We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Day trip to Roaring River State Park” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roaring River State Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cassville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Roaring River State Park
Inverness, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Day trip to Roaring River State Park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

The location is a little remote, but for trout fishers it is lovely. I found the trout hatchery interesting and had a nice lunch at the lodge. Didn't spend the night, but the lodge public space was inviting. There is plenty of space for campers and tents. The main thing is trout fishing in the spring fed river and there were plenty of people enjoying the day, Much of the park and hatchery are the work of the 1930's CCC and the work is enduring and attractive today. For me, it was a pleasant day trip from Eureka Springs Arkansas.

Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Dianne438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    21
    9
    9
    6
See reviews for
37
19
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berryton, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
82 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

The Inn looks very nice and the lobby and restaurant were fine. There is only 1 wait person taking orders and serving, but for the 4 times we ate there, did their best and the food was hot, good and priced very reasonably. We checked in and dropped our bags and went fishing, getting back to settle in the room after dinner, too bad because we didn't notice the bathroom had not been cleaned until that time. The sink and counter hadn't been wiped down and still had soap scum and coffee rings on them, the mirror behind the door (handicap room 109, I'm pretty sure hadn't been cleaned in months because you couldn't see yourself in it. I took a washcloth and wiped a corner with water and confirmed that. The toilet had urine on the side and the bathtub had hair and toilet paper in it (noticed when I filled it for a bath and saw it floating on top) lucky for me the drain wouldn't hold water so it kept draining to empty and I just ran the shower. I wore socks that nite and figured the next morning the maid would take care of it all. The tip envelope said 2 maids worked there, but we only saw one and all she did for the 4 days was take the old towels and trash out. And the towels, they had strings hanging on them and were so frayed that some actually had holes in them big enough to slip 2-3 fingers through. I would consider these off white stiff, thin, worn out towels perfect to wash your car with, not to hang in a lodge for guest to use.

The 2nd day wasn't any different, more towels and empty trash, that was it. There was a flyer that said to call right away if the service wasn't satisfactory, had I noticed the dirty bathroom when we checked in I would have called the desk right then. The bedding was clean and the dresser/desks were not dusty, so looked like living area was ok and the mattress was fine. However, the heat lamp in bathroom didn't work and the light switch for the lamps didn't work (had to turn on/off for all 3 at base of each. I did report this to the front desk.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Donice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
austin, texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

Live in Texas now, but wanted to show my boys (age 6 and 8) part of the country where I grew up. We rented a duplex cabin for several nights. The cabin was clean and large enough. The lighting is terrible and the furnishings are pretty drab -- a little depressing. The TV is pretty old -- finally got the dish to work -- but the remote never really worked. The staff were friendly and the park is beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank texasmomAustin_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012 via mobile

lodge common areas were nice. Rooms were large and generally clean, but were in need of renovation. The beds and room linens were embaresslsingly bad. if I were a Missouri resident, I would have been ashamed. Lodge rooms in nearby Arkansas State Parks are WAY nicer! The rooms were slightly overpriced for what you get, but there's nothing else around, so I guess its understandable.

Restaurant at the lodge is okay. Not really very good, but not terribly bad either. Prices are very reasonable and there is no other option in the area.

Lodge staff was friendly and helpful, but I get the impression that they have a hard time keeping help.

We were with a large party of people and had multiple rooms. One big disappointment was the pool. It was a long walk down the hill - probably best to drive. But the pool was an extra cost per person just to get in the door - whether you swam or not. The pool itself is seriously outdated. No shade and just a couple of tables and chairs. They do have safeguards, but the pool is only open from 12 to 6 pm.

The rest of the state park and hatches was nice, although the fishing seems to be a little over regulated.

Come on Missouri, SHOW ME you can do better. Put a little money into this place. Make it something you can be proud of. It actually wouldn't be too hard. decorate rooms, get some nice linens, some inexpensive flat screen tv's, change out the carpet every few years, and pay the cooks and restaurant staff a little more. I wouldn't mind paying a just a little more.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank oktourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

My family shared a duplex at Roaring River last weekend. It was very clean and comfortable. We just opened the doors between the two units and shared all of the space. The kitchen was well stocked with plates, pots, pans, etc. It had a full-size refrigerator, stove/oven, coffee maker and microwave. The bedrooms are very small, but workable. The main room has a dining table and chairs, sofa, comfy chair and a murphy bed that folds down. It was very hot and the air conditioner worked great.
The only negative is that the outdoor space is limited. There is good parking and a grill for each unit, but there is no picnic table or fire ring for hanging out outdoors. The four-plex units down the road DO have these amenities and they look really nice.
Overall, it was a great trip for our family. Next time we'll look into getting a four-plex.

Room Tip: Choose a four-plex unit for great outdoor space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank geisman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

My husband and I traveled from Wichita, Ks to try a stay at the Roaring River Lodge and the minute we walked through the front door we knew it was going to be bad. First, we saw a bunch of people in the main room and they were all there for a prom! It was noisy and we couldn't use the biggest part of the lodge due to the prom party. And it was also very noisy until around 11 that night due to the music from the party. When we called for a reservation, we were not told of the party in advance. The receptionist told us later that we should have been told when we called. We weren't...

The food was sub par and the service was very slow. For a restaurant that raves about its trout dinners the trout I was served was tough like leather. It had to be reheated in a microwave to have that texture. Our bedroom was right below the room the prom party was being held in so it was a very noisy night. My husband complained and the receptionist told him the manager was not there but she would have him call us later. Did he? NO. The coward never called us at all.

All in all, the park is beautiful and so is the lodge but that's all. The staff, accomodations and food were horrible. Do yourself a favor and stay in Cassville in a quality motel.

Room Tip: A tip to choose a good room? There are no good rooms there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank 492debbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

We stayed at Roaring River State Park on the first weekend of 2012 trout season in the river cabins. We got there late on Friday night and realized we had to carry our luggage up 15 steps and down past several other cabins on a stone sidewalk (made by the CCC) to get to ours, which was on the end. It wasn't too bad, though. The veiw of the river and the many fishermen the next day was really nice. The cabin was simple and clean with 2 bedrooms. The kitchen was not well suplied, though. The cookware was in bad shape, no paper towels, no ice cube trays, no salt and pepper. The only thing that provided was a dish rag and towel and coffee filters for the coffee maker and dishes and flatware. Bring all your own stuff if you are going to do any cooking. There was a small TV with satellite channels-can't remember if there was a DVD player. The hatchery tour and history talk by the ranger were excellent!! There was a restaurant at the nice new lodge, but we didn't realize they stopped serving at 7 pm on Saturday night, so we missed dinner. The area is beautiful!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KathyandAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cassville
0.0 mi away
Budget Inn Cassville
Budget Inn Cassville
#2 of 2 in Cassville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Cassville/Roaring River
0.0 mi away
Super 8 Monett
Super 8 Monett
#1 of 2 in Monett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roaring River State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roaring River State Park

Property: Roaring River State Park
Address: Highway 112, Cassville, MO 65625
Region: United States > Missouri > Cassville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Cassville
Number of rooms: 52
Also Known As:
Roaring River State Park Hotel Cassville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing