We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clayton Plaza Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Certificate of Excellence
Beavercreek, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
227 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This hotel is in a good location and is very nice. You can tell the hotel is older but it has been nicely renovated. The rooms are clean and my bed was very comfortable. I didn't try the breakfast buffet but was told it was very good and that the owner of the hotel liked to talk with the hotel guest while they were at the buffet. I got lost trying to find my room when I checked because I took the wrong elevator. There are two towers in this hotel, so be sure to find out which tower you are in. The receptionist didn't tell me this. The garage is connected to the hotel by a walkway. If you belong to the Holiday Inn Priority Club, you get access to the concierge lounge which is great. There is beer and wine in the lounge with one entree to snack on, like wings or meatballs. The hotel is very close to the St. Louis Galleria and metro stops. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCB0812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    405
    271
    134
    74
    65
See reviews for
346
161
60
237
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Traveling through St Louis. Lucky to find this hotel. Very clean. Great value. Breakfast was wonderful. Staff helpful and friendly. We were looking for a reasonably priced hotel with good amenities that was convenient to Maplewood and Wash U. This hotel offers all that.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lakeguy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, IA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I spent two nights in Clayton, MO at the Crowne Plaza. It is an older stately looking hotel with a lot of character. It situated in Clayton, MO which in and of itself is a wonderful little town very close to downtown St. Louis.
Everyone we encountered at the hotel was beyond friendly. The breakfast buffet was delicious and had everything imaginable. Pete Zes, the owner, came around to every table and personally welcomed everyone to the hotel. Nice touch.
We used the 5th floor lounge access which was wonderful. The first night we had free spaghetti and meatballs and free drinks. The second night it was hot snacks. The lady attendant was wonderful and recognized after the first night.

Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank livetotravel1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

PROS:

1. Janice & Taylor at the front were extremely friendly and helpful. You can definitely feel the "midwestern hospitality" from them. I have to give them credit for some of the fastest check ins I've seen from any hotel.

2. Lobby and conference rooms are very grand and elegant. There are chandeliers everywhere in the lobby, conference hallways, etc.

3. Breakfast buffet comes with the room and it's got really good stuff. The omelet line is always 3-4 people deep.

4. There is plenty of wheelchair accessibility everywhere compared to most hotels.

5. Hotel is in a very good location near very good restaurants and the train station are all in walking distance.

6. Concierge lounge is 2 floors and Arlisa was also very friendly and hospital to everyone.

7. Internet speeds are crazy fast. 18 Mbps download and 9 Mbps upload.

CONS:

1. There is plenty of brass everywhere in the hotel on handrails, elevators, etc but none of it is polished. Just a personal issue... most people probably won't even notice it.

2. I saw at least 3 people in the lobby that were shirtless coming from the pool. This does not bother me but some folks may not like it.

3. Parking is in a garage and the driveway up to the hotel lobby is very tight and small. The hotel is on a 40 degree hill which is weird.

4. It looks as if the Police station is across the street.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asian_Prepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The hotel is very convenient to Wash U. with a reasonable price. Be careful which elevator you get on, they don't allow you to get to all the rooms. It was sometimes difficult to get from one place to another (the workout room to our room). The indoor swimming pool is in the basement and is in need of some renovation. The room was very comfortable and quiet. The breakfast offered a wide variety of offerings including a made to order omelet.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Feistraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Feistraveler,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the shortfalls you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesquite, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We enjoyed our 2-night stay very much. The rooms were comfortable and very clean and most importantly... Quiet. It was so nice to stay in a room where the AC/Heat system was very quiet. The staff was amazing and very attentive. Shanika helped finalize the reservation over the phone and was not only able to get us an upgrade, but adjoining rooms as well. Please thank her personally for us. We were also pleased to be greeted and offered any assistance we needed by the General Manager, Mr. Whitnah, during our "free" breakfast buffet, (which, by the way, was delicious). It did take a little navigating to find the pool, but it was worth the search. Our grandchildren loved it. Also thank the young lady at the front desk who checked us in, we think her name was Jamie. She was delightful and gave us great dining advice and coupons for our visit to the St. Louis Zoo. All-in-all, it was a great experience. Thank you!!!

Room Tip: Find hotels that do not have noisy AC/Heat units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pearl, Mississippi
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I was very pleased with my stay at this property. The doormen were very accommodating towards myself and my family. Also, I loved the hardwood floors in my room and how spacious the rooms are. If I were in the St. Louis area again, I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank MsMagnolia85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Clayton / St Louis - Galleria Area
1.9 mi away
The Cheshire
The Cheshire
#40 of 120 in Saint Louis
908 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis
3.9 mi away
The Chase Park Plaza
The Chase Park Plaza
#35 of 120 in Saint Louis
1,093 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seven Gables Inn
Seven Gables Inn
#4 of 5 in Clayton
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Plaza Hotel

Property: Clayton Plaza Hotel
Address: 7750 Carondelet Ave, Clayton, Saint Louis, MO 63105-3317 (Formerly Crowne Plaza St. Louis - Clayton Hotel)
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Clayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clayton Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Clayton Plaza Hotel in St. Louis, just 15 minutes from Lambert St. Louis International Airport, centrally located in the heart of St. Louis's most prestigious business and residential district and within walking distance of many of St. Louis s finest restaurants, bars, boutiques, and galleries. The Clayton Plaza is conveniently surrounded by notable Forbes & Fortune 500 corporations such as Monsanto, Brown Shoe and Morgan Stanley, to name a few. Nearby attractions include Saint Louis Galleria, Washington University, Gateway Arch, Union Station, Busch Stadium (Cardinals Baseball), Edward Jones Dome (Rams Football), Savvis Center (Blues Hockey), Anheuser-Busch Brewery, Grant's Farm, Forest Park featuring St. Louis Zoo, Muny Opera, Fox Theatre, Convention Center, Casinos and Six Flags. The Clayton Plaza Hotel has recently completed a $10.5 million renovation. Come and experience the Clayton Plaza difference, pamper yourself in the spacious and relaxing guest rooms featuring the seven-layer-bed sleep amenity package and complimentary wireless high speed internet access. The Clayton Plaza boasts over 21,000 square feet of flexible meeting space including the Top of The Tower Crystal Ballroom. Stay at the Clayton Plaza Hotel and experience our consummate service and attention to detail. We deliver the Clayton Plaza promise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clayton Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza St Louis
Crowne Plaza Clayton
Clayton Plaza Hotel Saint Louis, MO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing