We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 5 if they had parking.”
Review of The Tiger Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Tiger Hotel
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Columbia
Reviewed 9 October 2012

The hotel was really nice. The room and bathroom were clean and very comfortable. The bath tub was huge and great for soaking. The beds were comfortable and I really liked the powered blinds for the windows. The only reason I didn't give it a 5 was the parking. They have NONE! I had to make sure I was up before 8 to put money in the meter. Of course that's only on weekdays. Weekends the meters in the parking garage are free. I made sure I told them that I wasn't happy about that and they are aware of the issue and they said they are trying to work with the city.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamesSchroer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wes E, Manager at The Tiger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2012

We're so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and you'll be happy to hear that as of this week we have finally come to an agreement with the city with regards to our parking passes. We can now accommodate all our guests with parking passes or valet services in the garage directly across the street and steps from our front door.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (324)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

317 - 323 of 324 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2012 via mobile

This hotel has a lot of history behind it. Even though it has changed ownership and purpose over the years, the features of the rooms are still up to date and quite impressive. There was a wall mounted LCD tv, mini-bar, huge tub, and power window shades (controlled by a bedside switch). The attention to detail was impressive.

We had an issue with the air conditioner which the staff responded to and remedied immediately. It is located downtown - walking distance from Mizzou, and valet parking was quite affordable compared to other hotels in its class.

Mike at the front desk was informative, hospitable, and quite knowledgeable about the hotel's history. I would love to stay here again :)

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank infinityfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

The Tiger Hotel in Columbia, Missouri, is simply the best place to stay, if you want to be walking distance to the University, Downtown, and MKT Trail. The Tiger Hotel is simply the best place to stay if you want a luxurious room at a reasonable rate. (The complimentary shampoos etc. are really top notch.) The Tiger Hotel is simply the best place to stay if you want a panoramic view of the roofs of Columbia and the rolling terrain beyond. The bed was VERRRRY comfortable and the bathtub enormous. Best of all is the genuinely friendly spirit offered by the staff. I had a nameless difficulty and everyone from the clerk, to the manager, to the Big Boss himself was genuinely KIND in helping me work it out. It was not plastic corporate cheer but actual kindness. And furthermore the Vault, the in-house bar, has great drinks and the Velvet Cupcake, the in-house deli, has great food. And I am picky. A great place with a KIND staff.

Room Tip: 702 is a corner with a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012 via mobile

When my boyfriend dragged me to missouri for the Georgia game and booked the hotel himself- I was scared! The Tiger hotel exceeded my expectations!
Worst part- elevators are small and slowwww
Best part- rooms are brand new and very clean and high tech! Mini bar was fairly priced and convenient, huge rooms (plus extra side room with pull out couch and tv, iPod docks...and last but not least the bathroom! Huge shower and incredible deep jacuzzi tub! (it even dries itself when you get out!)
The customer service was great- we got a parking ticket after we misunderstood front desk and they credited out bill to pay the ticket!! I will def go back in 2014 when UGA comes to town again!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgia5487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

We stayed at The Tiger Hotel earlier this week while in town attending a concert at the Blue Note and were very impressed by the stylish interior of the huge rooms. We requested a "quiet room" since we knew from other reviews that there was construction going on and were placed on the 8th floor (construction was on the 6th floor at this time). The views overlooking downtown Columbia were gorgeous and being a few blocks walk to our concert and local bars/restaurants was fab. The room itself was very well attired with funky wallpaper and deco upholstery. The window shades were controlled by a bedside button and flexible reading lights flanked the beds. The bathroom was enormous with a deep soaking tub and good lighting. One inconvenience was that there was no ice machine so we waited awhile to have a bucket brought up to our room and despite requesting a quiet room, we were awoken to hammering around 7:45am. We are told that they open 2 floors at a time to allow construction to finish and that it should all be wrapped up by January 2013. Assuming they won't raise their prices much more (we paid $149/night), I'd recommend this as a great place to stay in Columbia once all the construction is finished.

Room Tip: Higher floors have great views & don't miss the fancy cupcake shop off the lobby!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KylieandKipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wes E, Manager at The Tiger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2012

Thank you for the review, and we're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and all the wonderful amenities we offer . We're also excited to announce that we now have five floors open and only three more to go until we reach our goal of 62 rooms. We try to keep all the construction to a minimum of two floors below anything that is open and we have now scheduled all construction to start no earlier then 9am.

We are on track to have all 8 floors fully open by Christmas 2012!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

I am so glad The Tiger Hotel was recently renovated and opened. It isa breath of fresh air to Columbia MO and Mizzou parents and fans!!!!! It claims to be a 4- star hotel, and I feel like it pretty much is. In a town of Hampton Inns, Drury Inn, and other hotels just like them, we finally have a choice. The Tiger has room service until midnight (the menu is very limited, but it is ok enough), the rooms are spacious. There are Molten Brown products in the bathroom (thank you), huge soaking tubs. The beds are very comfortable and the mini bars are well-stocked. Room service has been prompt and the food has been good. Connected to the hotel is The Velvet Cupcake. It serves Starbucks coffee and bakes fresh cupcakes etc, which is a nice touch. There is a bar downstairs as well. Housekeeping actually cleans the room and replaces the Starbucks coffee (they have a Keurig machine in each room) and replaces the bath products. How refreshing. I have been in many 5- star hotels where housekeeping forgets to replace the coffee, towels, and bath products. Parking in downtown Columbia is a bit of a hassle, but it is well worth it to stay here. Oh, and they have 74 tv channels on their wall-mounted HD flat screen tv's in the rooms. Doesn't get better. Well done, in my opinion!!!!!!!!

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Queencynthiana76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kakajp0621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.2 mi away
The Broadway Columbia - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia (at the University of Missouri)
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia
Hampton Inn Columbia
#1 of 36 in Columbia
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Columbia
2.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbia
1.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Columbia
Comfort Suites Columbia
#9 of 36 in Columbia
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tiger Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tiger Hotel

Address: 23 S 8th St, Columbia, MO 65201-4811
Region: United States > Missouri > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Columbia
Price Range: £103 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tiger Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tiger Hotel is a newly renovated, 4 star luxury boutique hotel located in the heart of downtown Columbia, just steps from the university campus and within walking distance to many bars, restaurants and entertainment venues. At The Tiger Hotel we pride ourselves on creating the best guest experience possible, this includes valet parking, Molton Brown amenities, deep soaker tubs, high thread count bedding, digital housekeeping signs, automatic blinds, room service until midnight and much more.We welcome you to experience what luxury feels like at The Tiger Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Tiger Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing