We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A WEE BIT BETTER THAN 'AVERAGE'”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The property and rooms have a sort of industrial hotel feel. Everything appears to be in good condition.The rooms have adequate space and storage.The staff are friendly enough. The lobby is actually on the 3rd floor. The wifi works fine. The in room coffee maker uses Starbucks coffee/tea products. There are several dining options within walking distance of the hotel. I stayed on a weekend evening and there were plenty of dogs and kids sports groups staying at the hotel. Exiting the garage had the feel of heading down a rabbit hole.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JRTheChief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RonJuneman, General Manager at Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thank you for mentioning the friendliness of our Associates and our robust Wi-Fi services. We will work a little harder so when you visit us again we will be able to earn your 4th and 5th star ratings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (752)
There are newer reviews for Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 753 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

This is our second stay here in the past year. It will likely be our last. We bring a large swim team to this hotel each year for a big meet. We will be suggesting to our club a different "team hotel" in the future.

I'm not sure where to start. Frankly, we have stayed in much cleaner Motels. The elevators for this 16 floor hotel are old and slow. They can not take the capacity. You are basically better off taking the stairs all the time or plan on waiting 8-12 minutes. Our ice bucket had a several day old science experiment in it that the cleaning staff never found. This doesn't surprise us based on the dirty conditions in the room. The blankets were filthy and probably had not been cleaned in months. Sheets and comforters were clean, but that doesn't excuse the yellow dirty condition of the blankets. There were nasty stains on curtains and dirt marks on the mangled bed skirts.

There is no fridge in the rooms. Apparently you have to request or pay for one. Also, they charge $10 a day for wifi. Seriously, who is still charging for wifi...even when you are a Starwood member. The alarm clock in the room did not work, could not be set and was missing knobs.

Long story short, this place is a dump. It had declined in a severe way over the past 12 months. Even with the group/team discount, this place is way over priced for what you get.

I forgot to mention that there was a fire in their kitchen yesterday and there will be no food service for the weekend. Unfortunately, we have two nights here.

Stayed: June 2014
3  Thank TheStolleFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RonJuneman, General Manager at Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

I certainly appreciate you taking the time to write me concerning your recent stay at our hotel.

While feedback from our guests is always welcome and of significant value, I was disturbed by our failure to meet the high standards we strive to maintain and of which you have every right to expect. We apologize for your disappointment.

I am reaching out to you as an SPG member and inviting you to contact me directly so that I may have the opportunity to address your concerns directly. I can be reached at 314.678.2320 or ron.juneman@sheratonclayton.com.

Thank you again for sharing your thoughts with us. We look forward to continuing our dialogue with you.

Sincerely,

Ron Juneman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I spent 2 nights at this hotel for business. Small bathroom but clean. The only issue I had with this hotel is the elevator. You won't know if an elevator is heading up or down from the outside before you enter. If you're in a hurry you may be in a car to the opposite direction.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank koheve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RonJuneman, General Manager at Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Thank you for your recent comment designating us as a good business hotel. We were disappointed to learn the elevators were not working properly during your visit.

We have reached out to your elevator service provider and they are researching how to operate the elevators in a more efficient manner.

Again, thank you for taking the time to write. I sincerely hope that you will allow us another opportunity to serve you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The room we booked was a one bedroom suite. i was staying with my wife and daughter. When i made the reservation I was assured that the pullout sofa was comfortable. When we checked in the room was dirty and the pullout was not only uncomfortable but stained and filthy.
the only saving grace was the front desk staff tried to help but the facility is in need of upgrading.
I would not stay there again and I am surprised at the condition of this Sheraton property.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wayne09toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RonJuneman, General Manager at Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Thank you for your posting. I was quite disturbed to read about the condition of your room when you recently stayed at our hotel. There is simply no excuse for the failures on our part. It appears that you did catch us at our worst, and for that I deeply apologize.

I am confident that when you visit us again you will find the conditions have improved.

Thank you again for your comments. I sincerely hope that you will allow us another opportunity to demonstrate our true level of hospitality and interest in serving you properly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The Sheraton Clayton was a fine choice for an overnight business trip. There was nothing wrong with it (food - lunch and dinner - was average at best) but nothing particularly memorable either. They did easily grant me a (slightly) late checkout, which was appreciated.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RonJuneman, General Manager at Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write us concerning your recent visit to our hotel.

While we appreciate your designation as fine hotel, we will work hard during your next visit to make it a memorable experience so we may earn a 4 or 5 star rating.

Thank you for your recent visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Hotel staff was pleasant and invested in the highest level of service and performance. All areas from front desk to concierge to banquet were on top of their game and dedicated to providing the best customer care. A great overall experience. Good job.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kesslermo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RonJuneman, General Manager at Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write about the wedding weekend recently held at the Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel.

We work very hard to make those once in a life time experiences something special to remember.

We wish the bride and groom a long, healthy and prosperous life together.

Please let us know when we may be your host in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Had a bad experience upon check-in. Room was inspected by desk clerk and problem quickly fixed. good location and convenient to restaurants and shopping. Was just OK and thought that the rates were a little high for the hotel

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hogsnout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RonJuneman, General Manager at Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write about your Sheraton Clayton experience.

We were delighted to learn that our Front Desk Associate was quick to respond to your need when you were not satisfied with your room.

Many guests do enjoy our location for the shopping and restaurants in Clayton or at the Galleria Mall.

We look forward to being your host in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton
Clayton Plaza Hotel
#3 of 5 in Clayton
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Cheshire
#43 of 121 in Saint Louis
944 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis

Address: 7730 Bonhomme Ave, Clayton, Saint Louis, MO 63105-1909
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Clayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Price Range: £109 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis in bustling downtown Clayton. Experience the fresh new look of our recently renovated guest rooms and meeting spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis Saint Louis, MO
Clayton Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing