We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Superb!”
Review of Bloomfield Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bloomfield Lodge
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 1 March 2014

This unique 'hideaway' lives up to all the superlatives used in the Trailfinders/Bloomfield brochures - and the many accolades provided in the Reviews below. A unique 'resort' doesn't really fully describe it. Yes, it has a location, character, set of 'facilities' all it's own: it's remoteness, it's peace and tranquility, it's superb outlooks and panoramic views too. The multi-medial transportation that gets you to Bloomfield Lodge, the sense of history as you look out over Weary Bay towards the impressive coral reefs and the site where, all those years ago, Captain Cook, one of Yorkshire's finest, had the ultimate 'good fortune' to run his ship Endeavour aground and therefore 'find' the Bloomfield River and the remote rain forests and habitations of what is now the Daintree area of Northern Queensland. All of these add to the sense of history and attractiveness of the whole Bloomfield/Daintree area. Uniquely, you get TWO World Heritage Sites in one!!

Our Bloomfield Suite* accommodation was truly superb. Easily accessed from the main Lodge and facilities across a charming little suspension bridge it commands wonderfully panoramic views over the treetops to Weary Bay. The ultra large elevated wooden deck is equipped with a state-of-the-art Hot Tub and a very comfortable day-bed, all kept cool by strategically placed ceiling mounted fans. The Lodge interior is cool, beautifully furnished and equipped and the large glass-walled bathroom/shower offering total privacy overlooks a colourful woodland garden.

All of this still wouldn't command a full and enthusiastic endorsement of this remote and luxurious resort without the truly exceptionally dedication of resident managers, Courtenay and Ben and their small and equally dedicated team of chefs and waiting staff who provide excellent breakfasts, lunches and dinners in the attractive poolside area. There are private dining booths but the majority of guests seemed, like us, to prefer the 'open' dining arrangements where they could converse with other guests, share stories of many and varied activities enjoyed during their stay.

These include an excellent Forest Walk, fishing from the pier, a full-day snorkelling and fishing trip to the Coral Reef, a visit to a nearby progressive Aborigine settlement, spectacular waterfalls and a separate river trip where you can see, eyeball even, crocodiles - there are also flying foxes, sea eagles, ospreys and a variety of other bird and wildlife. All trips, tours and activities are escorted by the highly knowledgeable team of Guides: Paul, Shayne and Craig most certainly add to the uniqueness of the entire Bloomfield experience. And if you still have some energy after undertaking these tours and activities there is also a small gym and a covered 'sports' area with darts, pool and table tennis and a well stocked library/lounge, also a small pool and adjacent communal Hot Tub. The well stocked bar, 'Honesty Bar' seemed to meet most Guests'needs at very reasonable prices.

* The equally well equipped Hideaway lodges are a little further from the Resort Centre and involve using some quite steep pathways and steps but all provide equally spectacular views over the Forest and/or Weary Bay.

Overall, including the unique air, land, sea transportation, this 'resort' commands a '5 Star +++' evaluation. We reckon it would be virtually impossible to find any resort offering such high standards and facilities in such a fascinating and remote area.

Room Tip: Bloomfield Suite and Hideaways have the highest specifications/standards views. WELL worth the extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelTrepid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2014

Forget about any other places you've stayed at - you'll fall in love with Bloomfield Lodge.
From the moment you're collected from your hotel for the transfer to Bloomfield you know you're visiting somewhere special. Great flight from Cairns along the coast to the smallest airport in the world where Paulie was waiting to take us the rest of the way by minbus & boat.
After the tractor pulls the boat ashore Courtenay & Ben were waiting to make us feel instantly at home. Courtenay does a wonderful job 'front of house' whereas Ben is more in the background making sure everything runs smoothly. Together they're a great team & Bloomfield is a credit to them.
We stayed in a Hideway room with incredible views across Weary Bay which we could take in from our massive day bed or hot tub on our private deck. The room itself was wonderful. Spacious & spotless. Good size bathroom & the first loo with a view we've encountered. Well stocked mini bar with a complimentary bottle of champers on our arrival. The hideaway rooms are a little off the beaten track so be prepared for steep walk but they're worth the extra effort.
Remember that you're staying in the rainforest so be prepared for plenty of wildlife. You will meet snakes, spiders, frogs & all sorts of creepy crawlies so it may not be for people who aren't comfortable with nature. There is opportunity to go deeper into the rainforest on an organised walk which is well worth it. Paulie does a great job sharing his knowledge of the area.
There are plenty of other trips to do. The river trip with Jake was fantastic where we spotted crocs as promised & leant more about the Bloomfield river & surrounding areas.
But by far the best trip to do is the Great Barrier reef trip. Paul & Shane treated us to one of the best days on our Australia travels. Snorkelling on the reef, fishing & lunch on a deserted island will live long in our memory.The more people who go on the trip, the cheaper it is but to be honest i'd have paid any money. We paid more in Port Douglas for a quicksilver reef trip & it was nowhere near as good as this. We were fortunate to be sharing the Lodge with a fantastic group of people (i agree with you Graham) who all went so it was the icing on the cake for us. One of our group caught a Giant Trevally on the way home so that was served up for dinner that night.
And so to food & drink. Dining is communal which was a great to meet new friends but there is a private dining option if you prefer. Breakfast is buffet style with a cooked menu as well. Lunch is a 2 course & dinner a 3 course set menu. if there is anything particular you don't like, mention it to Courtenay & she'll make sure there are alternatives for you. The food is out of this world. There is a fully stocked honesty bar that you can use at anytime.
if you need any help relaxing there is a spa as well as a lovely pool with plenty of comfy sunloungers. A short stroll down to the jetty you'll find rods & bait for a spot of fishing & chairs to sit & watch.
All of the members of the Bloomfield Lodge team are there to make sure you have the best time possible & they succeeded beyond anything we could have imagined. Simply the best.

Room Tip: Hideaway Rooms can't be matched.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Arrived 2nd January having spent New Years Eve in Sydney , what a contrast !
The flight was fantastic allowing views of the rain forest & Cairns, Jake, the pilot was informative about the area and this set the scene for the whole trip !Picked up by Shane at the "airport ", what a great guy he is a legend, Ben & Courtney as hosts are two of the nicest people I have ever met (I know they are paid to be, but this is genuine ). Jamie with his bush tucker walks and ability to spot a crocodile was immense . Ben dragging out an 8 foot Python from outside my lodge to show me the colouring , Paul with his typical Aussie sense of humour great on the barrier reef and fishing and finally Sean cooking great food and Brook the waitress with an English sense of humour .
I think we got it wrong when we sent the convicts to OZ we should have gone their and left the convicts at home . Pity about the cricket result , but its not a perfect world , but Bloomfield Lodge and staff attempt to make it that way . Go their now before the reef disappears !
And finally although all the guests during our visit were British you could not have chosen a nicer bunch of people .
Note ! I see 3 poor ratings of this location I can only think they did not research the place before going , the humidity and events , and the wildlife may not suit everyone but its quite sad that everyone cannot appreciate the sheer beauty of nature as Captain Cook would have actually seen it when he ran aground in Weary Bay those years ago , now that is something you do not see every day of the week !

Room Tip: If you are fit then the views from 22/23 are to die for , but irrespective of the location of the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

Everything is said about the transfer from Cairns. It is well organized on time without too much of hotel touring to get the guests onboard. The flight is pleasant, the boat ride to the lodge bumpy and wet but it is the summer weather there.
Friendly welcome after a tractor pool out of the water. The usual welcome drinks and explanations. A pleasanr rather small swimming pool in front of the main building. Nice rooms with great views but not really luxurious : no bath tub and the bathroom is not exceptionnal.
Quietness except for the normal rain forest noises is exceptionnal.
You need to book trips because there is not much to do at the lodge and one cannot swim in thesea:too many hazards !
Theguides are very informative and friendly. The trip to Cooktown was especially interesting. Beaware that you may miss the barrier reef because of the weather.their boat isnot large enough to accommodate choppy waters.
The cuisine is excellent, varied. The BBQ was really excellent. Communal dining for all meals is not what you expect at this level of luxury and service is very slow. note also that clients are almost all British...so if you are allergic...
Prices are quite high and in my view too high for a placd which is remarkable but not exceptionnal.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Francois L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights at the end of our Australian honeymoon.

We thoroughly enjoyed the trip up in the Cessna Caravan, then the bus and boat trip to the lodge.

We had treated ourselves to the Hideaway room - really special with a hot tub on the balcony. Just to be clear - there are bugs, geckos and insects. There is only a fan for air-con. It is a pretty steep walk up to the room. However, it was private, luxurious and special. The view was amazing and sitting in the hot tub at the end of the day with a chilled beer was amazing. The one thing I would like them to change is that they tell you that they provide essential toiletries, however, they only had small bottles of fairly bog-standard shampoo, conditioner, body wash and body lotion. For such a special place, it would have been nice to have big bottles of lovely treat type stuff. If I was going again, I would take my own.

The rest of the property was great - the communal area was comfortable and the honesty bar well-appointed. You are encouraged to mix with other guests, although can request to be seated apart, so if this is not what you are looking for........... The food was delicious and beautifully presented. The staff were helpful and friendly. There was a lovely pool with comfy seating round the side and a small library with recent magazines, newspapers and a TV as well as some reference books.

They also have a couple of washers/dryers you can use and a small gym and spa (although I didn't try this).

There are lots of opportunities for day trips. Included in our trip was a fantastic rain forest walk witht the very knowledgeable Paul and a river trip to go croc spotting. We went on the reef trip which was an optional extra, but one of the best days of our holiday. We got to go snorkelling at 2 sites where we were the only people there and also a spot of fishing. All our fish had to be thrown back as too small, but a couple of days later they brought some great fish back and it was served up that evening at dinner! Some of the other guests went to the Bloomfield Falls and said that also was a great trip.

Relaxing - yes
Special - yes
Luxury - definately, but if your idea of luxury involves room service and no beasties, think twice!

Room Tip: The Hideaway rooms are very special - for a special occasion, well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen7ify
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

From the moment we arrived (an experience in itself) we couldn't have hope for a more wonderful holiday. We were upgraded to a lodge with sea view, the room was beautiful, the staff couldn't do more , the food was delicious and the trips we went on were brilliant. Peace and quiet, luxury and beautiful surroundings what more could you ask for???

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed here about 6 years ago and it was great to see the improvements made. The managers do a great job and having been in the hospitality industry ourselves for many years we can distinguish between the excellent and mediocre! We stayed in one of the upgraded 'cabins' on the hill. Room was spotless and the new hot tub on the deck was a great addition. We did a reef trip with Harry & Paul as our guides and they do a great job. The reef is unspoilt and we saw no rubbish in the water as you often see in other places (PNG). The meals were enjoyable and we had a choice of sitting with our friends or sharing a table with other guests. We had great fun making our own cocktails but the managers were always on hand in case we got stuck.

Room Tip: The best rooms are on the hill but it is a steep walk!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Truus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Bloomfield Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bloomfield Lodge

Address: Wongabadga Point, Weary Bay, Bloomfield, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Bloomfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Bloomfield
Price Range: £426 - £656 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bloomfield Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hidden gem, enchanting and beautifully remote rainforest hideaway, two hours North of Cairns, Bloomfield Lodge offers a unique experience of two World Heritage listed sites, the ancient lush tropical Daintree Rainforest, and the pristine waters of the Great Barrier Reef.Bloomfield’s aura of calm and the natural beauty of the rainforest soon takes over, rejuvenating body and soul. Indulge in a soothing massage, relax by the pool or take a stroll along a deserted beach. Adventurous spirits can take advantage of Bloomfields unique location and discover some of Australia’s most incredible plant, animal and marine life with a guided rainforest walk or a cruise along a jungle fringed river. Visit cascading waterfalls, spend a magical day snorkelling on the Great Barrier Reef without another boat in sight or experience some of the world’s finest game fishing. Bloomfield Lodge provides the perfect sanctuary to get away from it allA member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World, ranked No1 in Forbes Magazine as the 'Worlds Best Remote Hotel', Winner 2011'Best Boutique Hotel' Queensland Hotel Association Awards and Winner 2011 Best Unique Accommodation' Tourism Tropical North Queensland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bloomfield Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bloomfield Hotel Degarra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing