We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Moden”
Review of The Tiger Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Tiger Hotel
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Columbia
Quincy, Illinois, United States
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Clean and Moden”
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Glad we were able to stay at the Tiger Hotel. We were in town for a concert and the Hampton was sold out. The gal at the Hampton referred me to the TIger, as she stayed with her family and said it was nice. When we arrived check in was prompt and the valet parked our car. We were on the second floor. The room was clean and modern. The bed was comfortable. Towels, bedding, etc were high quality. The curtains are ran by an electrical switch. Great stay! Only down fall is the price. We paid 177 with parking, hotel and taxes. However, I think it was well worth the money.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    43
    13
    5
    7
See reviews for
98
74
16
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Quincy, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

first time staying here. We picked it because it was downtown and close to shops, bars, restaurants. Very cute place with boutique feel, very nice staff, and absolute great location. Easy walk to restuarants and bars. Room was nice and big. Bathroom very cute with HUGE tub! Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: smaller room fit need. great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tim p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We normally don’t stay in hotels in Columbia (because we have family in town) but my husband purchased the Living Social deal for the Tiger Hotel. We used it last weekend and found the room amazing! We parked ourselves in the garage across the street in the reserved parking (apparently okay on the weekends). With the living social deal we also received a $15 coupon to use at The Vault, on breakfast or cupcakes at the Velvet Cupcake. My husband checked in with no problems, but our gift certificate was not ready yet. We weren’t interested in using it until the next day so they offered to put it in our room for us later that evening. We stayed on the seventh floor in a King Room. The room was awesome! We enjoyed the modern feel of the room, the large spacious bathrooms, the giant bathtub and the very comfortable bed. Words to the wise, the shades in the room are electric and the switch is by the bed…it took us a while to figure that out! The hotel is very conveniently located. We had dinner at Flatbranch and easily and quickly walked to and from. After dinner and had drinks with our friends at The Vault. They have a nice selection of actual cocktails and if you want to have drinks with your friends and be able to hear yourselves think this is the place to go! We checked out the next morning, but returned in the afternoon with our nieces to have cupcakes at the Velvet Cupcake. The cupcakes were delicious. The chocolate peanut butter fudge was our favorite! If we needed to stay in a hotel in Columbia we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMCKB4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Two night stay with my sister. Had a great time. Awesome location. The Vault was great and so was Velvet Cupcake. No problems with our bill. Use the valet service its worth it. Rooms very spacious along with bathrooms. Will go back for sure.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livn4vacatn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 February 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for two days visiting my daughter who attends the University of Missour. It is the first time I have stayed at this hotel. The room is small but nicely appointed.
My room has not been made up all day I, am short on supplies ie. shampoo and soap. I have now Requested that someone bring supplies to the room three times, at least empty the garbage pails, change some towels. They seem completely unprepared for this request! Whatkind of a hotel is this?? For a hotel that charges $150 a night this is ridiculous! I will never stay here again.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Alec L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, MD
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

The hotel itself is pleasant. Sadly it has been overshadowed by the fact that they charged my credit card for my own room and for someone else's room! I have called the hotel six times and spoke to 2 different managers and still can't get the credit put back on my credit card! (2 months later) I'd be hard pressed to stay here again if this was the last hotel in 100 miles!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SSMDAnnapolis_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Arrived for a one night stay January 26, 2013... This hotel is a magnificent historic building with a helpful manager, friendly employees and best of all ...incredible accomodations...from the luxury linens, flat screens with HD TV, remote control window shades, modern bathroom facilities, quiet hallways, first class amenities... Don't even think about staying elsewhere if you are looking for a romantic place to stay or luxury lodging for a college weekend... . And do not miss the cupcakes and coffee at the lobby coffee shop.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misterCancun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.2 mi away
The Broadway Columbia - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia
Hampton Inn Columbia
#1 of 36 in Columbia
685 reviews
2.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia (at the University of Missouri)
2.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Columbia
2.1 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center  - Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tiger Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tiger Hotel

Property: The Tiger Hotel
Address: 23 S 8th St, Columbia, MO 65201-4811
Region: United States > Missouri > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tiger Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tiger Hotel is a newly renovated, 4 star luxury boutique hotel located in the heart of downtown Columbia, just steps from the university campus and within walking distance to many bars, restaurants and entertainment venues. At The Tiger Hotel we pride ourselves on creating the best guest experience possible, this includes valet parking, Molton Brown amenities, deep soaker tubs, high thread count bedding, digital housekeeping signs, automatic blinds, room service until midnight and much more.We welcome you to experience what luxury feels like at The Tiger Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Tiger Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing