We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You have better choices at this price point, pretty average to be honest.”
Review of Seven Gables Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Seven Gables Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Reviewed 16 May 2013 via mobile

My wife and I don't usually stay at B&Bs, we like more modern hotels but this is what we got on Priceline.


Pros- the staff is very friendly and helpful, I felt like I was at a higher grade hotel.
-while out of the way from most major places, there are lots of small restraunts in walking distance.

Cons- the property has seen better days, from the outside to the inside.
-our room was clean but very small, the carpet had stains all over.
-the AC couldn't stay up with the 90 degree heat, we had to run the bathroom fan to get the room cool enough to sleep.
-the breakfast was very lacking, they try to save money here for sure. Try First Watch across the street.
-Our shower had pressure problems and they don't have onsight maintenance to fix it, they offered to move us but we declined because it was late and we had stuff all over.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dragonfighter6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Thank you for your posting.

We take all guests postings very seriously and address any concerns immediately.

We do offer a complimentary continental breakfast and I apologize that it was not properly stocked during your stay. We do try to go above and beyond your typical cold items on most continentals by providing not only some healthy options, such as fresh fruit, granola bars, hard boiled egg, smoothies and yogurt to also offering a rotating hot item that we purchase daily from local bakeries such as mini quiche, egg and cheese crossiants.

We are also continually doing minor comestic upgrades to our hotel to try and keep it fresh and appealing to our guests. We are scheduled to do some carpet repairs which should be happening within the next year.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 395 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2013

We stayed one Saturday night after attending an event at SLU. The service was incredible from check in to valet services to the complementary breakfast. Vince, the valet attendant stood out the most. He RAN to get our car and have it running at the front door for us when we were ready to leave. He also went out of his way to help restock breakfast items, refill coffee, etc. We really enjoyed the perks of this little hotel... Aveda bath products, delicious afternoon cookies and coffee/tea, amazing location. Definitely a great value and would stay again!

Room Tip: We stayed in a King Room on the third floor, facing the courtyard. It was incredibly quiet and spaci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnandCourtney316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

Thank you for taking time to post your review.

It is only with our guest feedback that we can continue to grow and provide our guests with the best customer service and experience.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Stayed for 1 night on business based on a recommendation from a friend, didnt disappoint. Very friendly & helpful staff. Thank you to Kassiana for a quick response on my reservation and Andre at check-in was very welcoming. Not a cookie cutter boring brand hotel which I appreciate since I travel frequently. Easy & fast wifi. Didnt get a chance to stop in the bar but looked like it was a great place to have a Guinness, next time! Clean & well maintaned room, very comfortable bed, nice bathroom amenities.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rev1ewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

Thank you for your review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your experience with us.

With being a unique hotel we strive to provide you with an experience rather than just being a number passing through our hotel.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Spacious room, clean, very comfortable bed.
Great location for visiting "Wash U"
Walking distance to "Half and Half" - my son's favorite place for brunch.
Parking was great - either in the lot or in the garage. You have to pay for it but that's the price for staying in the city. Worth it to stay in a quaint inn vs. chain hotel / motel.
Never had breakfast here b/c we were visiting our son and ate w/ him so can't vouch but GREAT coffee, can take it w/ you on the road.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brooklyn_Pearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2013

Thank you for taking time to post your review.

We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and we are a convenient location to spend time with your son while he attends Wash U.

We look forward to your return visit.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I stayed at the Inn while on a college trip with my daughter. It is convenient to the interstate -- great restaurants, Forest Park and Washington University.

This is not your typical hotel -- it's more like a B and B, and furnished accordingly. Very quaint. You will encounter narrower hallways and stairways. This may not be a great location for someone who has difficulty getting around.

Parking is across the street and quite accessible. There is a nominal fee for parking -- but worth it.

Staff are terrific --very helpful and friendly. They had good suggestions for dinner. If you don't want to go out, Molly Darcy's is right in the hotel. Decent pub food and a friendly staff. This is also where the complimentary breakfast is served, and it's very nice.

There is a lovely courtyard -- we didn't use it because the weather was not warm enough.

Wine and cheese and cookies available in the evening, along with tea and coffee. A big plus when you are coming and going and need a little treat.

We enjoyed our stay very much and would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: If you can't do stairs, tell them. There are some rooms on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2013

Thank you for taking time to post such a nice review.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your experience. The team at Seven Gables all takes such pride in providing our guests with a positive experience and to make all of our guests feel as if they are at their home away from home.

Our goal at Seven Gables is to provide an experience for all of our guests rather than treating them as a transaction.

We truly appreciate the feedback our guests provide us as we can only continue to improve and provide the best possible service to all who come through our doors.

We look forward to seeing you again!

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

My sister and I stayed at the Inn for a weekend while in town for a wedding shower that also took place here. The Seven Gables was a perfect choice for both. A nice change of pace from your usual "chain" hotels. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. The courtyard looked very charming although the weather in March was too cool for us to enjoy it. The complimentary breakfast included an assortment of pastries, cereal, toast, and delicious fresh fruit. The setup, service, and food for the shower couldn't have been better.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan5008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2013

Thank you for taking time to post your review. We sincerely appreciate our guest taking time to provide us feedback about your experience with us.

We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay as well the shower. Seven Gables is a great option when looking for an intimate and unique experience for both.

We hope to see you again during your next visit to St. Louis.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

I spent two nights at the Seven Gables and found the overall experience to be quite mediocre. The hotel is quite loud -- it is easy to hear other visitors in nearby rooms. There's no elevator and the stairs are quite narrow. Parking is problematic. Breakfast isn't very good nor consistently well-stocked (we had to go up to the front desk to ask for silverware, the pastries are low quality).

We had hoped for charming but found it quite dreary. Overall the staff seemed friendly, although the valet did leave the windows down in a car in the rain! NOT fantastic customer service!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lilB-Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2013

Thank you for posting your review its only with our guests feedback that we can continue to grow and improve on a daily basis.

We apologize that you did not enjoy your stay.

We do not offer an elevator due to the fact we are registered on the National Historic Registry, although we do have bellman here to assist guests with bags to and from their room.

We also appreciate your feedback on the complimentary continental breakfast we offer our guests and will pass this along to the bakery that we receive our freshly baked pastries from on a daily basis to ensure that we continue to provide the highest quality to our guests.

We do offer a private lot for our guests parking convenience and we apologize if this was not conveyed to you.

Again, thank you for your feedback as we take all guests concerns very serious and address them all immediately.

We hope you will give us another try.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton
0.2 mi away
Clayton Plaza Hotel
Clayton Plaza Hotel
#3 of 5 in Clayton
980 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Clayton / St Louis - Galleria Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Cheshire
The Cheshire
#47 of 121 in Saint Louis
949 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis
4.1 mi away
The Chase Park Plaza
The Chase Park Plaza
#35 of 121 in Saint Louis
1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Gables Inn

Address: 26 N Meramec Ave, Clayton, Saint Louis, MO 63105-3859
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Clayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Price Range: £102 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Seven Gables Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Seven Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
7 Gables Inn
Seven Gables Hotel Clayton
Seven Gables Saint Louis
Seven Gables Inn Saint Louis/Clayton, MO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing