Director of the Missouri Route 66 Association also lives on the property and is heavily involved in the restoration to ensure authenticity. Only negative was our ability to connect to the WiFi. We tried many times, and when we did connect, the connection would not last or it would take forever for each action. Don't know why, but we didn't have similar problems elsewhere. Maybe a discussion with their internet service provider is needed. Nevertheless, I can't wait to get back and see what else they have done!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that was occupied by someone famous! The beds are all brand new and top of the line...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank garyallanstewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Boots Court Motel, responded to this review, 15 July 2012
Gary,
What a wonderful review! You have no idea how much we appreciate it! We have thoroughly enjoyed meeting and hosting all our delightful guests from around the world in the two short months that the Boots has been officially open. I would like to make one correction to your review. Ron Hart, who has been the Property Manager since last September and did the majority of the labor on the restoration of the back five rooms, is the Founder and Director of the Route 66 Chamber of Commerce, which is dedicated to promoting businesses along all of Route 66, The Executive Director of the Route 66 Missouri Association is Tommy Pike, based in Springfield, Missouri. Easy to get confused, though. They are both very charming gentlemen. Thank you again for your comprehensive review.
Debye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marion, iowa
Level Contributor
118 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

Interested in a trip down memory lane ... or just to see how your parents and/or grandparents splurged when they were motoring along world famous Route 66 ... check out the ultra cool Boots Motel in historic Carthage, Missouri. But if you're planning on watching TV, forget it. This place is just like it was (amenity-wise) in the 1940s ... with a radio in every room. But what they are lacking in modern appliances is made up in spades with good old-fashioned friendliness and squeaky clean rooms. A real hoot!

Room Tip: Clark Gable's favorite room was #12!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oaxacaman82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carthage
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 6 in Carthage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.9 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#4 of 6 in Carthage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
12.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn Joplin
La Quinta Inn Joplin
#2 of 23 in Joplin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Joplin
10.7 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#8 of 23 in Joplin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
12.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Oasis
BEST WESTERN The Oasis
#11 of 23 in Joplin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boots Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boots Court Motel

Property: Boots Court Motel
Address: 107 S Garrison Ave, Carthage, MO 64836-1702
Region: United States > Missouri > Carthage
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Carthage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boots Motel is an iconic historic motel on Route 66, at the junction of historic U.S. Route 66 and U.S. Route 71. It features two buildings, one built in 1939 and one in 1946, in the Streamlined Moderne style. Neglected for years, it is currently being restored to its 1949 appearance. Five rooms in the 1946 building are now completed and ready for occupancy. They feature spacious rooms with the original hardwood floors and built-in vanity dressing tables,and ceramic tile bathrooms with shower stalls They are individually decorated and furnished with period furnishings such as chenille bedspreads and 1940s-style furniture. Some still have the original round mirrors installed over the dressing tables. There are no televisions since television was not available in the Carthage area until the mid-1950s, but, as originally advertised, there is "a radio in every room," and the motel does offer free WiFi. Each room is individually heated and air conditioned, just as advertised in the 1940s. Experience a time when room service delivered your ice to your room and your room key was a real key that fit into an actual lock! We also have 5 double-carports to protect guest's vehicles from weather. Welcome back to the 1940s at the Boots Court! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing