We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Customer Satisfaction”
Review of The Tiger Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Tiger Hotel
Ranked #9 of 35 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Smyrna, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Customer Satisfaction”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This hotel was awesome to stay at being that it is right downtown Columbia and is very convenient to walk around without needing transportation. I was only in town for two nights with a colleague and the customer service was great! As we checked in a few minor problems arose with our rooms and the management staff went above and beyond to ensure that we would have the best stay possible. Even the next evening as we and a couple of friends were returning from a night out, the assistant general manager Michael Jackson noticed us and checked to make sure that we were satisfied with our accommodations. The customer service was outstanding and so are the rooms. The view of the city from the 8th floor was spectacular!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trescion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael J, Manager at The Tiger Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Hello Trescion,

Just wanted to take the time to thank you for writing such a nice review for us! So glad that your stay with us was great and we at The Tiger Hotel promise to make sure they always will be!

See you soon!

Michael J.
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    41
    11
    4
    7
See reviews for
95
72
16
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Shawnee Mission, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2013

What a wonderful place to stay in Columbia! Super friendly and helpful staff - everyone from the valets, front desk personnel, Velvet Cupcake staff, Vault servers and hotel management! We love to stay at boutique hotels when we get the opportunity and this one was as nice as ANY we have visited. Our room was super-clean and spacious with as comfy bed made with fabulous high quality linens. The Tiger Hotel is located in a prime location- a short walk to all of our favorite downtown Columbia haunts!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiger s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marthasville, Missouri
Level Contributor
220 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed here with another couple on Friday,10/11/13. They Front Desk was very friendly and helpful. We were on the 4th floor. There is only 8 rooms on a floor, with 6 floors. Nice and Cozy. The beds were awesome, the rooms are big and comfortable. You can stay here and walk to anything you could possibly need. We actually went to Mojo's, and watched the Band " Trampled Under Foot " awesome ---Blues/Rock Band.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VernonR187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

Decided to reserve a room for a visiting priest at a Tiger a hotel. What a mistake! He arrived very tired, wanting to go straight to bed after traveling and speaking. When he turned down the covers, the sheets were stained, wrinkled and had pubic hair on them. Had to wait 45 minutes to get them changed. Tiger would not do anything in the way of compensation for this $150 night. They were rude and unconcerned about losing potential business that I am in a position to swing their way -- or not. I will direct people to the new a DoubleTree for wedding receptions and blocks of rooms. Never the Tiger.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Loved the stay at the Tiger Hotel! Very informative front desk assistance. There is that "special touch" given to guests that is hard to put a finger on but you feel it. Room was perfect -- bathroom huge -- Just really a sexy feeling throughout the entire weekend. The only reason I did not give this property an "excellent" rating is our room did not get made on our last day. Yes... we slept in later than usual (thank you Melody at the martini bar downstairs) but the maid service was still on the floor and we put the door hanger up to make the room. Unfortunately, the hanger sits sideways on the handle and I believe they may have read it as if we didn't want service.
Must give rating on the entire town though -- which is excellent. This hotel is situated within walking distance to everything (fine dining, diners, coffee shops, pubs, etc.) and there was not a time we did not feel welcome. Lovely, lovely town and people!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Number61Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leawood, Kansas
1 review
Reviewed 1 October 2013

The Tiger Hotel has never looked better! The room renovations are top notch ... Every inch has been redone with great quality finishes. The Vault is a great place to begin or end your evening and The Coffee Shop's breakfast is excellent. Great staff! Love to see another classic Downtown brand get revived and shine!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chuck n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st louis missouri
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

The Tiger is a beautiful hotel, offering modern touches in a historic hotel. We had a large group staying for the wedding and even with a few glitches...service remained on par. Michael did an excellent job in following up with us and that is appreciated in any business. We booked a suite, which was lovely and the extra space for gathering was convenient. We enjoyed a private Sunday brunch with family and friends and Samantha did a great job in coordinating for us in the black and gold room. Brunch offerings were varied and delish! Don't miss the bar downstairs or the cupcakes in the bakery off the hotel entrance. Awesome photos on the steps. We will stay again.

Room Tip: Any of the room choices provide a special experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank midwsttrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.2 mi away
The Broadway Columbia - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia
Hampton Inn Columbia
#1 of 35 in Columbia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia (at the University of Missouri)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Columbia
2.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbia
2.1 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center  - Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tiger Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tiger Hotel

Property: The Tiger Hotel
Address: 23 S 8th St, Columbia, MO 65201-4811
Region: United States > Missouri > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 35 Hotels in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tiger Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tiger Hotel is a newly renovated, 4 star luxury boutique hotel located in the heart of downtown Columbia, just steps from the university campus and within walking distance to many bars, restaurants and entertainment venues. At The Tiger Hotel we pride ourselves on creating the best guest experience possible, this includes valet parking, Molton Brown amenities, deep soaker tubs, high thread count bedding, digital housekeeping signs, automatic blinds, room service until midnight and much more.We welcome you to experience what luxury feels like at The Tiger Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Tiger Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing