We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty rooms, not worth price”
Review of Seven Gables Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Seven Gables Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Leawood, Kansas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Dirty rooms, not worth price”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Dirty, stained sheets, stained bed skirt, comforter hidden between two sheets was deplorable and room very dusty, Although the desk clerk was lovely and tried to accommodate us with a first floor room as traveling with my senior Mother and the fact that they DO NOT have an elevator.
Not a place for those with mobility issues.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, 14 October 2014
Thank you for your review.

We take all reviews very seriously. We apologize that the room was not up to our standards or yours and this will be addressed with the team.

Its only with our guests reviews that we can continue to improve and provide our guests with not only what they expect but what they deserve.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    109
    27
    25
    21
See reviews for
81
140
39
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brenham, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

My family descended on Seven Gables as our accommodations for my daughter's wedding. The staff could not have been more helpful or understanding. We occupied 16 of the hotel's 32 rooms for the weekend, and several of us extended our stay both before and after the weekend. The valet service was exceptional, both with taking care of our vehicles, coming and going, in a very timely fashion, as well as assisting with our luggage and other belongings between our cars to our rooms. And everyone loved their rooms! I garnered many kudos from my family for the selection of hotel. The beautifully cared for courtyard served as our gathering place, and the hotel and restaurant personnel were fantastically understanding and helpful, as we were often taking up quite a few tables there. My wife hosted a brunch in one of the meeting spaces for the ladies in the wedding party, and reported that several of her guests, as well as she, thought the quiche, prepared by the hotel's resident chef, was the best they had ever had! Being in the center of Clayton, we were surrounded by fantastic restaurants and shopping within easy walking distance, though we didn't have a lot of time for shopping. I cannot remember the names of all the staff members who assisted us at one point or another, but valets Stuart, Vince and Carl were fantastic, as was Nick from the restaurant, who kept our glasses full in the courtyard. Stacey's staff were all very helpful. In all, my only criticism could be of the breakfast, but that was only because I was a guest for five nights, and got a little bored with the offerings.

Room Tip: All of the larger rooms are equipped with the standard air conditioning plus a window unit... it can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for taking time to post a review.

We are thrilled you selected Seven Gables Inn to host such an important event in your life.

Its only with our guests reviews that we can continue to improve and provide our guests with not only what they expect but deserve.

Again, thank you for your post and we hope to see you again in the future.

Warn regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Hidden Gem-walking distance to the Metro . Charming Hotel!
Stayed in the Hawthorne Master Suite.
If you can walk up 3 flights it's worth it.
Overall lovely experience except for some mold growing in the shower stall.
The large jacuzzi tub was a plus.
Continental breakfast was good-but the price for this suite is excessive!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KyHomeseller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for posting your review.

We are thrilled we could be apart of such a special occasion.

Thank you again for posting your review and we hope to see you again in the future.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Charles, Missouri
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

While working withb the USO of Missouri, we held one of biggest annual (and most formal) functions here. The hotel was most gracious when it came to setting up the different areas we needed for registration and a silent auction. The banquet area was beautiful and the food fantastic! Even the sandwiches and snacks that they prepared for the volunteers were great. For great hospitality, excellent service and fantastic food they couldn't be beat. I did not stay in the hotel, but several of our guests did and loved it!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank KCorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for taking time to post your review.

We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and we were able to provide you with the experience not only that you expected but deserved.

Thank you for your post and we hope to see you again in the future.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2014

My wife and I were very excited to stay at a nice boutique hotel in the heart of Clayton, MO for a conference that she was attending down the street. Upon arrival, we found parking difficult, and it appeared the only option was to valet or pay for street parking. As all the parking in front of the hotel was taken, there was not even a place to drop off our things and register. We ended up circling the block and dropping our car in an alley adjacent to the hotel before dropping the keys off to the valet when he returned from parking another car.

The front desk was a single desk with one woman, Dominique, helping all arriving guests and answering the phone. We were third in line, so it took about 10 minutes or so with us holding our belongings before we could register. Dominique was very pleasant, used our last name when speaking to us and offered us cookies which was all very good.

When we got to our room, we were quite disappointed. The carpets were still wet from being cleaned earlier in the day, so much so we couldn't even take our shoes off, and there was a stain on one of the bed sheets, and another on one of the pillows. Good thing there are two beds and we are only going to need one tonight.

When we called down to the front desk about our concern regarding the carpet, Stacy came up with solution of a fan in the room. My wife responded asking if another room was available. She said she would look into it. A couple moments later, a man came up to our room and did not identify himself either at the door or once entering the room with a fan. He asked which way we wanted the fan pointed. I told him it didn't matter, it wasn't going to solve the problem, but it would add some noise to our room.

I called back down to the front desk and got Dominique this time. I asked her about the follow-up for changing rooms, since Stacy never got back to us. Dominique said nothing else was available and was apologetic. Her solution was to move us to another hotel. I told her that was more trouble than it would be worth. She apologized again, but offered no other solution, discount, free amenity, or anything else in an effort to try to make it right with their guest.

Needless to say, it has been a very disappointing stay so far. It's a shame the customer service is lacking because the hotel is quite charming. I'm glad we are only here one night.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for posting your review.

We are disappointed we did not meet your expectations during your stay.

Last week we did have our carpets cleaned and unfortunately they were not 100% dry when guests starting checking in and we were unable to relocate any guests due to the fact that we were sold out.

We did provide fans in the rooms to help the carpets dry quicker and we did offer to relocate any guest wanting to leave at our expense as well as discounted parking for everyone in the hotel for this particular night.

It is our goal to provide the best customer service and typically don't have many dissatisfied guests when it comes to customer service so we are sincerely apologetic that we were not able to resolve your dissatisfaction.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Although I live in St. Louis, I've used this property for two consecutive years for our corporate meeting. The staff is fabulous, easy to work with. The rooms are spacious, tasteful and charming with truly a boutique hotel feel. They go above and beyond! If you have business in the Clayton area- you do not need a car! Walking distance to every building in Clayton! For locals, great for a weekend getaway. I travel on a regular basis and this hotel feels like home. I love to visit the hotel and can't wait to reaturn. Stay here... you'll really be glad that you did. (Female travelers, you'll feel very comfortable at this hotel- it's just wonderful! )

Room Tip: No elevators- might suggest a room on the 1st or 2nd floors. No view from rooms for the most part...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank STLCarnivalGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for taking time to post your review.

We are thrilled you continue to stay at the Seven Gables and fell like you are at your home away from home.

We truly take pride in our jobs and always try to go the extra step to ensure our guests feel welcome.

Thank you for your review and we look forward to your continued business and loyalty.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blandinsville, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Our son's wedding reception was held here; we couldn't have asked for a better location. The Molly Darcy was a great venue for the rehearsal dinner, and the food choices were great and fit our tastes. The guests were impressed with the charming rooms, extremely comfortable beds, and attentive staff. The dining rooms lovely, and the courtyard made the perfect dance location. If you are looking for a reception venue for 100 or so people, this is the place. We couldn't have been happier!

Room Tip: Older visitors may want to select lower floors, as there is no elevator since it is a 3-floor hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for posting a review.

We are thrilled we could be apart of such an important event in your lives!

The beauty of SGI is that we don't offer your typical ballrooms and hotel space, we are very unique with the spaces we have and the Courtyard is absolutely gorgeous.

Thank you again for your kind review and we hope to see you again when you are back in St. Louis.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton
0.2 mi away
Clayton Plaza Hotel
Clayton Plaza Hotel
#3 of 5 in Clayton
946 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Cheshire
The Cheshire
#40 of 120 in Saint Louis
906 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Clayton / St Louis - Galleria Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis
4.1 mi away
The Chase Park Plaza
The Chase Park Plaza
#35 of 120 in Saint Louis
1,093 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Gables Inn

Property: Seven Gables Inn
Address: 26 N Meramec Ave, Clayton, Saint Louis, MO 63105-3859
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Clayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Seven Gables Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Seven Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
7 Gables Inn
Seven Gables Hotel Clayton
Seven Gables Saint Louis
Seven Gables Inn Saint Louis/Clayton, MO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing