We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An amazing place!!”
Review of Bloomfield Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bloomfield Lodge
GreenLeadersGold level
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“An amazing place!!”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed at Bloomfield Lodge for 4 nights over Christmas and had the most amazing time from start to finish. The location is breathtaking, the food amazing and the staff so friendly and helpful (Courtney and Ben literally can't do enough to make sure you thoroughly unwind and enjoy yourself). We also met a group of lovely people during our stay. We simply can't rate this place highly enough.

Room Tip: We stayed in a deluxe retreat room (N17) for the added privacy and view but all rooms look great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonichilltop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    17
    4
    5
    0
See reviews for
20
113
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hawker, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

An English man, an Irish, a Scot, a Welsh man and an Aussie walked into the bar..... oh and several women ...

We were delighted to be guests at Bloomfield Lodge for 5 nights in March celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary. We wanted to go somewhere relaxing and couldn't have chosen a better destination. In many ways it is better than going to a destination like Fiji as once you are there there are really no decisions to make except maybe whether to fish off the jetty or get your book out and read whilst gazing over Weary Bay.

We took the option of dining on our own each night in a gazebo but enjoyed our 'group' breakfasts and lunches. I can thoroughly recommend the degustation dinner.

We were concerned at the thought of travelling with only 7kg of luggage per person but can assure you that the relaxed atmosphere means no dressing up required and they supply many extra touches to make life comfortable.

We lashed out and stayed in a Hideaway room which meant a VERY steep walk up the hill but a few days in and we were able to make it home without stopping to 'enjoy the view'. The spa bath on the verandah was a welcome retreat at the end of each climb.

David unfortunately stepped on 'something' whilst foraging in the beach for bait (although they do supply it!) - this meant a trip to the local hospital / clinic organised by the on site managers (in the tropics we didn't dare risk not making sure all was ok).

We also took up the trip to the deserted beach with an extremely well packed esky but unfortunately the reef trip was n/a as the boat had blown an engine....

The only thing that could have made it more perfect would be to have had a swim in the ocean but it isn't possible at certain times of the year. Oh ... And if you can, take a docking station to play music from you phone if you are that way inclined.

The food was great, the staff are well informed and friendly (Brooke, Shane, Paul etc) and the transfers are a highlight in themselves.

We initially thought it was relatively expensive but can honestly say it is great value for money - if you can afford it, spoil yourselves.

This resort doesn't seem to be very well known in Australia - we spotted an advert in The SMH.

CAN'T wait to go back.

Thanks Stephanie & David

Room Tip: Hideaway rooms are fantastic if you can afford it and can make it up the hill!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank StephN64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Everything was perfect: staff, good, location, complete incommunicado.

The reef trip was one of the best experiences of our lives.

We were initially a little concerned about social eating, but everybody was compatible and it made the whole experience better.

First night was a bit scary : all kinds of wildlife and shadows on the way back to the room. And a few creepy crawlies, but you soon realise that they leave you alone and the noise at nighttime is heaven.

I'd give 6 stars if I could, we'll be back for a special anniversary.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Bloomfield lodge is a truly unique experience that takes you completely away from the stresses of work.

We arrived by 4wd and had 3 blissful days at Bloomfield. We decided to drive up from cairns and take the coastal route which took just over 4 hours. The drive was pretty spectacular and adventurous/uncomfortable for the last few hours. I would highly recommend a proper rugged 4wd with a snorkel especially if there has been rain recently.

The lodge has everything you really need with very comfortable accommodation and decent facilities. We stayed in one of the top rooms on the hill and it's quite a climb. If you struggle with steep climbs then definitely request a room at the bottom of the hill.

The day trip out on the reef was the highlight of the trip with only 8 of us onboard - such a rarity for day trips on the Great Barrier Reef! Our guide Shane took us to some great snorkelling spots and a very interesting tour round hope island which finished with a prepared picnic on the beach- pretty hard to beat! On the way back we stopped for some fishing and the catch of the day was canapés a few hours later!

All the staff were really friendly and the nightly canapés had everyone mingling and planning the day ahead. The bar was self help and all done on a honesty policy which is completely what Bloomfield is all about!

Overall I'd highly recommend a stay at Bloomfield for those looking to fully disconnect from technology and simply unwind. It's quite a journey to get here but so worth it for a unforgettable stay!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Travellingagent007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northants, UK
Level Contributor
169 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

It was a joy and a privilege to stay here for four nights mid-February. The journey there is a great start... 8 seater airplane (and even smaller for the return to Cairns), then a short drive, then a boat ride. We arrived at the lodge mid morning in time for a free welcome drink. Rooms are really wonderful... luxurious and open air with mesh and ceiling fans. Big deck and hot tub. We had room 21, which is up high but the pathway is good and less than 5 mins from central area.
Trips all good... river cruise to see crocodiles, rainforest walk and Bloomfield Falls.
Food always delicious and my fussiness was catered for without making me feel bad. Service excellent, friendly and fun. Max 12 people for our visit as wet season but rain only during evenings and night (which was nice to listen to). We enjoyed the social aspect of dining together (but you don't have to do this).
I loved the sound of birds, frogs etc and the feeling of living outside, especially from shower and toilet! My husband especially enjoyed the honesty bar.
Staff all really excellent. We had a wonderful time there.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Stayed 5 nights in March 14 at the end of a our trip and with a plan to relax. What can I say - you chill out toally. The staff are great, nothing seems to be too much trouble. Food was great and having been asked for likes / dislikes etc and stated that I was not allergic to nuts but really didn't like them, I was imressed that I only ever saw nuts on other people's plates.
yes we had rain but we were lucky that it tended to be overnight (3 inches on both the first 2 days) but even when it did rain it didn't stop us enjoying ourselves. There ar umbrellas all over the place and you just pick one up and they magically sort themselves out next morning.
Did the river trip (saw 5 crocs of differenct sizes and lovely scenary), the waterfall trip - great given the recent rain and en route, stopped at an aboriginal gallery where you could charge souvenirs to your room (and they were sensible prices as well). Wife enjoyed a couple of hours of massage whilst I went out to the reef fishing. We also did the rain forest walk. Every thing we did was well organised and the Guides were very knowledgeable and keen to help, doing everything they could to make your day pleasant.
The honesty bar worked well and we had some great company mixing with the other guests over meal times although you don't have to mingle if you don't want to. Initially it sounds expensive but having been - we thought it fairly priced
Fishing off the jetty became a fun activity for quite a lot of the residents.
Yes there are big spiders (we watched one pounce on a circada), there was a python up a tree, a small snake on one of the paths, a selection of birds and butterflies and the star of the show - a Quoll who came out to play 3 nights on the trot and I still failed to get a photo - 1st night he was hiding in the wine rack before running into the library and hiding under a chair, 2nd night, he ran across and disappeared under th building and third night 2 of the guests said he came and sat on the tables to search for crumbs - very cute.
Satff were great (I know I have said that already but I can't say it enough) and as a place to experience the forest whilst chilling out I doubt you can beat this place. We would go back at the drop of a hat. I hope you enjoy it as much as we did!






spending an hour or so oere shown around the edge of the rain forest

Room Tip: we were in the 2nd level of room and although in a row of 4 you couldn't see you neighbours and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank howard_keith2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

As a city lover I didn’t even want to visit Bloomfield Lodge for the four nights we stayed in March. I retired from a career in the Probation Service in February, so this was our first break. It is now my number one holiday destination and I can’t wait to return. Bloomfield is accessed via a plane ride, a four wheel drive and a boat trip. The rooms are secluded and on a very steep hill, so inform the staff when booking if you need one on the lower level. The staff were exceptional, from Craig and Cori the managers, the chef who caters for all fussy eaters (although it is a good idea to email ahead to warn him!), the masseur and the cleaning staff who kept our room spick and span. The guides on our trips are so knowledgeable about their part of the world, although Paulie never did finish his tale of the python found in his garage, so hoping he will be there when we visit again because we have talked about nothing else since returning home! The population in this area is now around 400, it was approx 70 when Shane moved there; he assured us that it’s not all down to him!
It is the rainforest so expect to get wet – but the weather doesn’t stop most activities from taking place. My partner Frank and I had private walks on the local beach and around the walking trails at the Lodge. We went crocodile spotting twice because we enjoyed it so much (something I was determined not to do before we arrived!). The Bloomfield Falls are worth a visit .We spent 2 weeks in New Zealand on the way home and none of the waterfalls matched those at Bloomfield. Frank did some successful fishing while I was pampered in the beauty room.
The rainforest walk with Paulie was very informative; I haven’t climbed up grassy banks and slipped down them again since I was a child. Frank insisted of taking a photo of me, filthy dirty and with bruised cut legs because he has never seen me like that. And I loved every single second of it! (Stay for 4 nights and receive the rainforest walk and crocodile spotting trips for free.)
Dinner is at 7.30pm but canapés are served at 7pm. This provides a chance to talk to other guests about their day, and to organize excursions for your next day. You can be as sociable (or not) as you please. Myself, I enjoyed the company of the other guests at breakfast and lunch, but wanted to spend time with Frank during the evening meal, and just a word with Cori meant we had a table for two every evening. I enjoyed the lack of access to the outside world, no television, radio, telephone or internet access. Cori walked with us to the boat on our last morning and I’m not too proud to admit I shed a few tears when we set off – thank you to fellow guests Garry and Wendy for running down the jetty waving us off, at least that made me laugh!
Off to Las Vegas soon, and for the first time in 14 years I will be wishing I was somewhere else. Everyone should experience Bloomfield Lodge just once in their lives.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 227vegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susanmwLondon, Public Relations Manager at Bloomfield Lodge, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you very much for your wonderful and very honest review on Bloomfield Lodge. It is sometimes hard to convey what is so different about a stay at Bloomfield and why it is unlike any other hotel. The easy bit to promote is the luxury boutique accommodation in a beautiful setting but the more difficult task is to convey the whole unique experience of Bloomfield, which I think you have managed to achieve in your review brilliantly. Lets hope that one day you will have the opportunity to come back to Bloomfield Lodge and do it all over again!

Sue Moscow
Bloomfield Lodge Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bloomfield
23.4 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
12.5 mi away
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
#6 of 13 in Cape Tribulation
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
11.4 mi away
Cape Tribulation Beach House
Cape Tribulation Beach House
#2 of 13 in Cape Tribulation
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience
12.2 mi away
Rainforest Hideaway
Rainforest Hideaway
#2 of 5 in Cape Tribulation
5.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
12.4 mi away
Cape Trib Farmstay B&B
Cape Trib Farmstay B&B
#1 of 5 in Cape Tribulation
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bloomfield Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bloomfield Lodge

Property: Bloomfield Lodge
Address: Wongabadga Point, Weary Bay, Bloomfield, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Bloomfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Bloomfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bloomfield Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hidden gem, enchanting and beautifully remote rainforest hideaway, two hours North of Cairns, Bloomfield Lodge offers a unique experience of two World Heritage listed sites, the ancient lush tropical Daintree Rainforest, and the pristine waters of the Great Barrier Reef.Bloomfield’s aura of calm and the natural beauty of the rainforest soon takes over, rejuvenating body and soul. Indulge in a soothing massage, relax by the pool or take a stroll along a deserted beach. Adventurous spirits can take advantage of Bloomfields unique location and discover some of Australia’s most incredible plant, animal and marine life with a guided rainforest walk or a cruise along a jungle fringed river. Visit cascading waterfalls, spend a magical day snorkelling on the Great Barrier Reef without another boat in sight or experience some of the world’s finest game fishing. Bloomfield Lodge provides the perfect sanctuary to get away from it allA member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World, ranked No1 in Forbes Magazine as the 'Worlds Best Remote Hotel', Winner 2011'Best Boutique Hotel' Queensland Hotel Association Awards and Winner 2011 Best Unique Accommodation' Tourism Tropical North Queensland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bloomfield Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bloomfield Hotel Degarra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing