We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Avenue Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Avenue Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 Carthage B&B and Inns
Jacksonville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“So wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

What a wonderful place this is. From the moment we arrived to the time we left it was simply wonderful. We where greeted warmly and given information about the town and restaurants that are yummy. The house is so beautiful and you can tell they really care about this 100+ year old home. We stayed in the Mark Twain room and it is spacious with a super comfy king size bed. We did not want to get up it was so nice. I have not slept this well in a long time. The breakfast was fantastic and believe me you will be full for a while. This place is so fantastic, we are looking for a reason to come back up.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zack D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    9
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
32
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eureka, Missouri
Level Contributor
78 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

The Grand ave. B&B is in a grand old Victorian residence. We enjoyed our one night stay. The bed was comfortable and the breakfast was better than the free hotel offerings you find these days. The price was very reasonable. The neighborhood looked very walkable if you enjoy seeing grand old homes and we would have enjoyed walking around except for the cold and rain the day we stayed.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eurekajudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

This was possibly the most restful and relaxing place we have ever stayed! Our hostess, Jeannie, welcomed us at the door and immediately made us feel right at home. The house is lovely and very well kept, and the time spent there was so peaceful and relaxing. After showing us around, Jeannie encouraged us to make ourselves at home. We sat on the front porch and felt tension melt away while we enjoyed the peace of quiet of this lovely area. I played on the grand piano in the music room. My husband sat in the parlor reading a book. It was just wonderful! Our room was spacious and the king bed was so very comfortable! In the morning Jeannie made us a fabulous breakfast and served us in the dining room. I felt like a queen! If you would like to get away for a relaxing day or two, this is a really good choice. You won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Louisa May Alcott room on the first floor is quiet and you don't have to climb stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 6389LovetoTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

My wife and I stayed here 1/24-1/25/14, and was not disappointed in any way. Every aspect of our stay was exceptional. We were impressed with the house and the Hosts the moment she let us in the front door. If you enjoy the character of older homes, you'll enjoy the detail, and ambience of this B&B. We arrived late in the evening, but Jeannie was still there to greet us, and give us a tour of her home, and made us feel quite welcome, though it was getting late. We were there to play golf on some area courses, and each morning Jeannie fixed a fabulous breakfast that left us content, and not wanting to eat till the evening. She then was very helpful in suggesting several restaurants. It was our anniversary as well, and she made us feel as if this was our home, completely to ourselves, except we had a fantastic breakfast waiting for us each morning. Jeannie also mailed some clothing I had accidentally left behind, at no cost to myself, which I thought was extremely generous on her behalf, and exemplifies how she runs her B&B. We can't wait to visit again ASAP. Thank you for a wonderful experience!!! Great golf courses nearby as well!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Make time to do some reading in one of the parlor's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DTClaybrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seneca, Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stayed here for our anniversary since we couldn't get out of town until later. We live in a 130 yr old home, so I really enjoyed seeing different updates and finishing touches to make this house accommodate guests. --Loved the tile work and grout color change in the border around the Jacuzzi. At every Victorian Bed and Breakfast I come away with new ideas. The hosts were great and our breakfast was scrumptious and Jeanne worked with our diet desires.

A few have commented that the decor was dated. I felt that even the "dating" in some rooms still fit the house. Yes, there may have been some areas of maintenance in the hallway, etc, but it totally did not detract from the experience. Made me feel at home, because I know how daunting maintaining a historic home can be. My husband says old houses are like a well worn leather jacket--comfortable, but not perfect.

Room Tip: personally I liked the Nathaniel Hawthorne room best of all, but each to their own.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VMC87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

We were on a road trip and used Trip Advisor day by day as our plans had been thrown in to disarray due the shutdown. Found this B&B on TA and contacted the owner/host. Jeanne was extremely helpful, not only whilst we were with them, but also e-mailing us with advice and alternative suggestions for our trip (4 weeks in the US) as we were not able to stay at the Grand Canyon or Yosemite. Great old house, lovingly restored in a good location. The rooms are delightful, the hospitality friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steven443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

The hosts are extremely friendly. Comfy n cozy expected in a B&B experience with your own bathroom, flat panel TV and Wifi. Includes a wonderful culinary breakfast. I hope you get the pecan hot cakes, Wow. Beautiful antiques, organs and piano are in great condition. My room had a two person Jaccuzi tub plus a modern shower with multi-jet shower head.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RonMoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carthage
12.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Joplin
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 6 in Carthage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
12.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Joplin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#4 of 6 in Carthage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
11.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Joplin
Hampton Inn Joplin
#2 of 23 in Joplin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
12.1 mi away
Quality Inn Joplin
Quality Inn Joplin
#12 of 23 in Joplin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Avenue Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Avenue Bed and Breakfast

Property: Grand Avenue Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1615 Grand Ave, Carthage, MO 64836-2668
Region: United States > Missouri > Carthage
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Carthage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Grand Avenue Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time to Victorian splendor and enjoy gracious hospitality in Historic Carthage, Missouri. Spend the day exploring the "Maple Leaf City", then relax in one of our Jacuzzi tubs, sleep well, and enjoy a hearty breakfast made especially for you. We offer high-speed wireless internet, TV, DVD, in-room coffee service, books, games, and relaxation! All rooms have king or queen beds with private bathrooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Grand Avenue Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing