We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WONDERFUL STAFF, GREAT LOCATION, EXCELLENT RATES!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Providence Suites

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Providence Suites
Ranked #34 of 35 Hotels in Columbia
Van Buren, MO
1 review
“WONDERFUL STAFF, GREAT LOCATION, EXCELLENT RATES!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Stayed at this hotel on March 24th of 2012 with my dad. We do not have a lot of money and most hotels in Columbia, especially the one only a short distance to downtown, are incredibly expensive. This was one of the better (and cheaper) stays we have ever had when visiting Columbia.

The rates were excellent and the room comfortable and clean. The location is great. Close enough to downtown that it was a very easy and quick drive, but, far enough away to avoid the late night drunkenness and loudness of it all and right off of I-70.

The room had all the amenities needed including a microwave, large TV, decent cable package, refrigerator, coffee maker and more. The staff was the best part of the entire stay. One staff member in particular really went above and beyond for us. Her name is Bex, she is actually one of the main reasons (besides the affordable price and location) that we will be seeking out this hotel again and again for our future trips to Columbia. She was always happy (genuinely, not as if she was forced to by her job) to help. Our coffee maker broke and thanks to Bex, we had another one delivered right to our door in a jiffy. We had numerous questions about places to eat, where to go for live music, directions from one place to another, etc... without the help of the wonderful staff like Bex, we would have been up the proverbial creek. She and the rest of the staff made it feel like home, surrounded by helpful friends and family who we knew we could always turn to with any question or issue regarding our stay, Columbia or what's going on around town on a Saturday night. We were never steered wrong and never found ourselves wanting for anything.

In summation: WONDERFULLY KNOWLEDGABLE AND HELPFUL staff, clean room, great amenities, close to downtown, right by the highway, but, with no highway sounds and was able to stay without a care in the world thanks to the extreme 'we will bend over backwards to make sure you have everything you need' staff. They even have a good sized outdoor pool too (way to cold at the time for us to play in it, though there WILL be a next time).

It's not the Ritz-Carlton, but, we sure felt like royalty the way we were treated by the staff. We are looking forward to our next visit! Thank you Bex and the rest of the staff for making our trip exceptional!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James R, General Manager at Providence Suites, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are thrilled to hear your stay was fantastic and our staff went above and beyond to make you feel at home. We will keep up the great work and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    5
    10
    10
    21
See reviews for
13
14
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Like most everyone else said, the staff was very friendly. However, that does not make up for the AWFUL hotel that this place is. I stayed in a single-bed room at the hotel for one night and it was the worst hotel experience I've ever encountered/heard of. When we got into the room, it was FILLED with the smell of smoke, we could hardly even breathe!! Even though there were signs in the room that said "no smoking" they clearly were not big enough. At least, if someone had broken the rules, the cleaning people should have tried to get the smoke out of there. We had to buy air fresheners, it was so bad. But those still didn't work. The smoke got so bad that I woke up early the next morning and puked due to the amount of smokey air i was breathing in throughout the night.
Other problems:
- The top of the door didn't shut all the way- that's how warped it was. We got bursts of cold air from the outside all night and since we were on the first floor right in the parking lot, we could hear every person that walked by that night- and let me tell you, drunk people are NOT quiet.

- There was brown stains all over the sheets and pillows, we had to buy ourselves new pillows and didn't sleep on the sheets. So nasty!

- The carpet looked like it had never been cleaned. Under our bed there were so many crumbs and pretzels, it looked like the cleaning lady shoved the dirt under there so she wouldn't have to vacuum.

-Speaking of the cleaning lady, she came to our room at 7 AM banging on the door trying to get in to clean. After we told her to come back AFTER we left, we heard her go door-to-door down the rest of the complex yelling into people's rooms at the top of her lungs.

- No Wifi, you need an ethernet cord to use the internet.

- The shower head was so low that my 5-foot frame barely fit under it.

There were SO many other things that went wrong with the hotel, this list is just to name a few. I HIGHLY HIGHLY recommend that you DON'T EVEN CONSIDER THIS HOTEL!!!! It may be super cheap, but spend a little extra money and go to a Super 8 or something, it would have been so much nicer.

Room Tip: Don't choose this hotel!!! This was the biggest dump I've ever been in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TraveLovin101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James R, General Manager at Providence Suites, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Thank you for your response. We are happy to hear the staff was friendly and attentive during your stay. I want to apologize for all of the maintenance issues with your room. We have recently been renovating the property and will be fixing the problems immediately. We thank you for your comments and will ensure we fix the problems for future stays. We hope you will give us a second chance the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Columbia hotels

Ames, Iowa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

This is literally the best stay ever. The service people were very nice and informative, the room was really cheap (1 bed is the same as 2, 45 dollars I think), rooms were super clean, and cable was provided as well as a giant tv, small microwave and fridge. Also, a standard breakfast was included the next morning.

This was a palace compared to our later stays, 80 dollars with no breakfast and slow internet.


Oh, and it's very easy to get to. Take Providence and head north. Past I70 and it will be on your right.

Room Tip: We had a room that was on the first floor, 10 steps away from the service room. It's quiet, clea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelSloth13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James R, General Manager at Providence Suites, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear your stay in our suite on the first floor was satisfactory and our staff made you feel at home. Feel free to stop in the next time you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

I have stayed in over half a dozen hotels in Columbia, Missouri and this is the one I would heartily recommend . Relatively new owners and management who are very friendly and are really working hard - great service, super value and they are people and animal friendly. Best value in town for folks with pets - plus the best free breakfast - coffee all day long - great lobby area with computer and big screen cable TV . It is close to good restaurants and bus lines plus a safe comfortable atmosphere. The difference between this hotel and some recent other hotels is night and day - you are made to feel like family.

Room Tip: just tell them what you need they do have nice handicap rooms and very nice affordable suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carolynroseg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James R, General Manager at Providence Suites, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Thank you for your review. We are glad you felt at home while you were staying at our property in our suites and that your pet could come along too! Definitely stop by and say hi the next time you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quincy, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

We stayed with a group of people. Each room had an issue.. The person at the front desk did his best to try to help out but the housekeeping staff did not show up to work that day so this poor guy was trying to do everything with no help from the manager. The beds were made but had no sheets on the. The rooms that did have sheets had dirty sheets. When i got home from my stay there, i developed a terrible skin rash and had to seek medical attention.

The rooms were dirty and needed to be updated.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 49k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

Had a pleasant experience. Staff was friendly and rooms clean.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zoeysmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James R, General Manager at Providence Suites, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear your stay met the needs of you and your family while in Columbia. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nubeena, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

I could have been severely disappointed here. But I had 20% so paid less than $40 a night. So I am not gonna complain. As a result I think we were given the smallest worst room in the complex. It was on the left hand side of the building behind the pool from the lobby. It was on the end before the back building. The size was miniscule. The beds were both against the wall on the right and left side (double beds) there was a large table the tv was on and fridge and microwave next to that. Then a open closet area next to the bathroom. Not much room to move. Quite cramped for a family with two small children. It has been recently brushed up with some paint etc. Big baddy was we returned in the afternoon to find our door left unlocked by who I assume was the housekeeping staff. Thankfully nothing was missing. Beds were not comfortable for me.... so I was up at 6am and just took advantage of the lovely breakfast area to read while the rest of the family slept. Breakfast was nice for the price. Staff were predominantly college students so there wasn't much enthusiasm. But nothing glaring considering it's just a job to get them through and not a career in hospitality. And I got a toilet plunger soon after I asked for one, which is always nice. But I had to do the plunging LOL. I think next time I need to stay in Columbia I will check out the red roof inn across the street.

Room Tip: Check your room out before you accept it.... not sure if they are all small like the one we got. But...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mariahzwind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbia hotels
2.0 mi away
Extended Stay America - Columbia - Stadium Blvd.
2.2 mi away
Ramada Columbia
Ramada Columbia
#14 of 35 in Columbia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
1.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Columbia
Comfort Suites Columbia
#9 of 35 in Columbia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Columbia
Candlewood Suites Columbia
#7 of 35 in Columbia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Executive Center - Columbia
2.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Columbia
Staybridge Suites Columbia
#18 of 35 in Columbia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Providence Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Providence Suites

Property: Providence Suites
Address: 1718 North Providence Road, Columbia, MO 65203 (Formerly Providence Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 35 Hotels in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Providence Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Choice Hotels and Booking.com so you can book your Providence Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Columbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing