We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel.. but watch your bill!”
Review of The Tiger Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Tiger Hotel
Ranked #9 of 35 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Annapolis, MD
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice hotel.. but watch your bill!”
Reviewed 31 January 2013

The hotel itself is pleasant. Sadly it has been overshadowed by the fact that they charged my credit card for my own room and for someone else's room! I have called the hotel six times and spoke to 2 different managers and still can't get the credit put back on my credit card! (2 months later) I'd be hard pressed to stay here again if this was the last hotel in 100 miles!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SSMDAnnapolis_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    41
    11
    4
    7
See reviews for
95
72
16
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Arrived for a one night stay January 26, 2013... This hotel is a magnificent historic building with a helpful manager, friendly employees and best of all ...incredible accomodations...from the luxury linens, flat screens with HD TV, remote control window shades, modern bathroom facilities, quiet hallways, first class amenities... Don't even think about staying elsewhere if you are looking for a romantic place to stay or luxury lodging for a college weekend... . And do not miss the cupcakes and coffee at the lobby coffee shop.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misterCancun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

As a frequent traveler I stay at many hotels. The Tiger Hotel was definitely the best hotel experience I have ever had. My family stayed there for the Christmas holidays. We truly enjoyed the hotel and especially the staff. We stayed in one of the suites that had a separated lounge area. Very spacious. The bathroom was the best part of the room. Large soaking tub and a glass showers with the “rainfall” showerhead. Super fluffy towels.

We tried out the restaurant for breakfast both days we were there. The Wake Up call was great and HUGE. My mom loved the biscuits the best. She said the taste homemade. Also great cupcakes! Went to the cozy lounge in the evening and listened to some great music.

The best part about this hotel that separated it from all the other hotels I have stayed at was the personal attention the staff gave us. From the bellman, housekeepers, management, etc. Everyone made sure we were comfortable. The last morning we were there, I went down to get breakfast for me and my mom. The staff noticed my mom wasn’t with me and offered to bring our breakfast up to us…Just a small gesture but meant so much.

A cute boutique hotel. With a wonderful location. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: I would choose a room on the higher floors for the great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyB-KC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012

I decided to ask my beautiful girlfriend to marry me on Friday, December 21st. I was searching all over the place for the perfect place to ask and I decided that I would propose on top of the Tiger Hotel. Two days, I repeat, two days before I asked I called The Tiger Hotel and was treated by some of the most incredibly thoughtful, friendly, and professional staff I've ever met. From Nancy (at the front Desk) to the Sales team, to the amazing Samantha who was put in charge of making everything flow from beginning to end, I had what my fiance called 'the perfect night' brought together with hardly any expense, in fact I would have paid double the amount that I did as they only made me pay for an absolutely delicious meal that we had afterwards. Samantha set up the photographer, made me feel comfortable and taken care of, provided smooth transition points from the time we first arrived to transitioning out of pictures into dinner, she stood at the top of the stairs to welcome us on top of the roof (where I asked), she even carried the prop that I had set up on top down to the floor level for me to take home, she set up a gorgeous table with candles in the presidential suite that we ate dinner, and she took care of the details herself. Keep in mind this isn't part of her job description, she went above and beyond to take care of us and provide the Tiger Hotel to be a beautiful part of our story. Thank you so much for one of the best nights of our lives!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 December 2012

Hotel staff had great service. For the price you can't find a better hotel. Room was very spacious. High class hotel. Velvet Cupcake and Vault Bar have great food! Would recommend and I'm definitely staying here again. Location is great, located downtown with the best restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Parshalldlpgfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 December 2012

We stayed here for a short weekend get-away and we completely surprised and pleased with this gem of a hotel. From the time we walked in the door and they helped us with parking EVERYONE on the staff was extremely helpful and nice. We kept talking about how nice the staff was throughout our stay. We will definitely stay here again and want to send our family here. The view of the columns from our room was awesome as well!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmgc9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

We decided to look for the nicest hotel in Columbia, Mo after attending a graduation ceremony and settled on The Tiger Hotel. It cost double the price of some of the other hotels in the area but we liked the idea of a downtown hotel location that was supposedly nicer than the rest according their reservation agent.

The lobby area was loud with little to be impressed by. We were there in mid December and it wasn't even decorated for the holidays. After checking in, we got in the tiny elevator to our room which was nice and spacious. The flat screen TV on the wall was awful and kept pixelating and losing audio on the HD channels. The non HD channels were fuzzy. Breakfast is not included with the room rate either which was a disappointment.

Bottom line:
We would not go back to this hotel. For half the price, we could get a suite at another property with breakfast included and a working TV. They claim to be a 4 star boutique hotel. This hotel misses the mark in my opinion

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kcarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.2 mi away
The Broadway Columbia - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia
Hampton Inn Columbia
#1 of 35 in Columbia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia (at the University of Missouri)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Columbia
2.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbia
2.1 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center  - Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tiger Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tiger Hotel

Property: The Tiger Hotel
Address: 23 S 8th St, Columbia, MO 65201-4811
Region: United States > Missouri > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 35 Hotels in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tiger Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tiger Hotel is a newly renovated, 4 star luxury boutique hotel located in the heart of downtown Columbia, just steps from the university campus and within walking distance to many bars, restaurants and entertainment venues. At The Tiger Hotel we pride ourselves on creating the best guest experience possible, this includes valet parking, Molton Brown amenities, deep soaker tubs, high thread count bedding, digital housekeeping signs, automatic blinds, room service until midnight and much more.We welcome you to experience what luxury feels like at The Tiger Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Tiger Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing