We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In-town Treat”
Review of Seven Gables Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Seven Gables Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
st;louis, mo
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“In-town Treat”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We live in St Louis but had not stayed at the Seven Gables. Bought a night there at a charity acution. Lovely unique property. A perfect in-town treat. Valet parking is $17 but there is a public lot across the street as an option.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 214 with windows overlooking the patio. Very quiet at this time of year but could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mklSt_louis_Mo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for posting your review.

Seven Gables Inn is a great place to stay if you are looking for something different and not your typical chain hotel.

We are centrally located and within minutes for a number of things to do.

We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    109
    27
    25
    21
See reviews for
81
141
39
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kankakee, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We normally stay at the larger chain hotels, but all were booked for the evening that we planned on arriving. This was a pleasant surprise. Priced right and in a great area for dining and other activities.Not too far from downtown St. Louis either. Room was quite nice and large. Enjoyed the pub as a nice way to end the evening. The breakfast in the morning had a nice selection for most tastes.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin_MarciaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for taking time to post your review.

Seven Gables is located in a great area. We are centrally located from the airport, downtown and the county and are surrounded by restaurants and shopping.

We are pleased you stayed with us and enjoyed yourselves.

We hope to see you again during your next trip to St. Louis.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Girardeau, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We needed to book a hotel in the general vicinity of the Fox Theatre (6 mi.) for the night. We had local friends meet us at the pub for supper and cocktails before the event (GREAT Pub food and GREAT bar at a reasonable price.) Check-in was very personable including fresh baked chocolate chip/caramel cookies, and I was treated like a friend that had came to visit. All staff seemed cheerful and made it a point to address us. Valet service was above and beyond. Room was comfortable, clean, and unique accentuating 1920's charm. I had read reviews faulting the views of a concrete wall. True, but only due to "modern progress" on either side. Definitely an oasis and something different that a regular hotel in the area for a comparable price. (No elevators, which did not matter to us, but important to some). Charming garden area to sit and enjoy cocktails. Overall great experience and I highly recommend it to anyone staying in the Clayton area. Comparably priced and unique atmosphere. Great stay!

Room Tip: No elevators so keep that in mind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for taking time to post a review.

We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and received the experience that not only you expected but deserved.

Its only with our guests feedback that we can continue to improve and provide the best possible experience.

Thank you again and we hope to see you during your next visit to St. Louis.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Seven gables has a charming ambiance and yet modern amenities. It is in an awesome part of town - with great restaurants, bars, neighborhoods - and it's only a mile or two to forest park. Go to First Watch or City Coffee House and Creperie for breakfast (arrive hungry!). Go to Tani or Café Napoli for diner!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessicaJMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you for posting your review.

We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and hope to see soon!

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed three nights at the Seven Gables, and there was nothing great or terrible. It was good. The staff was a bit detached, and we didn't have much interaction with them at all. Noticed a few didn't say good morning, or greet you when you returned. The rooms and decor are inn-like, but could use an update. Carpets are a bit worn. Wi-fi strength okay, but you have to repeatedly log back in. The breakfast was included but very disappointing. Continental served in the attached Irish pub. Lucky Charms (Irish, we figured) was the only option for cereal. (??!!) A true breakfast would elevate the experience greatly. The freshly-baked, all-you-can-want cookies are excellent and a nice touch. The $16/night parking thing is way overpriced for St. Louis. Will we return? Probably not unless it gets a refit and adds a better breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank piperdoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you for your review.

We sincerely appreciate our guests feedback and address all issues immediately.

We are working towards getting an uplift for all of the guest rooms. To date we have painted, resurfaced our tubs, updated a few other items in the rooms. There is no date set for the carpets and other uplifts but this is in the near future.

As for the breakfast we apologize for your experience. We do offer a rotating hot item daily as well as two varieties of cereal as well as oatmeal. Hardboiled eggs, granola bars, yogurt, smoothies, fresh fruit tray, freshly baked pastries that we bake in house, two juices, milk, coffee and hot tea. We will look into why these items are not being kept stocked on the breakfast bar.

We again apologize for not providing the best experience possible and all items will be addressed immediately.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

Obviously a repeat visit for several of the guests--my wife and I now count ourselves among those who will return often. (Be alert to no elevators and steep narrow stairs for the upper floors.) An Irish Bar is located on the property and is the location for a daily complimentary breakfast. The location in the central business district of Clayton, MO is ideal for shopping and dining.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you for posting your review.

We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and will be back to stay with us again.

The hotel is centrally located with tons of shops, restaurants and things to do. We are just minutes from downtown as well as the county. The St. Louis Zoo and Arch are just minutes from the hotel and there is all the shopping a heart could desire.

We appreciate your review and hope to see you soon.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Just spent three nights here while visiting Washington Univ. Nice location, walkable area with restaurants, nice area park (Shaw), easy drive to airport. As expected in a small historic property, rooms are on the small side, walls are thin, floors creak. Amenities were nice, complimentary bottled water and chocolates in room, cookies at desk in afternoon. Staff very friendly. Attached Irish pub was nice to duck into after a long day, and in the morning they offer a comp. continental breakfast. It was the usual fare of breads, cereal, yogurt, juice and coffee. Pretty courtyard in back with tables to enjoy your all day free coffee and tea. Parking was in a lot across the street, for a daily fee with in & out. We had one pretty noisy night--there was a group (wedding party?) staying at the inn and they were loud, despite an 11 PM call to the front desk. Overall it was great for us and we will stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your feedback.

Its only with our guests input that we can continue to grow and provide our guests with not only the experience they expect but deserve.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton
0.2 mi away
Clayton Plaza Hotel
Clayton Plaza Hotel
#3 of 5 in Clayton
962 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Clayton / St Louis - Galleria Area
2.2 mi away
The Cheshire
The Cheshire
#43 of 121 in Saint Louis
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis
0.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis
4.1 mi away
The Chase Park Plaza
The Chase Park Plaza
#35 of 121 in Saint Louis
1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Gables Inn

Property: Seven Gables Inn
Address: 26 N Meramec Ave, Clayton, Saint Louis, MO 63105-3859
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Clayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Seven Gables Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Seven Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
7 Gables Inn
Seven Gables Hotel Clayton
Seven Gables Saint Louis
Seven Gables Inn Saint Louis/Clayton, MO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing