We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nasty experience”
Review of Super 8 Carthage

Super 8 Carthage
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Carthage
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Carthage
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“nasty experience”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This motel doesn't even deserve 1 star. It was filthy, smelled bad and had a very poor breakfast. When we complained, we were given another room which wasn't much better. Mold, cigarette smell and toilet paper under the bath mat were acceptable to the management. We were told they don't clean under bath mats...really!. We were told to go elsewhere but that we mat not get a refund. We were here with an I'll person which made the experience that much worse! One of the managers screamed at me and said I was too picky.

Room Tip: Read reviews before selecting your motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkblind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    30
    27
    17
    13
See reviews for
52
24
14
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Langston, Ok
Level Contributor
98 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The room looked like it had been furnished from a fire sale from another hotel. All of the furnishings were old and worn. The overstuffed armchair in my room was so threadbare that there were actually large rips on the arms. The air conditioner must have been at least twenty years old; the compressor clunked every time it kicked in and the fan emitted an odd whirling sound.

The breakfast was mediocre at best. I like the SuperStart breakfast offered by Super 8 but this one fell very short. There was no hot waffle iron as one has come to expect from Super 8. Instead, there were cheap frozen waffles that one needed to microwave. The imitation cinnamon rolls did not compete with the Simply Super Cinnamon Roll offered by other Super 8s.

I was traveling with a group from our university and it appeared that we were the only ones staying in the hotel. The parking lot was virtually deserted. Now I know why everyone else was staying away from this hotel. There are many other options for lodging in the area and I will avoid this one in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Carthage hotels

Laborie, Saint Lucia
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 2 May 2014

The manager had great customer service skills. The room was very well kept up and clean. Bed was really comfortable and the whole experience was positive, all for a very reasonable price. I will stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DYG13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We were recently in Joplin house-hunting in anticipation of our upcoming move. We spent a hellish night at the Motel 6 in Joplin the first night. Having learned a rather unpleasant lesson, we sought refuge. Because we had our small dog with us and it was a last-minute reservation, our options were limited. Fortunately, we ended up at the Super 8 in Carthage. It was blissfully quiet! After the previous night at the Motel 6, the beds felt heavenly! The room was clean, quiet and comfortable and all basic necessities were provided. It was worth every penny of the extra $12 we spent over the cost of the Motel 6--more, even! Breakfast was provided and the desk staff greeted my husband politely and by name! Our experience exceeded our expectations and was a wonderful contrast to our experience the night before at the Motel 6 (see our review--it's not very happy).

Room Tip: Pet friendly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SleeplessinStLouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carthage
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 6 in Carthage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
2.9 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#4 of 6 in Carthage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
10.9 mi away
Days Inn Joplin
Days Inn Joplin
#8 of 23 in Joplin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Joplin
11.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Joplin
8.7 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#7 of 23 in Joplin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Carthage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Carthage

Property: Super 8 Carthage
Address: 416 W Fir Rd, Carthage, MO 64836-3752
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Carthage
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Carthage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Carthage 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Carthage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Carthage
Carthage Super Eight
Carthage Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing