We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very relaxing park with lots to do!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cassville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Roaring River State Park
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A very relaxing park with lots to do!”
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

We have alway enjoyed camping and hiking at Roaring River State Park. Camp ground # 1 has lots of shade trees. We like site # 11 the best! The park has lots of hiking trails! And the fish are always biteing! You won't be dispointed!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Katyspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    21
    9
    9
    7
See reviews for
38
19
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cedarville, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Lots of stuff to do to keep the kids busy and entertained. Nature Center is OK. Fishing was crowded during the morning hours but thinned out in the afternoon. Restrooms and shower houses were kept clean and the camping area was nice and peaceful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairland, Oklahoma, United States
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

We have been coming to this state park for over 30 years and it seems to still be the nicest state park in the area. Very nice family oriented area to camp, fish, hike or simply relax. Something for everyone. We will be back next year.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I have been going here since I was a baby. I've tent camped at least once per year, sometimes as many as five times per year, so I would say I know the place well! It's by far my favorite place in Missouri...a jewel in the middle of the Ozarks. The scenery is beautiful and unique to each of the four seasons.

I would recommend going during the Autumn months (Sept-Oct) if you're going to hike-they have a handful of different trails throughout the park with attractions such as natural springs, small waterfall, caves, an old hideout used during the Civil War, among other historic sites.

I would recommend visiting during Spring (March-May) if you're going to fish-the trout fishing is some of the best in the country! Spring time is still scenic but also cool enough to enjoy staying out fishing all day. I'vfound the intermittent rain storms in spring that pass through the valley really improve fishing! Tags/licenses are cheap, and they stock the stream each day with trout raised in the hatchery (which was built in the 1930's and is wonderful to visit as well!)

I would recommend visiting during summer months if you're a family who's going to mostly spend time camping and relaxing in the water. The stream runs right next to Campgrounds 2 and 3 and your tent/camper is just steps away from a cool refreshing dip in the shallow stream.

Facilities are top notch, always very clean and well-maintained. The cost of camping is a mere $15-25 per site depending on which hook-ups you need, if any. Most of the sites can be reserved but some in Camp 3 are first come first serve (which in my opinion are some of the best and most shaded sites.) The hosts are very good about making sure that people are quiet after 10pm, so I have never had a bad/noisy night of sleep here, especially camping next to the stream which will lull me to sleep every time!

I would highly recommend visiting Roaring River, even for just a short weekend trip. It's fun for families, romantic for couples, and eventful enough for group outings such as scouts or church groups. I have spent as much as two consecutive weeks at one campsite here and was still reluctant to go home! Roaring River will always have a special place in my heart.

Room Tip: The campsites in Campground 1 and 3 are my favorites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank JESSharmon777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Cabins are old, smelly. We think they allowed pets in the cabins based on the smell and stains, which would be fine if the cabins were appropriately cleaned. While they don't allow smoking (great!) it is ironic that a smoking environment would have been preferable to the filth. We rented three cabins for a family reunion and all were in terrible condition, in desperate need of cleaning and professional maintenance. Bathroom sink did not drain, stained furniture, floors terrible. Not worth the price at all. Mice and fleas in one cabin. Two people in two cabins got sick. "Clean" towels were left on the porch. No response for maintenance. A/C questionable. Take your own shampoo and soap--not even the basics were provided. Pictures were deceiving.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank hawaiihome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Council Hill, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We recently (July 2013) stayed at cabin 4 at Roaring River. First time to stay in cabins. Camped at the park for 40 years. Cabins need new mattresses. Cabin was clean and fresh towels were brought daily. Kitchen was supplied with bare necessities. I came for a vacation not to cook! AT&T has no service. US cellular had no problem. Satellite TV only picked up 3 channels, but we can watch TV at home. Went to 2 of nature center evening programs. Kelly was great! Lots of info, but kept it interesting. If you haven't ever been on a hatchery tour, do it. History of park, info about spring & trout. Nature center is also a good place to visit. Be sure & have kids check out nature programs.
Note to management: put new mattresses in cabin 4. They NEED them ASAP! The grill also needs to be leveled. Hard to cook when you have to chase your food down the side of a mountain. :)
I would stay at the cabins again. Especially if I knew the mattresses were replaced.

Room Tip: Ask them if mattresses in cabin 4 have been replaced. If not bring an egg crate. Cabin was quite at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oklahoma1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valliant, Ok
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

A great park, but popular so it is crowded. The trout stream is very clear and stocked daily during season. We stayed @ the Emory Melton Inn which is very nice, large rooms and comfortable. House keeping needs more supervision, stayed three nights and room was given only a cursory cleaning, no vacuuming and bathroom not cleaned, only restocked. Check in was great, but the woman at check out was in a foul mood and should not have a job with customer contact.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the room with a balcony on the north side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wadefValliant_Ok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cassville
3.1 mi away
Budget Inn Cassville
Budget Inn Cassville
#2 of 2 in Cassville
13 reviews
3.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Cassville/Roaring River
30.3 mi away
Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roaring River State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roaring River State Park

Property: Roaring River State Park
Address: Highway 112, Cassville, MO 65625
Region: United States > Missouri > Cassville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Cassville
Number of rooms: 52
Also Known As:
Roaring River State Park Hotel Cassville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing