We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful and Idyllic”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Aerial view of the property.  The nearest neighbor is a very long stone's throw away.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
Aerial view of the property.  The nearest neighbor is a very long stone's throw away.
The efficient galley bathroom has the usual amenities with a shower, no tub.
Living room with daybed and trundle
Spacious well-equipped kitchen
Dining area in the kitchen
Narrow stairway to the sleeping loft
Comfy twin beds with down comforters
Cozy reading nook in the cheery bedroom
South view from the loft balcony
North view from the loft balcony
The serenity of the Cottage and farm invite relaxation
milking lessons may be given depending on who has kidded
Memories are made here!
Breathtaking sunsets and beautiful peace are trademarks of the Cottage at Ozark Highlands
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Carthage, Missouri

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jeff A
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful and Idyllic”
Reviewed 4 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

A wonderful property. Rural and rustic. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. A peaceful and serene setting. Merre is a very welcoming host. Book with confidence!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2018
Thanks,Jeff - it was a delight to host you two - you're welcome back anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rain6171
Seymour, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Quaint and peaceful”
Reviewed 12 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

This is an ideal location for peace and relaxation after long hours of traveling on the road. We have made the cottage our pitstop for going to New Mexico and on our way back home to Indiana. You can't beat the price for this Little gem .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karenpete...
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
“The Cottage Retreat”
Reviewed 7 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Even though we didn't stay long, this cute Cottage Retreat was just perfect. My best friend and I needed some girlfriend time and time away from everyday work and hustle and bustle. This place was perfect. Loved the scenery, walking around the trails, interacting with the animals and the peace and quiet that surrounded us. The only thing we could hear (besides the fireworks) was us talking, catching up and lots of laughter. Merre was a sweetheart. She met us when we arrived to show us around and baked some yummy cookies. The Cottage was stocked with almost anything you might need. And, if you need more, there is a convenient store just down the road or you can drive little more for restaurants and shopping. Goody's in Carthage is a great place for shopping. If you like the countryside and peace and quiet and just need room to breathe, this is the place. We will be back to stay again. Thanks Merre for sharing your lovely rental.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peacefulness and countryside
Liked least: no tv
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2016
Karen - it was a delight to host you and Michelle! Thanks for your kind words, and for leaving everything so neat and tidy - you are most welcome back any time!
Best,
Merre
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christye...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"A Special Place For A Special Time"”
Reviewed 18 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage was a special place that provided a special time of much needed rest and relaxation for our family. The environment was so comforting and peaceful. We deeply appreciate John and Merre's kindness, hospitality, and wonderful care. Their thoughtful gestures of welcoming us with cookies and delicious muffins was so appreciated. Also, the breakfast was delicious, as well. A highlight of our stay was holding the baby goats and nature trail sights. Our visit was exactly what we anticipated and needed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quaintness and peacefulness of the place
Liked least: Liked all of it
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 May 2015
Thanks for your kind words! I am praying we will meet again. Please put me on your mailing list for future ministry events in this area. Godspeed, John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kimwanda
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Cottage for a relaxing stay in the country.”
Reviewed 30 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at the cottage for 3 days. The cottage is well presented and very comfortable. The garden is great to relax in, especially under a large shady tree on a hot summers days. The goats, especially the kids are very entertaining to watch and listen to. John and Merre are great hosts and the food that Merre provided was very delicious.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing