We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vacation when doing business”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great vacation when doing business”
Reviewed 22 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

I stayed here in October, 2013 while working in St. Louis; the hotel was wonderful, particularly at the concierge level, and made the whole trip a vacation. The bed was comfortable, the food excellent and the staff very helpful.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank JChused
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    486
    179
    72
    30
    16
See reviews for
171
178
37
297
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
144 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Great old rooms, excellent housekeeping. nice area to walk around with decent coffee shops and eating. Car valets are efficient. My only problem was the lobby smell. Don't know if it was more smoke or musty smell. The bar and waite staff are very attentive. This hotel is very close to Airport, short drive or not a bad cab ride.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seattlebiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryn Mawr, PA
Level Contributor
417 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 357 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed here while visiting Washington University (at the very favorable University nightly rate) and found the staff helpful and the location convenient. It's not a fancy Ritz but a perfectly adequate one. Our room was directly over the highway, which concerned us at first but traffic and noise were not intrusive. Oddities: only one bathrobe in the King bed room. (We had to request another.) The restaurant was closed on Sunday night, and as most St. Louis restaurants are as well, this was inconvenient. However, the staff helped us locate a place for dinner. Finally, the bar prices included a strange $2 surcharge if one ordered a drink EITHER with ice OR without. What?!? Just add $2 to the drink prices! Also note that it can take a while to get a cab. Otherwise, this is a good choice for the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrynMawrBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
117 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

The Ritz Carlton in Clayton, near St. Louis is an outstanding hotel. The rooms are of a good size. Service is exceptional and the location is first rate. Although slightly ageing, but then so am I, the standard of the public rooms and the bedrooms is to the highest level. My only criticism would be that the foyer lounge/bar needs some further thought. In a hotel of this calibre the bar should not be a sports bar with noisy TV blaring out the current plavs. Nonetheless, I will return and expect another enjoyable time.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woollybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I either write a review if I am surprised with awesome experiences or terrible. This happens to be TERRIBLE. We confirmed our room and special requests 4 times in the two weeks before arriving. You walk into this facility, and it stinks like smoke. I asked if you can smoke there, and they said no. Lie #1 - they have a cigar bar. - Lie #2 - Room will be ready by 1:30pm. Nope. 3 pm, room ready. Was it adjoining per the request so we could be with a family member? No. There is lie #3. The fridge were were told would be in there? Lie #4. We have a 1.5 year old with us. He starts to play on the floor. First thing he hands to us? A bottle of prescription pills he found under the bed. He can only reach so far, he is toddler. So we go back down to the lobby to check on the status of the room we were suppose to get and show them the drugs our son has discovered. At that time, my wife calls to let us know he has now found a bunch of empty beer bottles also under the bed. awesome. We decided it was time to go get some lunch and let them get themselves organized. The manager swore he was going to call me and follow up, and apologize to us. whoops, there was lie #5. We had been there less then an hour. I would have packed up and left, but we were there for a family wedding. This hotel maybe is what class and elegance USED to be, but the service, lies and front desk made sure they are no longer a first class hotel, bringing down the Ritz name. Now to be fair, the door men, cleaning ladies and valets were quiet helpful. So i go out to go get some food for the family.... They give me a "map" of local restaurants and there location on the map. Lie #6 - there were only "off" by about 1/3 mile on the place i tried to get to. I did call them and ask for a restaurant suggestion, described where I was, a few blocks away and the lady had no idea how to get me anywhere. I could talk more about the lack of the crib one of my family members received, or the filthy bath tub and mold on the tub/shower door of another family member, the mold and slime on the ice machine, or the VOMIT in the bride and grooms suite, but I will let them write there own reviews if they choose. When in St. Louis, skip the Ritz and stay somewhere else unfortunately.

Room Tip: go to the Crown Plaza a couple of blocks away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Tony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville
Level Contributor
102 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

Just on the outskirts of downtown, the location is prime if you're looking for a spot in a nice area but close to a business area. The lobby is hopping most evenings with business-folks having drinks. Rooms are comfortable, although we never seemed able to get turn down, which I personally love! Housekeeping was very late in the day (3-4pm), so travelers like us have to vacate the room for cleaning. Overall, a pleasant stay.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TravelGirlNashville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We absolutely love this hotel. I am a very picky traveler and although this Ritz could use a few updates, the service is great and we always get a room upgrade to a high floor, Clayton city view. Location is perfect and it's within walking distance to many great little restaurants in Clayton (Pastaria, Crushed Red, little French cafe). The staff is super accommodating, helpful and friendly. My husband and I come over from KC at least 4 times a year and this is our regular spot. Definitely enjoy the bar with sushi for a casual night and their breakfast is the best!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TiffanyCGoddard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
#4 of 120 in Saint Louis
1,289 reviews
The Chase Park Plaza
#35 of 120 in Saint Louis
1,093 reviews
Clayton Plaza Hotel
#3 of 5 in Clayton
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#6 of 120 in Saint Louis
777 reviews
The Cheshire
#40 of 120 in Saint Louis
908 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis
Address: 100 Carondelet Plz, Clayton, Saint Louis, MO 63105-3434
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Clayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Entranced by stunning chandeliers, graceful marble, and deep, rich woods, one immediately understands how The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis became an icon in this city dubbed "The Gateway to the West." Amid the warm ambiance of our luxury hotel, guests are transported to an elegant and refined era, one that is alive and well in this adventurous Midwestern city. Suddenly you feel inspired to linger over a martini, close a business arrangement, or just give wild abandon to the senses. Situated in the heart of Clayton, MO, which boasts a prestigious business district and affluent suburban residences, The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis is considered one of the finest luxury hotels near Downtown St. Louis. Treasured by residents for its famed Lobby Lounge featuring a martini bar with over 200 martinis and hand-rolled sushi, private cigar club, and gracious service, it is no surprise that The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis has consistently earned the distinguished Four-Star rating from Forbes Travel Guide Star Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Ebookers, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton St. Louis Hotel Clayton
Ritz Saint Louis
Ritz-Carlton Saint Louis
Saint Louis Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis Saint Louis/Clayton, MO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing