We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Neighborhood Favorite”
Review of Yellowstone Cafe

Yellowstone Cafe
Ranked #34 of 205 Restaurants in Chesterfield
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
367 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“A Neighborhood Favorite”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

There is a nice selection of entrees, but you can also order a salad, burger, or sandwich. Nightly specials during the week. Every order comes with cheese spread and crackers which is a nice touch. We have always found the service to be excellent.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    33
    11
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florissant
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very pleasant, with seafood the theme”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

It was good and better than Red Lobster - - - fish is the specialty. Theme is on the walls as well.
Ok but not real excited about the place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal City, Mo
Level Contributor
69 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not what I expected but would go back.”
Reviewed 14 June 2013 via mobile

Didn't know what kind of place this was. Expected more of a diner due to the name. Rustic atmosphere w fish photos and decor. Coconut shrimp appetizer was good. My cheeseburger was a little dry but I ordered it medium well. Had a charbroil taste to it. Fries ok. Husband had basa fish and he liked it. Served w a southwest salsa like the appetizers. Good but flavors didn't seem to go that well together. I would order a seafood dish next time. It looked good. Hostess was a little loud and could be a bit more polished. Wanted to seat us in the bar for some reason although there was room in the dining room. Didn't have reservations but they take them. Our waiter was great though.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mk_mcdowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“I went for Walleye but fell for the chicken special”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We go to this restaurant with various friends about once a month when we're in St. Louis. The Shore Lunch sandwich ($13) has two strips of fried walleye which are excellent; it comes with french fries or slaw both of which are delicious. The fish portion is generous--each strip is about 1/2-in. thick, 3-in. wide, and 9-in. long. My wife invariably takes one strip home. I invariably overeat and finish it all.

Because I'm trying to lose weight gained on a 7 week cruise, the idea of crab-stuffed chicken with mushrooms appealed to me. It was outstanding. The husband, in the couple we were with, had the walleye sandwich and and his wife had the frog leg appetizer. She said the frog legs were excellent.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sixyuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
624 reviews
327 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“I should go here every night”
Reviewed 11 March 2013 via mobile

Why bother gong nowhere else? The fish - whether walleye, grouper, basso, or, whatever is fresh, perfectly cooked, flakey and plentiful. Their frog legs are good and their steaks surprisingly great. And, all reasonable with great service. The perfect Plc for me.

Helpful?
1 Thank Bobby44881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yellowstone Cafe also viewed

 
Chesterfield, MO
 
Town and Country, Saint Louis
 

Been to Yellowstone Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing