We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay”
Review of Boots Court Motel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carthage
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Boots Court Motel
Ranked #1 of 6 Carthage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay”
Reviewed 11 September 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Boots Motel during our Route 66 honeymoon trip. From the moment we first met Debbie we were made to feel extremely welcome. She showed us two rooms which were both beautiful. The room we chose was very spacious and clean, and it had many interesting original features that have been restored to a high standard. I loved that the rooms had a radio instead of a TV since they were restored to how they would have been in 1949, before TV came to Carthage. The radio was tuned to a station that played hits from the 40s and 50s, and it was easy to imagine that I had really gone back in time and was staying at the Boots in the days before interstate travel. It was obvious that the Boots Motel is being restored with genuine passion and I would highly recommend it as a must stop for all Route 66 and 40s/50s enthusiasts.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LauraFenner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    18
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
25
55
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Seemed like a decent size room to me. Very clean.. very retro.. right down to the hardwood floors. No TV.. just a radio tuned to oldies. Nice break! Nice owners seemed willing to do whatever they could to make our stay nice.. and it was. A real step backi in time to old Rt 66.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PhilCap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
411 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Only five rooms have been restored but those five have been done right. The new owners have given Route 66 travelers another icon to look forward to and travelers of all sorts a comfortable place to stay. Getting the main building back to rent-able condition is a big challenge but I believe these ladies will get it done and I know they'll do it right -- again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Denny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Charles, Missouri
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Boots Motel on our trip down route 66. The room was clean and very retro. Fitting for a trip down the 'mother road.' The room was set up the way it may have been originally as there is no tv, but an antique radio serves as entertainment. A great place to relax, there are chairs out front for congregating and watching the world go by on old route 66. Only a few of the units have been renovated, and work continues on the remaining units, but it was unobtrusive the night that we stayed. The owners are very friendly, and invited us to join them for breakfast at a local restaraunt located just a few buildings away. With a family dining restaraunt a few doors away one direction, and a breakfast it was a very convenient and pleasurable stop. Reasonably priced too! Would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kissy_liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waregem, Belgium
Level Contributor
60 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Stayed at the beautifully renovated Boots Motel in May of 2012 on our Route 66 trip. The Boots had only been open for a couple of weeks at that time and only the rooms in the back of the lot were available.

We were greeted by the very friendly ladies who run the property and were escorted to our room. A very spacious two bed room (which apparently slept Clark Gable at some time). The room was huge: nice wooden floor with a vent for fresh air (although all rooms have air conditioning); chenille bedspreads; no tv but a vintage-looking radio that is tuned to a vintage music station (the lack of a tv really isn't a big deal, see below for more info); little desk area (the Boots does have free wifi). The bathroom wasn't that big, but the fact that is was redone in its original state more than made up for that. They kept in all the original tiling, including in the shower. The whole place really gives you a feel of how traveling must have been in the old days.

Prices are either 66 $ or 71 $ (because the Boots is at the crossroads of old US-66 and US-71). And although these prices aren't really cheap, they are fair, considering the amount of love and care they put in restoring the property.

Since no other guests stayed that night, we were given a tour of the other rooms and of the basement, which runs under all the rooms. The front office has a nice old neon sign attached to it, which adds a very nice touch.

Carthage itself is a quaint town. Must-sees are the Courthouse and the still operating 66 drive-in theater (open seasonally on Friday, Saturday and Sunday evenings). Check their website for more information and be sure to start lining up early.

In all, the Boots Motel in Carthage, Missouri is truly a gem and should not be missed if ever in the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stijn-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brevard, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
60 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

The Boots Motel is back, and Route 66 has another iconic place to spend the night. This was our fourth trip end-to-end on Route 66, and we made a point of arranging our schedule to stay in this newly refurbished and reopened classic motel. We weren't disappointed; in fact, we were delighted. We stayed in Room 6 and it was amazing in every respect. The cleanliness, the detail of the restoration and just the right touch of modern amenities - WiFi and a/c, but no TV. Perfect! The Boots has instantly climbed to the top of my favorite places to stay along all of Route 66.

And for you highway aficionados, Carthage doesn't just include Route 66; the Boots Motel also sits on the historic Jefferson Highway, which ran from Winnipeg, Manitoba to New Orleans, LA. If you do some exploring along north Main Street you will step into the past and see where a section of the road once existed, but is now a distant memory. The Jefferson Highway and Route 66 crisscross and share sections of highway between Carthage, MO and Vinita, OK.

Also, don't miss seeing a movie at the Route 66 Drive-In. We took our 1937 Ford there and spent a wonderful evening. Do yourself a favor and stay here.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great. You can't go wrong no matter which one you choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012 via mobile

What an American treasure. If you don't know the history, be sure and Google it.

We stayed in Room #10, one of the ones, legend has it, that Clark Gable stayed in, when he was traveling Route 66. At the time of this writing, five rooms in the back have been completed. Rooms with two beds are $71; one bed $66. (Crossroads of America... 71 & Rt. 66, get it?).

The restoration has to be a passion of love. Clean, retro, and a radio in every room. If you're looking for kicks, don't miss this one.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank L C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carthage
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 6 in Carthage
267 reviews
1.0 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#3 of 6 in Carthage
74 reviews
12.7 mi away
Best Western The Oasis at Joplin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn Joplin
La Quinta Inn Joplin
#2 of 23 in Joplin
633 reviews
12.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Joplin
Hampton Inn Joplin
#4 of 23 in Joplin
361 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Budget Inn
Best Budget Inn
#3 of 6 in Carthage
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boots Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boots Court Motel

Property: Boots Court Motel
Address: 107 S Garrison Ave, Carthage, MO 64836-1702
Region: United States > Missouri > Carthage
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Carthage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boots Motel is an iconic historic motel on Route 66, at the junction of historic U.S. Route 66 and U.S. Route 71. It features two buildings, one built in 1939 and one in 1946, in the Streamlined Moderne style. Neglected for years, it is currently being restored to its 1949 appearance. Five rooms in the 1946 building are now completed and ready for occupancy. They feature spacious rooms with the original hardwood floors and built-in vanity dressing tables,and ceramic tile bathrooms with shower stalls They are individually decorated and furnished with period furnishings such as chenille bedspreads and 1940s-style furniture. Some still have the original round mirrors installed over the dressing tables. There are no televisions since television was not available in the Carthage area until the mid-1950s, but, as originally advertised, there is "a radio in every room," and the motel does offer free WiFi. Each room is individually heated and air conditioned, just as advertised in the 1940s. Experience a time when room service delivered your ice to your room and your room key was a real key that fit into an actual lock! We also have 5 double-carports to protect guest's vehicles from weather. Welcome back to the 1940s at the Boots Court! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing