We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food but be prepared for slow service”
Review of De Mun Oyster Bar

De Mun Oyster Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
De Mun Oyster Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #38 of 69 Restaurants in Clayton
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Paducah, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Great food but be prepared for slow service”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

My family and I found De Mun Oyster Bar on a reservation booking website and it was listed as a neighborhood gem. They fly their seafood in fresh daily and specialize in west coast oysters. The night we were there they were very understaffed and despite the fact that we had reservations, we still had to wait for a table. This place is tiny so that wasn't a surprise or a big deal. Once seated we did get water right away, but it was another 30 minutes before we ever got to see a menu. We seriously considered leaving. The food once we got it was great. It was nice to get to try a variety of oysters and their chef did a great job with the entrees. I ordered the cioppino which is a seafood stew. It was tasty, but when it was brought out the server did not bring a spoon. I finally got a spoon and asked for some bread to go with my meal. By the time I got some bread I was nearly finished. If you are not in a hurry are are out near the zoo, give them a try.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kentucky_Kat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    11
    6
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Rude management”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Oyster chowder was best ever had, including east coast restaurants, Waiter was friendly and jovial. That is the end of the good news. The manager who greeted us at the door was rude; asked if we had reservations; laughable moment since there were two tables of 6 and 4 respectively dining. All other tables were empty. Our party of two was told we could sit at the bar and order from the full menu. When we left one hour later, one of the three tables for two were seated. Where were the guests who were going to enjoy the comfortable chairs and dinner table? We left with poor first impression and aching backs.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LindaStLouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
1 review
“Best oyster in Clayton”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We ordered 4 types of oyster, and all of them are fresh and amazing. Remember you can get coupon from Restaurant.com.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank johnsonqq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centralia, Missouri, United States
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very nice, unique”
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

Very good, but a little pricey I thought. Had oyster Caesar salad which was good. Large selection of wine, but a little over priced.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1billt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, MO
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great waiter, great food and great summer night dinner”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We dined as 3 couples and sat out on the patio. It was an unusually cool STL summer night. It is a beautiful setting on the patio and the large windows also opened wide for the people sitting inside to have an almost similar patio experience. We had a tremendous waiter, Lee. He is also a sommelier and chef at the place. His fund of knowledge about the whole menu (food and drinks) was amazing and he was welcoming and attentive. The cocktails were fun and inventive. the wine prices were varied and we ended up with a $32 light crisp spanish wine at Lee's suggestion which paired very well with our seafood (after a round of cocktails). Every appetizer, small plate and entree we had was terrific. I didn't have oysters but those that did raved about them. It was definitely the best scallop in STL. The mussels and clams in garlic were tremendous. The dessert choices were only 3 but beignets and pear dish were both quite good (but not as good as the savory dishes). My only complaint for the whole eveing was structural. We sat on the side patio which had a pleasant view. However, we were near the back door to the kitchen which was used frequently and banged closed every 2 minutes. Note to restauranteur, please install a "soft close" feature. It was very distracting.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan-STL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed De Mun Oyster Bar also viewed

 
Clayton, Saint Louis
 

Been to De Mun Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing