We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stinky Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites Columbia
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Battle Creek, Michigan
1 review
“Stinky Hotel!”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We have stayed at a lot of Comfort Suites, but this one was by far the worst. From the lobby to our 2nd floor hotel room, there was the acrid smell of bug spray that hung in our throats. So much so, that visiting guests to our room commented on the smell. We had to leave the heat turned off or the room was an oven.The toilet and bathroom sink leaked, however maintenance did come to fix it. We asked the room cleaning staff not to change our sheets (to help the environment) for which they left the beds completely unmade. Breakfast consisted of pre-formed, round scrambled egg patties; sausage; waffles; and the usual dry cereal; slightly stale bagles and english muffins; pastires; Nutri-Grain bars; fresh fruit; and coffee/juice..Saturday breakfast was scrambled eggs that tasted powdered, bacon (which was delicious), and the rest of the usuual. The pool is extremely small and somewhat triangular shaped, which made it difficult to swim (not to mention it is about 4' deep). The treadmill in the exercise room was broken, and other equpment had broken parts on it and was old. The only reason I am giving this hotel 2 stars is that there was an African-American young lady at the front desk on 2nd shift that was AMAZING! She was so sweet and helpful. She worked the breakfast room on Saturday morning, and again she was great! The rest of the desk staff I wouldn't give you a nickle for. We will be visiting the area agian, but we will avoid this hotel.

Room Tip: If the lobby stinks, stay elsewhere cause the smell is in your room too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank one_sweetipete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brigitte A, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Columbia, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thanks for the response. I am sorry to hear about the issues that arose during your stay. I have mentioned the room smell issue to my Head Housekeeper and we will ensure this will not happen again. The treadmill is broken and a brand new one is on the way. I apologize again for the inconvenience this caused you and your family. We hope you will allow us another opportunity to prove to you that we are 100% committed to guest satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    104
    30
    15
    12
See reviews for
120
55
23
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
De Soto, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I travel a lot with my company and this hotel is the place I stay when I am in Columbia every time. Great location, close to many places to eat and shop. Hotel is clean and very quiet, can't go wrong with this one ;)

Room Tip: I have only stayed on 3rd and 4th floor, both good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank awesome1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brigitte A, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Columbia, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thanks for the comments. We love hearing feedback from our frequent guests and we promise to continue to provide excellent service and a clean, safe place to stay while in Columbia. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Rooms are quiet and fairly spacious...large closet, sitting area, refrigerator, nice beds, and rooms are nicely, freshly new! All staff were courteous...and the hotel is right next to a very nice antique/home decor store. For the money, very decent value.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerry42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth S, General Manager at Comfort Suites Columbia, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Thank you for the positive feedback! It is wonderful to hear your stay was excellent and I will certainly pass your kind words on to my staff to keep up the great work. You are always welcome at the Comfort Suites and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willow Springs, Missouri, United States
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Check in is was smooth, no issues with the room or worn out furniture. Room size could easily handle six people, would rather have regular coffee pot, not single serve.
Great pillows for sleeping. Large breakfast area and nice lobby.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank 1BBQGUY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth S, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Columbia, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Thank you for your survey response. I am pleased to hear we were able to make you feel at home while on your trip, and do hope you will see us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lathrop, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

This is one of the best hotels I have stayed in. Close to restaurants and they have a market store next door. The staff go above and beyond to make you happy. They had a great breakfast. I was very very pleased with my room. Thank you!

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Janice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brigitte A, Manager at Comfort Suites Columbia, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Dimple Patel
Assistant Manager
Comfort Suites
573-443-0055
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elbert, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

Easy to find, right off the freeway but not noisy. We loved our room with a fridge and microwave. Beds were comfortable, room was spotless. Breakfast is included and was excellent (cold foods but also waffles, eggs and bacon). Definitely will stay there again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank hutchlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brigitte A, Manager at Comfort Suites Columbia, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Dimple Patel
Assistant Manager
Comfort Suites
573-443-0055
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Versailles, Missouri, United States
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Just spent the week there. all newly renovated, excellent staff , quit and clean . The staff always greets me by my first name. This hotel is very close to all the main shopping malls in town. Lot of great restaurants near by,

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin G, Manager at Comfort Suites Columbia, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear David,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will make sure the teams we check in in the future know how to behave in public!

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Mike Patel
Manager
Comfort Suites
573-443-0055
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbia hotels
3.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbia
3.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Columbia
1.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia
Hampton Inn Columbia
#1 of 36 in Columbia
665 reviews
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Columbia East
Holiday Inn Columbia East
#11 of 36 in Columbia
241 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia (at the University of Missouri)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Columbia

Property: Comfort Suites Columbia
Address: 1010 Business Loop 70 W, Columbia, MO 65202-1328
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Columbia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We want to provide a welcoming place to call your home away from home while in Columbia, Missouri! Located just off Interstate 70 at exit 125 (West Boulevard Exit) in the Northwest corner is where you will find the Comfort Suites in Columbia. We accommodate our guests with spacious Single King Suites and Double Queen Suites with a partial room divider. Each room comes with a microwave, a small refrigerator, and a twin pull out sleeper sofa. Conference and Breakfast Rooms available for small meetings and get togethers. Our meeting rooms are complementary to those guests who stay with us overnight. You are always welcome at the Comfort Suites! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Choice Hotels, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Suites Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Columbia Hotel Columbia
Columbia Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing