We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome little boutique hotel”
Review of Seven Gables Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Seven Gables Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome little boutique hotel”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

The Seven Gables is truly an "Inn", quaint and charming with a beautiful courtyard.
Wine and cheese reception in the evening with nice quality wines and cheeses.
The rooms are like a bedroom at home rather than a hotel. Comfy, comfy, comfy!
Excellent staff.
The location is wonderful within walking distance of many restaurants and bars.
This will be my "go to" hotel when traveling to St. Louis

LaDonna

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaDonnaD55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and this will be your go to hotel while in town.

We do strive to make our guests feel as if they are at their home away from home rather than a hotel.

Its only with our guests reviews and input that we can continue to improve and provide our guests with not only what they expect and deserve.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    109
    27
    25
    21
See reviews for
81
141
39
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My husband and I stay here once a year. It's usually around our anniversary. The staff is extremely friendly and quick to help with anything we may need. My husband loves the cookies offered when checking in (yummy!) and we both really like when they have a fire going in the courtyard. They offer service in the courtyard so you can order a drink and dinner. Carl is our fave - he's been there for years and always remembers us.

Room Tip: Second Floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank citygirlforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you for your kind posting.

We are thrilled you continue to come see us. The majority of the team has been here for 3+ years which is nice and unusual to see in this industry. The team all takes such great pride in their jobs and providing our guests with a great experience.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

As soon as you pull up in front of the building, you know you are in a special place. Greeted by a doorman, handled all the baggage and even though we were several hours early, we were able to check in and check our bags. When we came back later, bags were already in the room.

We had the Jr. Suite which had 2 queen beds, small leather sofa, couple of chairs, an upright desk, coffee table, 2 end tables and enough room to roller skate. Accommodations were comfortable and nicely appointed.

Continental breakfast was provided which included hot, fresh breakfast sandwiches.

Staff was personable, friendly, helpful. The neighborhood was the kind you could walk around and feel comfortable. Number of decent restaurants in the area besides the one in the hotel. Easy access to the city if you wish.

I only wish we were able to stay longer than the one night since we did not get to experience all the hotel had to offer.

Room Tip: The Jr. suite would hold 4 people easily so if you're traveling with kids, well worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you for your kind review.

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and sincerely appreciate your feedback.

We all strive to provide our guests with an experience as if they are at their home away from home and we hope to see you again when you get a chance to spend more time in our hotel.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sooner State
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed at the Seven Gables for one night. The hotel is quaint and beautiful and the staff members are professional, friendly and efficient.

Our room was tiny. They call it a "cozy queen" and they weren't kidding! It was so cozy there was barely room for us to move around. I recommend paying more for a bigger room. The bed was very comfortable. It's one of the best hotel beds I've slept on. The carpet in our room was worn and had bleached out spots on it, maybe where it had been spot cleaned. The bathroom is large given the size of the bedroom, but the shower was not very clean. The floor of the tub was stained and the tub walls needed a good scrubbing. The heating and air system is difficult to control. It was either too hot or too cold the whole night. When you turn up the air so the room isn't so cold, the heat kicks on.

We had heard great things about the pub but were disappointed to find out it was closed that night for a private event. We were able to see the pub the next day, as that is where breakfast is served. The breakfast was better than an average hotel continental breakfast.

There is free Fiji bottled water and Ghirardelli chocolate in the rooms, which is a nice touch.

Just a couple of things to be aware of: parking is somewhere around $18 if you can find a space in their lot. There is no elevator and the stairs are steep and narrow.

Room Tip: Pay more for a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoonerMom87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you for your review.

We take every guests feedback very serious and address all items we can within our control.

We are scheduled to do some updates to the hotel, i.e. carpet, curtains etc... We just don't have a specific date as of yet.

We hope you will come back to visit us and sincerely appreciate your feedback.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eden, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I can't say enough kind words about the wonderful staff at the Seven Gables in Clayton, MO. Very courteous and helpful - great people! However, our stay was in the end a disappointment. Be advised that this property is on the Historical Registry and so there is not an elevator to access the upper floors. Stairways are narrow and somewhat steep with narrow trends. Air conditioners are noisy and inefficient. We stayed several nights in two different rooms and both had AC problems.

Continental breakfast which comes with the rooms is served at Molly Darcy's (attached pub) and was enjoyable. Lunch and dinner fare at the pub was quite good.

Final downgrade came from what my wife styled "night visitors" - roaches in the bathroom.

Just couldn't bring myself to rate as three stars, even though the staff deserved five.

Room Tip: If you have problems with stairs, make sure to request a room on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you for your review.

We take all guests reviews very serious and act immediately.

Our entire team treats our guests as if they are family and you are visiting your home away from home and all team members take such pride in providing customer service.

We will definitely address your other concerns and appreciate your feedback.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

The room had a loud air conditioning fan, which when turned down to the lowest setting still made too much noise. My view was of a concrete wall with propane tanks off to the left. At breakfast the stack of small clean plates turned out to be all dirty. The room was not cleaned during the day. At night in the courtyard there was a whiskey tasting with a lot of cigar smoking. The cigar smoke could be smelled in the hallway and my room.

Room Tip: Maybe the second floor, but there are no elevators?
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DocGhilardelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you for review.

We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay.

We do often have events hosted in the Courtyard and we apologize that you were not informed ahead of time to be able to be relocated to another room.

Thanks for providing your feedback as all guest concerns are addressed immediately to ensure our guests receive the quality they not only expect but deserve.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

After reading other reviews of this hotel, I was wondering if we were speaking of the same place as the other reviewers. We stayed one night on our way to another destination and a second night on our way back. Some of the staff were friendly, while others were not. And, as we all know, that first impression is made by the people checking you in. A smile goes a long way and this was not the case. Our room was okay, although the throw on the bed had holes in it and the rug definitely needed to be replaced. The bed was comfortable. Continental breakfast was just okay. Now parking was another story. Somewhere, there was a misunderstanding about parking. We got the impression that you could park for free or 17 dollars for valet. That proved to be wrong. And when I called about it, Stacy could have been friendly about it. Just not a great experience all around. Wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debby m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Thank you for your review.

We apologize that you did not enjoy your stay and there was confusion with the parking. We did speak on the phone regarding your parking and as explained parking self or valet is $17 per day. You can park on the street if chose to do so however the city does reserve the right to ticket or tow your car between the hours of 2am-5am.

Again we apologize for any confusion and thank you for your feedback as all guest concerns are taken very seriously and addressed immediately.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton
0.2 mi away
Clayton Plaza Hotel
Clayton Plaza Hotel
#3 of 5 in Clayton
961 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Clayton / St Louis - Galleria Area
2.2 mi away
The Cheshire
The Cheshire
#44 of 121 in Saint Louis
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis
0.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis
4.1 mi away
The Chase Park Plaza
The Chase Park Plaza
#36 of 121 in Saint Louis
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Gables Inn

Property: Seven Gables Inn
Address: 26 N Meramec Ave, Clayton, Saint Louis, MO 63105-3859
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Clayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Seven Gables Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Seven Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
7 Gables Inn
Seven Gables Hotel Clayton
Seven Gables Saint Louis
Seven Gables Inn Saint Louis/Clayton, MO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing