We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I can understand the "Ritz Lite" nickname”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Certificate of Excellence
new york, ny
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“I can understand the "Ritz Lite" nickname”
Reviewed 17 January 2012

I read in some reviews that this was considered to be a "Ritz Lite" property. I can sort of see that. The service was fantastic and the front desk clerk (I think his name was Kevin?) was outstanding. Really nice and helpful. The female attendant in the gym was also super nice. Our room was okay, but not the nicest or most modern. I think overall what I had a problem with most was that the hotel just seemed kind of shabby.. like it really needed a major overhaul. The pool really does not look as good in person as it does in the pictures- it really shows its age. There was nothing particularly wrong with the place, and like I said, all staff encounters were very pleasant, but the property did not strike me as being quite up to Ritz standards aesthetically.

Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank cpapa84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    468
    178
    72
    29
    15
See reviews for
167
172
36
288
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
91 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

I was staying in this hotel with my friend on a roadtrip and the hotel was very nice and had an old world charm. On our way to the hotel we got a flat tire and the staff at the front desk were very helpful in calling around to find different tire stores to get it fixed at and parking the car somewhere where it wouldn't need to be moved. The rooms were very spacious and well appointed and we got a very deep sleep here.

The biggest problem with the hotel is the location. It is not near downtown, with limited public transit and there is no nightlife in the area. If you are looking to use the Ritz as a base for exploring St. Louis, there are other hotels which are closer to the downtown area that I would recommend. The only other issue we had while at the hotel was that some of the guests were on the pretentious side and made some comments since my friend and I were both in our 20s. While this is no reflection on the hotel, it is indicative of the guests who stay here- slightly older and white.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott1734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
central KY
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

lovely hotel with top notch service. staff was extremely friendly and helpful. rooms are beautiful full of top quality furnishings tastefully designed. slept the best in the big comfy bed. nice swim in the morning. only complaint was $22 parking but understand the need. looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BethTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Stayed at the Ritz in Clayton while on a business trip. Very classy hotel...room was large and comfortable with a walk out balcony...the weather happened to be 70 degrees in January! So I had the balcony open the entire weekend! When I first got to my room I needed a shirt pressed so I called down to get that done and it was back to me in 10 minutes!! I was also trying to make a reservation at a sushi restaurant but was told by the restaurant that they were booked to capacity.....Kathleen, the hotel concierge, told me that she would try and then called back and said it was all taken care of!!!! Awesome! Clayton is a very nice area of St. Louis with several great restaurants (not the typical box/cookie cutter restaurants) within walking distance. Overall great stay and excellent service

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PointsAddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolina Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

We stayed for our 10 yr Anniversary and found the room to be comfortable and nice. We walked in to find chocolate covered strawberries for the occasion to be a nice touch. Brunch the next morning was good, the restaurant busy as it was a holiday weekend as well. The lobby was packed with people enjoying the band at night and save for some loud guests(not the hotel's fault!) in the hallway for a short time, it was a great stay :)

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

Can not say enough good things about the Ritz in Clayton, MO. Just finished a three day business conference at the hotel and once again had so many good experiences with staff. The accomodations are top notch and the ambience is hard to beat. My wife and I also stayed their in October for a surprise birthday trip for her and the staff put a big "!" on service. We were greeted at the front desk with a "Happy Birthday", we were greeted stepping off of the elevator with a "Happy Birthday" from staff and there was a birthday card and chocalate covered strawberries for her in the room. I always have "first class service" at the Ritz Carlton in Clayton, MO. Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st louis
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Ritz for our 9 yr wedding anniversary and had a fabulous time! We usually just stay in the city for our anniversary and my birthday for one night since we live 20 minutes away. This was our first time at the Ritz; we usually stay at the Four Seasons or the Westin. The Ritz definitely has a more traditional feel as opposed to the four seasons which hjas an ultra-modern hip vibe going on. But the decor wasn't shabby or dated;it's just more of the old world heavy wood kind of style. We checked in and were told they upgraded us from a regular room to a suite in honor of our anniversary-so nice! The room was gorgeous and big-flat screens in the livingroom and bedroom-there was a small pseudo-balcony which was nice to see how the temperature was. The bathroom was spacious and nice with separate tub/shower/commode, double sinks. We went out to dinner next door at Araka and had a nice romantic dinner and then came back to the lobby for the band. It was good and quite a few people were dancing-fun to people watch. The next morning(the bed was very comfortable) we went to the champagne brunch which was phenomenal! a must do if you've never experienced it. everything was top notch and the service was fantastic. Oh, we did go down to the work-out area and it was nice-pool was smaller than I expected. Nice changing rooms with showers-more spa like than work-out. There's an attendant on duty to help/hand out towels,too which was nice. Overall, we were very happy and will probably choose the ritz over the four seasons in the future for our little getaways...

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carriemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
#3 of 120 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
Clayton Plaza Hotel
#3 of 5 in Clayton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
The Chase Park Plaza
#31 of 120 in Saint Louis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Cheshire
#41 of 120 in Saint Louis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#8 of 120 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis
Address: 100 Carondelet Plz, Clayton, Saint Louis, MO 63105-3434
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Clayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Entranced by stunning chandeliers, graceful marble, and deep, rich woods, one immediately understands how The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis became an icon in this city dubbed "The Gateway to the West." Amid the warm ambiance of our luxury hotel, guests are transported to an elegant and refined era, one that is alive and well in this adventurous Midwestern city. Suddenly you feel inspired to linger over a martini, close a business arrangement, or just give wild abandon to the senses. Situated in the heart of Clayton, MO, which boasts a prestigious business district and affluent suburban residences, The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis is considered one of the finest luxury hotels near Downtown St. Louis. Treasured by residents for its famed Lobby Lounge featuring a martini bar with over 200 martinis and hand-rolled sushi, private cigar club, and gracious service, it is no surprise that The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis has consistently earned the distinguished Four-Star rating from Forbes Travel Guide Star Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Marriott, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton St. Louis Hotel Clayton
Ritz Saint Louis
Ritz-Carlton Saint Louis
Saint Louis Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis Saint Louis/Clayton, MO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing