We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lodge rooms need updating, but overall a fair value”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cassville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Roaring River State Park
Reviewed 1 July 2012 via mobile

lodge common areas were nice. Rooms were large and generally clean, but were in need of renovation. The beds and room linens were embaresslsingly bad. if I were a Missouri resident, I would have been ashamed. Lodge rooms in nearby Arkansas State Parks are WAY nicer! The rooms were slightly overpriced for what you get, but there's nothing else around, so I guess its understandable.

Restaurant at the lodge is okay. Not really very good, but not terribly bad either. Prices are very reasonable and there is no other option in the area.

Lodge staff was friendly and helpful, but I get the impression that they have a hard time keeping help.

We were with a large party of people and had multiple rooms. One big disappointment was the pool. It was a long walk down the hill - probably best to drive. But the pool was an extra cost per person just to get in the door - whether you swam or not. The pool itself is seriously outdated. No shade and just a couple of tables and chairs. They do have safeguards, but the pool is only open from 12 to 6 pm.

The rest of the state park and hatches was nice, although the fishing seems to be a little over regulated.

Come on Missouri, SHOW ME you can do better. Put a little money into this place. Make it something you can be proud of. It actually wouldn't be too hard. decorate rooms, get some nice linens, some inexpensive flat screen tv's, change out the carpet every few years, and pay the cooks and restaurant staff a little more. I wouldn't mind paying a just a little more.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank oktourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2012

My family shared a duplex at Roaring River last weekend. It was very clean and comfortable. We just opened the doors between the two units and shared all of the space. The kitchen was well stocked with plates, pots, pans, etc. It had a full-size refrigerator, stove/oven, coffee maker and microwave. The bedrooms are very small, but workable. The main room has a dining table and chairs, sofa, comfy chair and a murphy bed that folds down. It was very hot and the air conditioner worked great.
The only negative is that the outdoor space is limited. There is good parking and a grill for each unit, but there is no picnic table or fire ring for hanging out outdoors. The four-plex units down the road DO have these amenities and they look really nice.
Overall, it was a great trip for our family. Next time we'll look into getting a four-plex.

Room Tip: Choose a four-plex unit for great outdoor space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank geisman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

My husband and I traveled from Wichita, Ks to try a stay at the Roaring River Lodge and the minute we walked through the front door we knew it was going to be bad. First, we saw a bunch of people in the main room and they were all there for a prom! It was noisy and we couldn't use the biggest part of the lodge due to the prom party. And it was also very noisy until around 11 that night due to the music from the party. When we called for a reservation, we were not told of the party in advance. The receptionist told us later that we should have been told when we called. We weren't...

The food was sub par and the service was very slow. For a restaurant that raves about its trout dinners the trout I was served was tough like leather. It had to be reheated in a microwave to have that texture. Our bedroom was right below the room the prom party was being held in so it was a very noisy night. My husband complained and the receptionist told him the manager was not there but she would have him call us later. Did he? NO. The coward never called us at all.

All in all, the park is beautiful and so is the lodge but that's all. The staff, accomodations and food were horrible. Do yourself a favor and stay in Cassville in a quality motel.

Room Tip: A tip to choose a good room? There are no good rooms there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank 492debbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We stayed at Roaring River State Park on the first weekend of 2012 trout season in the river cabins. We got there late on Friday night and realized we had to carry our luggage up 15 steps and down past several other cabins on a stone sidewalk (made by the CCC) to get to ours, which was on the end. It wasn't too bad, though. The veiw of the river and the many fishermen the next day was really nice. The cabin was simple and clean with 2 bedrooms. The kitchen was not well suplied, though. The cookware was in bad shape, no paper towels, no ice cube trays, no salt and pepper. The only thing that provided was a dish rag and towel and coffee filters for the coffee maker and dishes and flatware. Bring all your own stuff if you are going to do any cooking. There was a small TV with satellite channels-can't remember if there was a DVD player. The hatchery tour and history talk by the ranger were excellent!! There was a restaurant at the nice new lodge, but we didn't realize they stopped serving at 7 pm on Saturday night, so we missed dinner. The area is beautiful!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KathyandAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Quality time spent in this beautiful park. Don't miss the grow area with waterfall and large lake.
Deer leap trails that circles the park is great adventure for all ages.Bring snaks or just kick back with a good book in this park. WHAT A PLACE!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
2  Thank Joy D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

I love to drive from NE Oklahoma to Roaring River. My girls (both young) enjoy the fry in the hatchery. The large spawning pond is great. There is also a hiking trail. The water is COLD but people do swim. Camp grounds are clean and monitored.

I personally go for the trout fishing. Its pretty cheap for a 3 day pass. Trout are everywhere because they are turned loose from the hatchery. Great, great trout fishing on either a fly rod or ultra light! Hand sized trout are everywhere and far more than plentiful. Larger trout are available too. Make sure you check the regulations as certain baits are banned at certain locations to give the trout a fighting chance.

From that point its a very short drive to either Branson or Eureka Springs Arkansas!

Room Tip: Ive never stayed in the lodge, looks pricey. I have eaten in the restaurant and done some shopping...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JeramieOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2011

This was a quick side trip for us as my father had been there many years ago. We had our little spaniel with us and so I furtively looked around for "No pet" signs as more and more places are becoming less dog friendly. I was so pleased to learn that dogs are welcome and three other leashed dogs were having a ball looking at the beautiful rainbow trout in the clear spring water. There were really nice paths to take and lots of shade and seating. All rangers were friendly and informative. No one had an unkind word for our pup. I wish all areas were as good to dogs and dog people. Please throw the slobs out--they don't need to own dogs anyway--but welcome those of us who pick up after our dogs and make sure they are trained. Anyway, lovely place and we want to come back next year and spend some time here.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank starrsnip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Roaring River State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roaring River State Park

Address: Highway 112, Cassville, MO 65625
Region: United States > Missouri > Cassville
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Cassville
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roaring River State Park offers lodging accommodations for everyone’s taste from rustic cabins to modern motel rooms. The Emory Melton Inn and Conference Center, located on a hill near the entrance of the park, is an impressive stone and timber lodge that welcomes people to the valley. The inn offers 26 spacious and comfortable guest rooms, some with private balconies and a view of the river valley below. In addition to the guest rooms with standard amenities, the inn offers kitchenette suites. Wi-Fi is available in the inn’s lobby and meeting rooms. The park also offers 26 rustic cabins and duplex and fourplex units ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Roaring River State Park Hotel Cassville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing