We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Suites Columbia
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Roscoe, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bad service”
Reviewed 26 July 2010

Doesn't honor request with reservations made directly at the hotel. I had reserved room 104 which apparently wasn't available when I checked in. Was offered a different room by the manager but she informed me none of the rooms have recliners/loungers which is incorrect as room 104 does. I travel a lot and the one thing I look forward to is being able to put my feet up and relax. Besides don't lie about the rooms not having loungers/recliners.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merlin021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfort S, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Columbia, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Merlin021,

We thank you for taking the time in providing your feedback in regard to your stay with us at the Comfort Suites. We would like to send our apologies on behalf of the miscommunication. When making a reservation, you are only guaranteed the room type and room rate. The room number cannot be gauranteed, but we definitely put in all our effort to achieve your request. We make every guest our number one priority and take pride in our happy guests. If there is any other feedback that you'd like to provide or any concerns you would like to get addressed, please feel free to contact us. It was our pleasure to have you and we would love to have you again. You are always welcome here at the Comfort Suites in Columbia, MO.

Marla Hoy
Sales Manager

Comfort Suites
1010 Business Loop 70 W
Columbia, MO 65202
T: (573)443-0055 F: (573)443-0037
comfortsuitesmo169@live.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    107
    30
    15
    12
See reviews for
122
57
23
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2009

Spent 2 nights there. First night had multiple little league teams and they put me directly across from the door to the pool - which stayed open so that I was treated to kids screaming in the pool till after 11 PM followed by kids running, yelling in the halls, etc (with some of their chaperones just as bad) till into the morning.

Was told by the desk clerk that the little leaguers were checking out, but not that they would be replaced by another youth group that night. Finally at 11:30 asked when they were going to close the pool (stated hours were till 11 PM). Loud discussions and door slamming (rattled the hardware on my door) till early morning.

BTW - both nights had to get dressed and walk to the front desk to ask for a wake-up call as the front desk had the phone set to give a busy signal. First night the clerk had to be away from the desk - reasonable. Second night, clerk was at the desk and said it was no problem as he was the one that set the wakeup calls.

Tried to talk to the manager, who was unavailable. (other people have commented that management is apparently in another state. I also concur with comments that rooms are extremely dark - only way to get enough light to read is to sit at the 1/2 of the desk which has a table lamp. It isn't a big deal to me, but the rooms are also not what I would call suites. Also the Internet connect seemed rather slow.).

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrvlBusinessPleasure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfort S, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Columbia, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear TrvlBusinessPleasure,

We thank you for taking the time in providing your feedback in regards to your stay with us at the Comfort Suites. We send our apologies on behalf of your experience and assure you that we are known for our exceptional stays. We do hold groups that come into Columbia, MO for numerous of events, and we have been for years. We have since then built great relationships with these groups and no longer have these kinds of disturbances. We make all of our guests our number one priority and take pride in our happy guests. We value your feedback and value guests such as yourself. Using your feedback, we have recently finished on our hotel renovation and invite you to stay with us at the Comfort Suites, we would love to have you again. You are always welcome here at the Comfort Suites in Columbia, MO.

Marla Hoy
Sales Manager
1010 Business Loop 70 W
Columbia, MO 65202
T: (573)443-0055 F: (573)443-0037
comfortsuitesmo169@live.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2009

Rooms are clean, quiet, and smoke free, but the staff is absolutely 100% clueless and not helpful. Management / ownership is, apparently, out of state and not accessible.
Internet access is slower than dial-up, making this hotel unacceptable for business travelers.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank screenameMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortSuitesmo169, Manager at Comfort Suites Columbia, responded to this review, 24 June 2009
Thank you so much for your comment regarding the Comfort Suites. It is through the comments we receive that we are able to continue to improve our service. I am sorry we did not meet your expectations during your recent stay. We were experiencing some problems with our internet service which has since been resolved. I can assure you we are very interested in providing excellent service to all our guests be it business travelers or leisure travelers.
Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, VA
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2008

As chain hotels go, this was pretty average. The room was small and dark, not only due to poor lighting, but also just a dark decor --- consequently the room seemed drab, dingy and not very clean. Add to that the use of a bedspread which other chains have done away with since they usually seem to not be clean. The bed, pillows and seating were Very Good, however. The bathroom also had Poor lighting and a Fair shower, but with Very Good counter space, mirror and four full sets of Good towels. The facility was fine, but the complimentary breakfast was poor --- selection and quality.

The strongest point here was Outstanding staff attitude, which helped offset some of the negatives. At a price of $90 + $10tax = $100 senior rates, this was a Fair value.

Overall, on our own scale of 1-5, we give this hotel 2.9

  • Liked — Staff Service and Friendliness
  • Disliked — Small, Dark Room
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RouteRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfort S, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Columbia, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear RouteRunner,

We thank you for taking the time in providing your feedback in regards to your stay with us at the Comfort Suites. We appreciate your valuable feedback and have gone through some recent hotel renovations to ensure that this exprience does not reoccur for our future guests. We thank you for bringing this to our attention and value guests such as yourself. It was our pleasure to have you and you are always welcome here at the Comfort Suites in Columbia, MO.

Marla Hoy
Sales Manager

Comfort Suites
1010 Business Loop 70 W
Columbia, MO 65202
comfortsuitesmo169@live.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2008

This is a nice motel located just off the interstate. Breakfast was good, and the fact that it begins at 5 AM (at least on weekdays) is very convenient for business travelers.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank sonofposeidon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfort S, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Columbia, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear sonofposeidon,

We thank you for taking the time in providing your feedback in regards to your stay with us at the Comfort Suites. We take great pleasure in ensuring an exceptional stay for all of our guests. We take pride in our happy guests and it was our pleasure in having you. You are always welcome here at the Comfort Suites in Columbia, MO.

Marla Hoy
Sales Manager

Comfort Suites
1010 Business Loop 70 W
Columbia, MO 65202
T: (573)443-0055 F: (573)443-0037
comfortsuitesmo169@live.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedona, AZ
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2008

This hotel lives up to its name, unlike any number of other Comfort Inns and/or Suites, and offers above-average accommodations. At the $54.95 coupon rate, it was the most exceptional bargain of our 30-day road trip.

The furnishings of our spacious king room were nicely updated and the bed and pillows were luxuriously soft and a pleasure to sink into. (Our one quibble is with the height of the bed, which is about twice as high as a normal bed, and which might present a challenge for shorter people or those with physical limitations.) Open to and adjoining the bedroom was a sitting area with sofa, chair, coffee table, and micro/fridge. The large TV could be swiveled for viewing from either area and featured somewhat limited cable, though this was mitigated by four channels of HBO. The bathroom was big as these things go and featured a long granite countertop, slate-style flooring, and a large tub with curved shower rod and many shelves. Everything was clean.

The room was well-soundproofed; even though we were on the freeway side of the building it was not bothersome. Although the windows did not open there was only mild air freshener and no need to air the place out. The AC unit was newer and did not spew forth any objectionable odors. This is an all-nonsmoking property.

The breakfast was not quite as first class as the room but did include hardboiled eggs, and the hot cinnamon rolls were a nice touch. The desk staff were friendly. Checkout is 11 a.m.

We would gladly return to this hotel when in the area. It is on the Hampton Inn level, even slightly better in some respects.

  • Liked — Comfortable bed, clean and nicely furnished room
  • Disliked — 11 a.m. checkout -- would have liked to stay longer!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank The-Motel-Mavens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfort S, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Columbia, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear The-Motel-Mavens,

We thank you for taking the time in providing your feedback in regards to your stay with us at the Comfort Suites. We make every guest our number one priority and take pride in our happy guests. We appreciate the kind comments and we definitely value guests such as yourself. You are always welcome here at the Comfort Suites in Columbia, MO.

Marla Hoy
Sales Manager

Comfort Suies
1010 Business Loop 70 W
Columbia, MO 65202
T: (573)443-0055 F: (573)443-0037
comfortsuitesmo169@live.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, MO
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2008

We stayed here for one night while attending a conference in Columbia. The hotel was almost booked up when we made reservations so we ended up booking a two queen bed handicap room. The handicap room was very spacious and conveniently located close to the elevator. There was lots of closet storage space in the room which would be nice if you were staying at the hotel for a longer period of time. The hotel is close to the on-ramp to I-70, but we didn't have any trouble with hearing highway noise at all. The room decor was very up to date, and it had a new microwave and refrigerator in the room. The breakfast area downstairs had plenty of tables, and breakfast included waffles, muffins, fruit, juices, etc... There was even biscuits and gravy! There was a computer in the lobby if you needed internet access, and the lobby was well decorated and comfortable looking. All in all, a nice hotel, and it will definitely be where we're staying next time we are in Columbia.

  • Liked — Spacious room
  • Disliked — No complaints
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TheresiaMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfort S, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Columbia, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear TheresiaMO,

We thank you for taking the time in providing your feedback in regards to your stay with us at the Comfort Suites. We make every guest our number one priority and take pride in our happy guests. We make it our effort to provide an exceptional stay and we would definitely love to have you again. You are always welcome here at the Comfort Suites in Columbia, MO.

Marla Hoy
Sales Manager

Comfort Suites
1010 Business Loop 70 W
Columbia, MO 65202
T:(573)443-0055 F: (573)443-0037
comfortsuitesmo169@live.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbia hotels
3.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbia
3.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Columbia
1.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia
Hampton Inn Columbia
#1 of 36 in Columbia
685 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia (at the University of Missouri)
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Columbia East
Holiday Inn Columbia East
#11 of 36 in Columbia
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Columbia

Property: Comfort Suites Columbia
Address: 1010 Business Loop 70 W, Columbia, MO 65202-1328
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Columbia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We want to provide a welcoming place to call your home away from home while in Columbia, Missouri! Located just off Interstate 70 at exit 125 (West Boulevard Exit) in the Northwest corner is where you will find the Comfort Suites in Columbia. We accommodate our guests with spacious Single King Suites and Double Queen Suites with a partial room divider. Each room comes with a microwave, a small refrigerator, and a twin pull out sleeper sofa. Conference and Breakfast Rooms available for small meetings and get togethers. Our meeting rooms are complementary to those guests who stay with us overnight. You are always welcome at the Comfort Suites! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Columbia Hotel Columbia
Columbia Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing