We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boots is the real thing!”
Review of Boots Court Motel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carthage
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Boots Court Motel
Ranked #1 of 6 Carthage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at The Boots last week on a trip to visit Missouri's Route 66 and attend the Cubafest in Cuba, Mo. This was the highlight of the trip. I have stayed at a number of Route 66 vintage hotels in the last several years of road travel. Carthage is very fortunate to have Deborah and Priscilla as the new owners of the Boots. Their attention to historic accuracy and preservation is unsurpassed on the route. I especially appreciate their patient approach to restoration and determination to "get it right" through painstaking research, interviews and hours upon hours of "digging". And the payoff is evident in the five rooms that are now available for occupancy.

Deborah and passionate volunteer Ron Hart showed us each available room as well as the underground tunnel, unrestored rooms, garages and other such interesting details of the Boots. As I walked into my room I was instantly transported back to the days of old when Route 66 was truly the Mother Road. No TVs here. However, the radio played the nostalgic tunes of days gone by and helped to keep me in the 40s and 50s throughout my stay. The wood floors are original as are almost every other "artifact" in the room. If not original, they are carefully selected reproductions of what would have been in the room. The bathroom tile and fixtures, meticulously cleaned by Ron and other volunteers, were absolutely stunning. Even the shower head was kept at its original lower height so as not to get your hair wet...an important feature in the days of complicated hairdos and hair products. The bed was very comfortable and the room's temperature and comfort perfectly controlled.

If you are a Route 66 "Roadie" and want a truly authentic motel experience, this is the place. If you are just traveling through with little or no knowledge of local history, give yourself a chance to time travel back to an age when things were slower, simpler, and quieter. You will thank yourself over and over again.

Finally, a special note of thanks to Deborah, Debbie and Ron for their unselfish gift of time, knowledge and friendship. I especially enjoyed our time spent sitting in front of the office at night watching traffic go by as all of you shared your love and passion for this very special place.

I look for forward to a return trip soon.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KingRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
There are newer reviews for Boots Court Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2012

I'm originally from Carthage but moved to KC in '78, so I've seen Boots go through its many steps to total decline. When I read it had sold to Deb I was really happy for Carthage as well as Boots.
Chelle and I made our reservations for Maple Leaf months ago, excited to stay there. It was nothing short of fabulous. Debbie checked us in, since we brought the kids we realized we needed extra towels. Walked out the door and ran into Mr Hart of Route 66 C of C fame which led to an hour long tour and history discussion.
Later that night Deb invited us to the evening fire pit gathering up front and looked after our every need.
NO TV, NO phones, nothing but a "radio in every room". Guess what the kids did? Made up games, played with each other and had a ball!
Life as it should be. Spotless rooms, ownership who calls you by name all with the hands of time rolled back 50 years.
Thanks Deb, Debbie and Ron for making it a great stay. The Class of 72 descended on you this past weekend; I hope you enjoyed it as much as we did! Paul & Chelle

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank paulwilsonkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Ffrom the front you would not be sure if it was wort staying. Well it was. At the back of the motel they have refurbh 5 rooms. We stayed in the Clark Gable room. It has all mod cons' from the 1950 !! No TV but you don't need it. Does have good WIFI signal though. Rooms were large with original floors and the had a the original tiles. It was very clean. Great palce fopr an overnight stop. Debbie the manager was very helpful and very chatty. It had a very good feel to it.

Room Tip: Stay in one of the bigger rooms
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Boots Motel during our Route 66 honeymoon trip. From the moment we first met Debbie we were made to feel extremely welcome. She showed us two rooms which were both beautiful. The room we chose was very spacious and clean, and it had many interesting original features that have been restored to a high standard. I loved that the rooms had a radio instead of a TV since they were restored to how they would have been in 1949, before TV came to Carthage. The radio was tuned to a station that played hits from the 40s and 50s, and it was easy to imagine that I had really gone back in time and was staying at the Boots in the days before interstate travel. It was obvious that the Boots Motel is being restored with genuine passion and I would highly recommend it as a must stop for all Route 66 and 40s/50s enthusiasts.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LauraFenner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Seemed like a decent size room to me. Very clean.. very retro.. right down to the hardwood floors. No TV.. just a radio tuned to oldies. Nice break! Nice owners seemed willing to do whatever they could to make our stay nice.. and it was. A real step backi in time to old Rt 66.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PhilCap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Only five rooms have been restored but those five have been done right. The new owners have given Route 66 travelers another icon to look forward to and travelers of all sorts a comfortable place to stay. Getting the main building back to rent-able condition is a big challenge but I believe these ladies will get it done and I know they'll do it right -- again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Denny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Boots Motel on our trip down route 66. The room was clean and very retro. Fitting for a trip down the 'mother road.' The room was set up the way it may have been originally as there is no tv, but an antique radio serves as entertainment. A great place to relax, there are chairs out front for congregating and watching the world go by on old route 66. Only a few of the units have been renovated, and work continues on the remaining units, but it was unobtrusive the night that we stayed. The owners are very friendly, and invited us to join them for breakfast at a local restaraunt located just a few buildings away. With a family dining restaraunt a few doors away one direction, and a breakfast it was a very convenient and pleasurable stop. Reasonably priced too! Would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kissy_liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carthage
46.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 6 in Carthage
276 reviews
12.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Joplin
17.6 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#8 of 23 in Joplin
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Quality Inn Joplin
Quality Inn Joplin
#10 of 23 in Joplin
145 reviews
0.9 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#2 of 6 in Carthage
76 reviews
12.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#15 of 23 in Joplin
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boots Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boots Court Motel

Address: 107 S Garrison Ave, Carthage, MO 64836-1702
Region: United States > Missouri > Carthage
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Carthage
Price Range: £49 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boots Motel is an iconic historic motel on Route 66, at the junction of historic U.S. Route 66 and U.S. Route 71. It features two buildings, one built in 1939 and one in 1946, in the Streamlined Moderne style. Neglected for years, it is currently being restored to its 1949 appearance. Five rooms in the 1946 building are now completed and ready for occupancy. They feature spacious rooms with the original hardwood floors and built-in vanity dressing tables,and ceramic tile bathrooms with shower stalls They are individually decorated and furnished with period furnishings such as chenille bedspreads and 1940s-style furniture. Some still have the original round mirrors installed over the dressing tables. There are no televisions since television was not available in the Carthage area until the mid-1950s, but, as originally advertised, there is "a radio in every room," and the motel does offer free WiFi. Each room is individually heated and air conditioned, just as advertised in the 1940s. Experience a time when room service delivered your ice to your room and your room key was a real key that fit into an actual lock! We also have 5 double-carports to protect guest's vehicles from weather. Welcome back to the 1940s at the Boots Court! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing