We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Favorite St. Louis Bistro”
Review of Coastal Bistro & Bar - CLOSED

Coastal Bistro & Bar
Price range: US$30 - US$31
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Forsyth
Description: There is something truly special about a neighborhood restaurant. It’s the kind of place you can wander into casually for a glass of wine, or meet a friend for leisurely lunch, tucked away at a corner table for hours. That is just what we’re striving for at the new Coastal Bistro & Bar.Coastal Bistro & Bar is inspired by the culinary tastes of the East Coast, West Coast, and Gulf Coast. Whether you’re looking to nosh on a few different items or enjoy a full meal, we’re certain you’ll quickly find your favorites on our menu.We look forward to serving you at Coastal Bistro & Bar!
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“My Favorite St. Louis Bistro”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Enough cannot be said about this beautifully decorated property. One of the few female-owned/operated restaurants in St. Louis has a lovely atmosphere and delicious food. The biscuits served in paper bags with honey butter before each meal are scrumptious. The menu is heavy on sea-food, but I have yet to try a bad dish at this place. Excellent for lunch or dinner.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sasha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    12
    3
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Happy Hour!”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Cute little restaurant in downtown Clayton. Happy hour was great on Friday night. Interesting and delicious cocktails for $5 until 6:30! We stayed for dinner and it was also wonderful. A bit on the expensive side (check out the menu online) if you come for happy hour and stay for dinner...and order the dessert:) We had a few of the specials and they were yummy.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lini04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, IN
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I wish I could give it a 0.”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We saw good reviews so decided to try it. When we walked in I notices a faint smell. When we were seated it became even stronger. It was a rancid smell kind if like vinegar. I had the lobster BLT and my husband had the fish tacos. The tacos were bland and the tortillas were nasty an serve with plain cabbage on them. The lobster seemed to be imitation. It was definitely not even close to fresh or even frozen lobster. We also had the clam chowder which looked like it was from a can. The waiter was nice but through our whole meal kept covering his nose and making noise like he was going to gag. He must not have liked the smell either. He kept offering these biscuits that were lab and burnt. They seemed like plain, old Pillsbury biscuits, but harder. When we were about to leave he asked if we would like our iced tea in a coffee cup because they didn't have plastic to-go cups. My husband jokingly said, "you mean we can't just take it in this glass cup?" The waiter then told us to take it with us and he would say he broke it. We then signed for our card and he brought back a bag and said to take some biscuits to go, as he poured our tea into a coffee cup. We took it just to be nice and when we got to our car, we opened it and it was a glass. Even worse, it was dirty! This was a weird experience with nasty food!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KelseyCrockett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Kentucky
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Poor Service”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I had lunch here with two colleagues to celebrate an important milestone. When we approached the host stand she said party of two? Another gentlemen in the party said "no" there are three of us. As another gentlemen walked in she implied "oh" party of three.

This was very rude and had it not been for the special occassion we would have left the restaurant immediately. Will never eat at this establishment again!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HungryGirl0919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food, poor service, avoid the oyster shooters”
Reviewed 22 December 2013

The server must of been new or uncomfortable with her job but she was very bad at her job. However, the food was delicious but do not get any of the oyster shooters! They are so disgusting that I had to spit them back into my napkin! They fill a 2 ounce shot glass with either tequila, vodka or beer, and then add an oyster and cocktail sauce to throw back - absolutely disgusting. They are only $3 put save your money!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Iris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coastal Bistro & Bar also viewed

 
Clayton, Saint Louis
Clayton, Saint Louis
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing