We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All First Watches are not equal.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of First Watch

First Watch
Ranked #10 of 68 Restaurants in Clayton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$10
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: First Watch specializes in delicious creations freshly-prepared to order. Their fresh, award-winning Breakfast, Brunch and Lunch dishes are made using only the best ingredients without the use of heat lamps or deep fryers. The best part is their creative menu features traditional favorites like omelets, pancakes, salads and sandwiches.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
104 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“All First Watches are not equal.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

If you are going to First Watch, make the effort to go to the one on S. Kirkwood Road. All First Watch restaurants are not equal. S. Kirkwood is excellent. However, Webster Groves and also Des Peres were a huge disappointment after becoming accustomed to the quality and service of Kirkwood.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ytteba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cari T, Guest Relations Manager at First Watch, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
ytteba - Thank you for all your visits! You should always expect the same high standards when you are with us, regardless of the location, so your comments will be addressed with all of the locations you mention here. We hope you continue to dine with us at all of our locations!

Cari, First Watch Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    25
    3
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
283 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Popular breakfast venue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Very popular breakfast restaurant serving all the standard breakfast fare plus some interesting variations on eggs and hash. Excellent fresh coffee served in a Themos jug, so no chasing the waitress for a refill.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Roadwarrior1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cari T, Guest Relations Manager at First Watch, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Roadwarrior1000 - Happy to hear you enjoy our unique food items and plentiful coffee. We hope to see you back for another tasty meal soon!

Cari, First Watch Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, IL
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Every time we see a FirstWatch - we eat there!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Breakfast is so wonderful at FirstWatch - every time we see one we make sure to eat! Great service, good value, great food.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AppleDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cari T, Guest Relations Manager at First Watch, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you, AppleDawn! We love that you always stop in when you see a First Watch! We can't wait to have you back again.

Cari, First Watch Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
220 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

This place is practically ideal in terms of its location and convenience. I meet one of my best friends for breakfast or lunch fortnightly and have never been disappointed. Their breakfasts are among the best in St. Louis and I recommend it highly.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ready314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cari T, Guest Relations Manager at First Watch, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
ready314 - We are honored to be a regular meeting spot for you and your close friend! It is great to know our amazing breakfast and lunch items keep you coming back. We look forward to your next visit!

Cari, First Watch Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
189 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Poor service and needs a good clenaing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Visited after reading reviews. Maybe we hit a bad day. The table we sat down at was sticky, the food was not hot, but warm and we never saw our server once we got our food.

In addition, when checking out the credit card machine was processing so slowly it took forever. The cashier tried to say it was a bad day for technology, but the person in front of me said its like that every time they visit.

Not returning - over-priced, poor service and average food for a high price.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank boonutsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cari T, Guest Relations Manager at First Watch, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
boonutsmom - Our sincere apologies for the experience you describe here. It is very upsetting to know we failed to exceed your expectations. The atmosphere, food and service you describe here does not meet our high standards and what you should expect from us, so your comments will be taken very serious.

Cari, First Watch Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed First Watch also viewed

 
Clayton, Saint Louis
Clayton, Saint Louis
 
Clayton, Saint Louis
Clayton, Saint Louis
 

Been to First Watch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing