We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location and ambiance in Columbia”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Columbia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gathering Place Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Columbia B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Everything about our stay during the University's Homecoming weekend was excellent. Deborah, the Innkeeper, was very welcoming and accommodating of every request. The breakfasts each morning were 5 star! Our suite was enormous, clean and comfortable and was both charming and elegant. We will stay here whenever we visit from now on; the proximity to campus is ideal and there is no hotel in town that can compete with the decor and fare~such a great find in a college town! We raved about one dish at breakfast and I returned home to find the recipe in my email from the Innkeeper~such a great treat! I cannot recommend this Inn highly enough~

Room Tip: We stayed in the only room on the main level, which would be helpful if you cannot manage stairs. W...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CatalinaView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
There are newer reviews for Gathering Place Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2011

We are just sorry we did not get to stay here until our kids' senior year! Lots of space, very clean and comfortable. The service and food was excellent. Definately my hotel of choice!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fk749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

If you're looking for lodging in central Missouri, just minutes away from I-70, you should consider The Gathering Place Bed and Breakfast. It's just across the street from the campus of the University of Missouri, a wonderful place to take a walk after a scrumptious breakfast prepared by the gracious hosts. The night that we arrived, we were presented with a menu for breakfast the next morning. It included their "daily special" and a full page of ala carte items that we could order with any special requests. We were traveling through Missouri wine country with two other couples, and we all loved our accommodations. Every inch of this beautiful home would have passed a "white glove test"; it was spotless! It had great areas to relax with friends; a lovely patio area out back and a spacious living room with a fireplace and lots of comfy places to sit. Columbia, being a university town, has a charming downtown area with lots of interesting shops and fun places to eat. It also is a trailhead for bicyclists enjoying the Katy Trail. We will return!

Room Tip: Our room was located on the front of the home, and traffic noise was not a problem.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hiway13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

First of all, you will need to book early to stay here. This is a bed & breakfast with very few rooms. ( I think only 4 or 5) It is run by a charming couple as part of a Hospitality program for the university. The rooms are spotless and spacious. The two I've stayed in had a separate sitting area from the bedroom. I would request a room in the back because it is on a busy street and the front rooms get traffic noise. If you are attending anything on or near the Mizzou campus this is the best location. It's right across the street. Now for the best part.... The breakfast are out of this world good!!! Served on beautiful china in a charming setting. Great way to start the day. Stay here if you can!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Okie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Fabulous bed & breakfast in CoMo. Beautiful home, wonderful service and excellent food. Will definitely be back when we're in Columbia!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bwadevml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

The rooms were large, open and airy. Our younger two boys loved their room. It was certainly a treat for them. The breakfast food was wonderful and so was the service. Would love the opportunity to stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HomeschoolMom4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

Well appointed B&B with attentive caretakers and student/staff that aim to please. Would recommend this accommodation to anyone without hesitation. Breakfast was simply delicious.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrTurtlehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.5 mi away
The Broadway Columbia - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Tiger Hotel
The Tiger Hotel
#8 of 36 in Columbia
316 reviews
2.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia (at the University of Missouri)
1.9 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Columbia
1.8 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center  - Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gathering Place Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gathering Place Bed and Breakfast

Address: 606 S College Ave, Columbia, MO 65201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Columbia
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Columbia
Price Range: £63 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gathering Place Bed and Breakfast, housed in one of Columbia's original homes, offers a unique blend of convenience and luxury with its proximity to campus and the downtown District area, historic charm and modern amenities. Pamper yourself with spacious suites, private baths and sitting areas, free off-street parking and a gourmet breakfast, in the heart of a vibrant academic community, all steps away from the MU campus. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing