We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, Decent Food, Okay Service”
Review of C.J. Muggs

C.J. Muggs
Ranked #20 of 69 Restaurants in Clayton
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Jackson, Mississippi
Level 6 Contributor
500 reviews
320 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Convenient, Decent Food, Okay Service”
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Snowed in at my hotel, CJ Muggs was the most convenient restaurant within walking distance. The atmosphere is great: a true pub. The service from our host and the runners was great, but our actual server was not so wonderful. As for the food, it was decent. I had a very weird salisbury steak and mushroom soup, but an absolutely delicious sandwich and amazing fries! Dessert left a lot to be desired.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    19
    20
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Okay convenient place”
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Was near our hotel and we ate lunch a couple times there. 1st was on weekday when busy with local office workers. Sandwiches and chicken fingers were normal restaurant fare in that they were filling buy nothing to rave about. Service was nice. Liked sitting outside and watching people go by.
2nd time was a Sunday with only a few customers at the bar. Initially treated like we were a pain in the rear to hostess and waitstaff. Our salads were great big, though rather bland. Again, filled us up so serviceable in that regard. Waitress attitude did gradually improve for some reason and she was much nicer and more helpful.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank 1CoolHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very Good”
Reviewed 24 May 2012

My wife and I shared the Muffaleta and it was Delicious. Also had the chicken fingers and they had some killing wing dipping sauce. Very reasonably priced.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank rtwalka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice Old Webster Staple”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Always a nice meal and good service at this staple of Old Webster Groves

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fair”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I was staying at a nearby hotel for a conference and walked to C.J. Muggs for dinner. It was a Friday during Lent, so I wanted some seafood. I opted for their "specialty," beer sauteed shrimp and rice. It consisted of 5 or 6 small-medium shrimp with a spoonful of rice and a couple of pieces of melba-type toast, for $10.00. The price was reasonable (?), but not really for what I got. Also, the spices were not to my liking, although that, of course, is personal preference. At least the beer was cold. If I went back I'd definitely try something else.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed C.J. Muggs also viewed

Clayton, Saint Louis
Clayton, Saint Louis
 

Been to C.J. Muggs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing