We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Most Enjoyable Lunch!”

Edgewild Restaurant & Winery
Reserve with OpenTable
Edgewild Restaurant & Winery is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 208 Restaurants in Chesterfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Clarkson & Hwy 40
Springfield
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Most Enjoyable Lunch!”
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Wife and I stopped here (our first time) for a mid-afternoon lunch. The lunch crowd had mostly departed by the time we arrived. We were seated immediately and attended by a friendly and helpful server. We both ordered sandwiches -- the Javelina Chicken and the Midwest Burger -- which were prepared just right and served promptly. The restaurant is located near the Drury Plaza Hotel, where we often stay when in St. Louis, so we'll be back again for sure.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    121
    50
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Love Edgewild”
Reviewed 28 April 2013

I love this place! Saw a couple negative reviews and thought I would contribute a little positivity. We live in Chesterfield and have been regular visitors for the last couple years since opening.
We belong to the wine club and I love the California wines that they have. The reserves are always a nice taste. AND, you can ask for a sample prior to buying.
I've never had bad service, I've been there for lunches and dinners.
Bravo Edgewild! As a matter of fact I am going to have dinner there tomorrow evening with 3 old friends and so looking forward to the visit!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tinabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Take your own bottle”
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Service is horrible, wine is /($&@- take your own bottle. What a joke for being tied with Chandler Hill... Food at best is average...

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phatboyzxxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew K, Owner at Edgewild Restaurant & Winery, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Thank you for your feedback. As a matter of point EdgeWild is not affliated with Chandler Hill but our owners are investors there. Please know that we value constructive feedback and we would gladly address your complaints during your visit. We never want a guest to leave dissatisfied.

We welcome customers bringing their own wine to our restaurant. We do not charge a corkage fee to our wine club members, for the other folks we charge a modest 10 dollars. We are very proud of our wine and know that if given an opportunity we could find something to satisfy your taste with over 30 bottles served by the glass..

We agree with you that Chandler Hill is a special place. When asked we encourage our guests to visit, host parties, and to eat there. Corey, Chuck, Mandi and the rest of the Chandler Hill team have built a special winery. They serve both wonderful Missouri and West Coast Wines. We love to support local and Chandler Hill is the best.

Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“food is great the hostess are terrible as are the wines”
Reviewed 29 March 2013

I have to laugh when we walk in the place is empty and they have no seating for 2 people. You can sit at the bar. Really it is 4pm how busy you gonna get in the next hour! The hostess are always rude and very unwelcoming even the new batch must of been trained to think they are doing you a favor to seat you. The wines are not very good I have tried almost all of them and there is one Pinot Noir that is worth drinking, The food is always great that is why we tolerate the hostesses. We have spoken to Chris one of the owners about the rudeness and it has not changed. also if you go at 945pm the kitchen closes at 10pm and they will not seat you. The crab chowder is to die for. the bison meatloaf is amazing. If they trained the hostess to be half as good as the chef this would be a great place to go - I just smile through trying to be seated then i forget about it and enjoy my meal

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank neatcmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew K, Owner at Edgewild Restaurant & Winery, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
We are so sorry that you have had a negative experience with our hostess staff. They try very hard to satisfy our guests. We are fortunate to be fully booked by 6pm most weekend nights. We do allow open seating in the bar and patio. Almost every night there is plenty of dining room availability at 4pm, frankly we love early business. We have discussed your experience with our hostess to offer valuable improvement. Its a tougher job than it appears and our staff tries very hard.

We have made a few changes. We will seat and feed guests up to beyond 10 pm on weekends. Also, we are about to release a new wine list with over 60 non EdgeWild offerings.

Thank you again for your feedback and support

Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
“Great Cuisine, Service, if a bit Loud”
Reviewed 26 March 2013

The place can get quite loud on weekends.. I guess that's a good thing considering the restaurant does well. Their wine list is rather extensive, but you must request or be shown the "reserve list.." the normal wine list is small and not too plentiful.. The place has amazing cuisine, service, and is spotless. The service is attentive, friendly, but not overbearing. I don't care for how diners sometimes sit atop one another via "bench seating," but that can't necessarily be helped, either.. because then people would never get a reservation. The desserts are great here.. especially the chocolate dishes. There's great scotch, cocktails, and an abundance of healthy items from which to choose, especially for seafood. Their crab chowder is outstanding as well. I have been here 5 times approximately, and each time have had a different dish. The place is great, but a bit loud.. and please ask to be shown a reserve wine list because they have many more wines than on their standard menu. The people running this place are good.. they respond to reviews, e-mails, and honor reservations/special requests. I dined here once on a special occasion and they mentioned it when we arrived.. a nice touch, especially considering it was SAT night and the place was packed. It can get quite loud and for this reason we avoid this place on FRI and SAT nights.. it's deafening to sit during either of these nights. They have great acoustic artists including Dave Kalz, Vote for Pedro's acoustic band, and others.. great players and tasteful (not loud).. Reservations strongly recommended.. Among the top places to dine in the Chesterfield MO area.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blah114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Edgewild Restaurant & Winery also viewed

 

Been to Edgewild Restaurant & Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing