We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with very elegant & grand conference rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clayton Plaza Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2014

PROS:

1. Janice & Taylor at the front were extremely friendly and helpful. You can definitely feel the "midwestern hospitality" from them. I have to give them credit for some of the fastest check ins I've seen from any hotel.

2. Lobby and conference rooms are very grand and elegant. There are chandeliers everywhere in the lobby, conference hallways, etc.

3. Breakfast buffet comes with the room and it's got really good stuff. The omelet line is always 3-4 people deep.

4. There is plenty of wheelchair accessibility everywhere compared to most hotels.

5. Hotel is in a very good location near very good restaurants and the train station are all in walking distance.

6. Concierge lounge is 2 floors and Arlisa was also very friendly and hospital to everyone.

7. Internet speeds are crazy fast. 18 Mbps download and 9 Mbps upload.

CONS:

1. There is plenty of brass everywhere in the hotel on handrails, elevators, etc but none of it is polished. Just a personal issue... most people probably won't even notice it.

2. I saw at least 3 people in the lobby that were shirtless coming from the pool. This does not bother me but some folks may not like it.

3. Parking is in a garage and the driveway up to the hotel lobby is very tight and small. The hotel is on a 40 degree hill which is weird.

4. It looks as if the Police station is across the street.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Asian_Prepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (986)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

600 - 606 of 986 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

The hotel is very convenient to Wash U. with a reasonable price. Be careful which elevator you get on, they don't allow you to get to all the rooms. It was sometimes difficult to get from one place to another (the workout room to our room). The indoor swimming pool is in the basement and is in need of some renovation. The room was very comfortable and quiet. The breakfast offered a wide variety of offerings including a made to order omelet.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Feistraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Feistraveler,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the shortfalls you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We enjoyed our 2-night stay very much. The rooms were comfortable and very clean and most importantly... Quiet. It was so nice to stay in a room where the AC/Heat system was very quiet. The staff was amazing and very attentive. Shanika helped finalize the reservation over the phone and was not only able to get us an upgrade, but adjoining rooms as well. Please thank her personally for us. We were also pleased to be greeted and offered any assistance we needed by the General Manager, Mr. Whitnah, during our "free" breakfast buffet, (which, by the way, was delicious). It did take a little navigating to find the pool, but it was worth the search. Our grandchildren loved it. Also thank the young lady at the front desk who checked us in, we think her name was Jamie. She was delightful and gave us great dining advice and coupons for our visit to the St. Louis Zoo. All-in-all, it was a great experience. Thank you!!!

Room Tip: Find hotels that do not have noisy AC/Heat units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I was very pleased with my stay at this property. The doormen were very accommodating towards myself and my family. Also, I loved the hardwood floors in my room and how spacious the rooms are. If I were in the St. Louis area again, I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank MsMagnolia85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

From the moment of pulling up to the front door after hours of driving with my wife of 34 years with two of our grand daughters the experience was magical, a real cherry on the top of a wonderful vacation, the door man Derek took great care of our luggage and car welcomed us as if we had known each other for years ,and then there was Janice at the front desk treating us like VIP's and so friendly and personable and informative are Grandaughters just loved her and still talk about her, Derek set us up in our suite making sure it was all we expected then left us with all kinds of info on things to do that evening,after a relaxing swim in the pool and winding down from our travels we chose to eat at the hotel restaurant for dinner and it was fabulous taking the advise from Cris our waiter on our selections from the menu dinner was a wonderful experience five star dinning without getting all dressed up and driving around town,Cris boxed up our deserts and we took them back to our room and finished them off in bed watching TV then drifting off to sleep in the extremely comfortable beds and that was not the end of the wonderful stay the breakfast was fantastic with a visit by the owner who was very compasisionate about the service you received while you were there and not to mention interesting to talk to Pete we will be back thanks for the hospitalllity you have a customer for life thanks again. Lisa and James from Arkansas love this place.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Arkansasswabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The staff was very nice and helpful. The location of this property is great, close to lots of restaurants and Shaw Park. The pool was pretty nice and had a dry sauna and a free arcade, which my son loved. The free breakfast buffet was pretty good, but not outstanding. The building could definitely use some updates, especially the hallways.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TGR222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear TGR222,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving feedback about our hotel. It is pleasing to know that our location and level of service received worked suitably for your needs. However, I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your overall experience with us due to the condition of the hotel. Rest assured, your review will be forwarded to management to consider for upgrades needed. I appreciate you letting us know about these unsatisfactory circumstances as this is our best means of improving our efforts.

Sincerely,

Charisse V
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This hotel was a perfect fit for our family trip! Nice clean rooms, comfortable beds, great breakfast buffet and helpful friendly staff. Just outside of downtown but close to anything a family needs. Only 2 blocks to metro link and the shuttle is very accommodating too. Will def stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALICIA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton
The Cheshire
#47 of 122 in Saint Louis
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark
The Hotel Majestic St. Louis
#76 of 122 in Saint Louis
842 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Plaza Hotel

Address: 7750 Carondelet Ave, Clayton, Saint Louis, MO 63105-3317 (Formerly Crowne Plaza St. Louis - Clayton Hotel)
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Clayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Price Range: £89 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clayton Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Clayton Plaza Hotel in St. Louis, just 15 minutes from Lambert St. Louis International Airport, centrally located in the heart of St. Louis's most prestigious business and residential district and within walking distance of many of St. Louis s finest restaurants, bars, boutiques, and galleries. The Clayton Plaza is conveniently surrounded by notable Forbes & Fortune 500 corporations such as Monsanto, Brown Shoe and Morgan Stanley, to name a few. Nearby attractions include Saint Louis Galleria, Washington University, Gateway Arch, Union Station, Busch Stadium (Cardinals Baseball), Edward Jones Dome (Rams Football), Savvis Center (Blues Hockey), Anheuser-Busch Brewery, Grant's Farm, Forest Park featuring St. Louis Zoo, Muny Opera, Fox Theatre, Convention Center, Casinos and Six Flags. The Clayton Plaza Hotel has recently completed a $10.5 million renovation. Come and experience the Clayton Plaza difference, pamper yourself in the spacious and relaxing guest rooms featuring the seven-layer-bed sleep amenity package and complimentary wireless high speed internet access. The Clayton Plaza boasts over 21,000 square feet of flexible meeting space including the Top of The Tower Crystal Ballroom. Stay at the Clayton Plaza Hotel and experience our consummate service and attention to detail. We deliver the Clayton Plaza promise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Clayton Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza St Louis
Crowne Plaza Clayton
Clayton Plaza Hotel Saint Louis, MO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing