We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend at The Ritz...A Great One!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I had made reservations at this hotel before reading the reviews. I was a bit anxious after reading "dated, stale smoke smell in Lobby", etc.; found none of this to be the case. did checkout the Cigar Club, and oh yes, definitely a smell of smoke. Upon arrival Saturday night, we found the lobby "ALIVE" with live music and a great dance experience. The waitress said Friday/Saturday nights provide live music. Obviously, those dancing were members of a local dance club as we felt we were watching 'Dancing with the Stars"! The hotel is beautiful, the entire staff was "top shelf". Only problem experienced was with our in-room coffee maker and it was replaced immediately. My only negative comment is in the costs of beverages in the lobby...$15.00 for a stem of house wine and & $5 for an iced tea....a bit excessive. Enroute home, we received a call from the hotel following up on our stay. Simply put, Great Customer Service!

Room Tip: Probably a high floor room facing the hotel front view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chiefmountaineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (907)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

637 - 643 of 907 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

We came from Europe to celebrate a friend's wedding in January and 9 months after we still recall a fantastic week-end at the Ritz Carlton in St. Louis. From the arrival until the departure we enjoyed a great stay, personalized service, delicious meal. The room-service waiters were very pleasant and professional. I wish to give a special mention to the housekeeping, not only our room was spotless but the entire hotel had a delicious perfume and the flowers were beautiful. " Bravo" as the French would say! We will soon come back!

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank EParisienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Have stayed here twice in the past year and this is a great hotel, very clean and staff was exceptional. The rooms are a good size and really had everything I needed. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Service
Thank jonathanw733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Located in a nicely rendered "new" cul de sac in Clayton, the hotel's lobby cocktail lounge is one of the liveliest evening spots in dull, lights out Clayton. Attentive service (w/ a smile), great sushi (not kidding), and tidy little bar menu. Nice big setting with tables and sofa settings. Everyone seems to congregate here for good reason.

Breakfast in the Restaurant was nicely done.

The gym is an afterthought and uninviting. The workout rooms are weirdly split by the pool in between. The pool is also a place where you would have no interest in hanging out.

While the deluxe king room was fine, with a balcony overlooking the cul de sac fountain, the room upkeep was lacking. Most offensive is that one day (out of 4 nights) I returned to a room with an unmade bed. Yikes!

I used the in room coffee maker to make tea every morning. But despite the obvious use of the tea bag, the tea was never replaced. For example, on arrival, there was green, black, and chamomile teas. I used the green the first morning and it wasn't replaced, so I was left with black and chamomile and so on.

The details are lacking.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irreverent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I stayed at the Ritz for a work conference and was pleased with the experience. I don't know a lot about the history of the hotel, but it seems quite old and Victorian. Everything is beautifully decorated and the rooms were very spacious. My room had a balcony but it was directly over the highway. The weather was so nice, I wanted to sleep with the balcony doors open but the noise was a bit intrusive, so I had to close them. The beds were comfy and they provided luxurious robes to use as well. Although the hotel did not have smoking rooms, there was a cigar club location near the lobby and the smoky/musty smell was very strong.

All staff members I encountered were very pleasant and helpful. Always willing to go out of their way to give directions or assist. They had some fruit infused water in the lobby that was quite tasty as well! The food at our conference was very good and they had a big selection of items.

I guess the term "putting on the Ritz" applies as everything is nice but VERY expensive. It is a good thing that my company picked up the tab as I would not have been able to afford to stay at the Ritz for a personal trip. Overall, very nice hotel if you have the means to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worknschoolmom23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I stayed here in October, 2013 while working in St. Louis; the hotel was wonderful, particularly at the concierge level, and made the whole trip a vacation. The bed was comfortable, the food excellent and the staff very helpful.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank JChused
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Great old rooms, excellent housekeeping. nice area to walk around with decent coffee shops and eating. Car valets are efficient. My only problem was the lobby smell. Don't know if it was more smoke or musty smell. The bar and waite staff are very attentive. This hotel is very close to Airport, short drive or not a bad cab ride.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seattlebiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
#5 of 123 in Saint Louis
1,444 reviews
The Chase Park Plaza
#35 of 123 in Saint Louis
1,178 reviews
Clayton Plaza Hotel
#3 of 5 in Clayton
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#12 of 123 in Saint Louis
835 reviews
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis

Address: 100 Carondelet Plz, Clayton, Saint Louis, MO 63105-3434
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Clayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Price Range: £205 - £352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Entranced by stunning chandeliers, graceful marble, and deep, rich woods, one immediately understands how The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis became an icon in this city dubbed "The Gateway to the West." Amid the warm ambiance of our luxury hotel, guests are transported to an elegant and refined era, one that is alive and well in this adventurous Midwestern city. Suddenly you feel inspired to linger over a martini, close a business arrangement, or just give wild abandon to the senses. Situated in the heart of Clayton, MO, which boasts a prestigious business district and affluent suburban residences, The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis is considered one of the finest luxury hotels near Downtown St. Louis. Treasured by residents for its famed Lobby Lounge featuring a martini bar with over 200 martinis and hand-rolled sushi, private cigar club, and gracious service, it is no surprise that The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis has consistently earned the distinguished Four-Star rating from Forbes Travel Guide Star Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton St. Louis Hotel Clayton
Ritz Saint Louis
Ritz-Carlton Saint Louis
Saint Louis Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis Saint Louis/Clayton, MO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing