We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Host a Party”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clayton Plaza Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We had a party this weekend and everything was great! The food was delicious! Jamal was our manager for the evening and it could not have been smoother. The guests had a wonderful time. We had two excellent servers: Elvir and Elizabeth. Mike the bartender remembered everyone's drink orders and names. Mike and Grady were the doormen that were so helpful and kind. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to have a party or meeting. The rooms were spacious and clean. The beds were nice. Brenda helped us set up our party weekend and facilitated our event.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoJoB428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (974)
There are newer reviews for Clayton Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

623 - 629 of 974 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

I LOVE this place. The breakfast, rooms, staff. Everything is always wonderful and up to my expectation. People here are always so friendly. I stay in Clayton quite frequently and I would always choose this hotel over any others. I would defiantly like to point out their staff though. The had a server who was a young male named tim and he was absolutely great and respectful. I wouldn't think of giving this hotel anything but five stars!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

It was refreshing to find in the Crowne Plaza St. Louis a hotel that worked well in every respect encountered. Every aspect of the most basic room I had was both comfortable and functional. The staff was upbeat and helpful. The free breakfast was varied and plentiful, even including the option for omlettes and waffles prepared according to personal preferences. Parking is free in a garage connected to the hotel by a covered ramp. The location in Clayton is accessible to both the central city and the western suburbs. I found this a top notch operation. In addition to the virtues of the hotel, it might be noted that it came to my attention as part of a Priceline package, with air travel; which brought about super value for the money.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bill350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric H, Manager at Clayton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

@Bill350 Thank you for your rave review! It was OUR pleasure to have you with us and we thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We thank you for staying with us and we look forward to having you back next time you're in our beautiful city! -Eric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

This hotel seems a bit dated and needs some deep cleaning and updating. All the different wings and elevators can be a bit confusing. The breakfast buffet was horrible but I hear the omelets made to order were quite good. Bed was comfortable. Wifi and cable worked as it should. Towels were decent size.

The staff was super friendly and patient.

The best feature of this hotel is the pool which is an indoor outdoor pool all in one. Great fun! And, the game room connected to the pool room is free!

There are a lot of places to stay in St. Louis. I'll stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 13SS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric H, Manager at Clayton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Thank you for your feedback @13SS! I know things can be a bit confusing, but we have been sure to put PLENTY of directional signs all over the hotel to help with that. I do apologize if that had an effect on your stay though. Breakfast is usually a favorite and keeps guests coming back to us - but I know everyone is different and I'm sorry you didn't get to have an omelet made. I am very pleased to know the staff were "super friendly" - I thank you so much for that and I'm also glad you enjoyed the pool. I hope our value will bring you back to us next time you're in our neighborhood and thank you for staying!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I have stayed in Clayton a number of times at a competitor and decided to try this hotel as it was convenient to the courthouse. It is an interesting combination of old world feel and current conveniences. I enjoyed the unique structure-I think the hotel may comprise 3 different buildings if you include the parking building-all connected. The room was rather small, but updated and all I needed. The staff was, without exception, helpful and pleasant and is a differentiator for this hotel. Free breakfast included a chef who would make you a personal waffle or omelet. An exceptional value for the Clayton area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric H, Manager at Clayton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Thank you for the great review, Jeff! We are so pleased to know we passed the test! Yes, you literally cannot get any closer to the courthouse than us. The hotel does consist of three buildings - if you were to count the garage, it would actually be four and I'm glad you liked that! Most of all, I am glad you were so pleased with our staff as they truly work hard for our valued guests. They surely appreciate the recognition and I thank you on everyone's behalf for staying with us! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I stay at this hotel because the staff is awesome. Jerry the head of Corporate relations was kind friendly and personal. The morning and night staff in the concierge lounge ran the operation as if it were their own. Both Derrick and Grady at the bell stand were courteous and efficient. and Keyanna at the front desk was a true service professional. Accommodations are always nice, but the people that staff this hotel are what make it a 5 star location

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Road_rookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric H, Manager at Clayton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful review @Road_rookie! I am so proud to read reviews like this one and please be assured that I will make sure to forward your compliments to Jerry, Keyanna, Derrick & Grady - I think it is so awesome that you remember all of their names and they will be so happy to read this as well. Please come back and see us again soon, alright? We will look forward to seeing you! On behalf of us all, THANK YOU!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We were excited to stay in Clayton for one of our many trips to St. Louis. Upon check in, the lobby was very nice and the staff very friendly. Then we went to our room. Up the "silver" elevators to floor 6. I turned over one pillow on the bed and it was COVERED in mold! The other bedspread had blood and hair on it. Obviously I called for a different room. Next room, up the "gold" elevators to floor 4. Room was better but one bed still had hair on it and the bathroom (in both rooms) had a ton of hair. Ugh. It was too late for us to do something different so I cleaned it up myself. The interesting thing is that a friend was also staying at the hotel, floor six up the "gold" elevators and she said her room was fine. I personally would not roll the dice to stay again. The breakfast selection was very large but the dining area was a MESS, food all over the floor. I'm sure it's hard to keep clean with all the people but it was kind of gross to walk through. The other thing that bothered me was that the omelet area was also the bar so all the liquor was the "decor" for breakfast. It really felt like we were in a sports bar for breakfast. One last comment, I'm not sure what it going on with the toilets in this hotel but ours was the loudest I've ever heard. And then we continued all night to hear the ones around us, and not just on the other side of one wall. Above, below, all sides. My daughter kept saying "there goes another one". hee hee

Room Tip: Try to find a clean one.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 563ew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric H, Manager at Clayton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Thank you for your valuable feedback and we certainly appreciate you bringing this to our attention. I am so very sorry to hear of these issues and I want to assure you that this is highly unusual for us. I'm also sorry to hear about breakfast - that's always been a guest favorite! I'm sure if you were here on a weekend, it was probably PACKED and for that, I do apologize. The restaurant is a sports bar, so you're right - the liquor is in sight, we're sorry if that bothered you. Again, we thank you for your review and hope our value might bring you back to us again next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton
The Cheshire
#43 of 121 in Saint Louis
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
The Parkway Hotel
#29 of 121 in Saint Louis
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Plaza Hotel

Address: 7750 Carondelet Ave, Clayton, Saint Louis, MO 63105-3317 (Formerly Crowne Plaza St. Louis - Clayton Hotel)
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Clayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Price Range: £91 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clayton Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Clayton Plaza Hotel in St. Louis, just 15 minutes from Lambert St. Louis International Airport, centrally located in the heart of St. Louis's most prestigious business and residential district and within walking distance of many of St. Louis s finest restaurants, bars, boutiques, and galleries. The Clayton Plaza is conveniently surrounded by notable Forbes & Fortune 500 corporations such as Monsanto, Brown Shoe and Morgan Stanley, to name a few. Nearby attractions include Saint Louis Galleria, Washington University, Gateway Arch, Union Station, Busch Stadium (Cardinals Baseball), Edward Jones Dome (Rams Football), Savvis Center (Blues Hockey), Anheuser-Busch Brewery, Grant's Farm, Forest Park featuring St. Louis Zoo, Muny Opera, Fox Theatre, Convention Center, Casinos and Six Flags. The Clayton Plaza Hotel has recently completed a $10.5 million renovation. Come and experience the Clayton Plaza difference, pamper yourself in the spacious and relaxing guest rooms featuring the seven-layer-bed sleep amenity package and complimentary wireless high speed internet access. The Clayton Plaza boasts over 21,000 square feet of flexible meeting space including the Top of The Tower Crystal Ballroom. Stay at the Clayton Plaza Hotel and experience our consummate service and attention to detail. We deliver the Clayton Plaza promise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Clayton Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza St Louis
Crowne Plaza Clayton
Clayton Plaza Hotel Saint Louis, MO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing