We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Columbia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gathering Place Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Columbia B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We were impressed by the cleanliness of the facility and friendliness of the staff. The accommodations were exactly as portrayed, the breakfast was totally delicious and beautifully served. Wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TERESA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
There are newer reviews for Gathering Place Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2013

It has been a total of 10 years visiting Mizzou, through three of our daughters college years, it is always our choice to stay The Gathering place. It has improved and become a fine lodging establishment, under Mark and Deb's management. We cannot say enough how it is always a wonderful vacation experience. The food and table settings could not be better. It has been 10 wonderful years visiting and it will truly be so sad when this year the last daughter leaves mizzou and our visits are not as frequent. thank you for the wonderful comforts ,fabulous food and friendship.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fairconti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful stay here. Our room and the entire home was beautiful and spotless. The breakfast may have been the best breakfast I have ever eaten.
Truly a great experience. Thanks Deb.
Johna and Lisa Lenell
9-27-29, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I've traveled all over the world for both business and pleasure and this is one of the nicest, cleanest, friendliest and most comfortable establishments I've had the pleasure of staying in. The other glowing reviews are spot-on, so I won't rehash the same other than to just say you should stay here if you're fortunate enough to find an available room. My understanding is that Deb books up a year out for the key campus activities and game dates, so if your desired date is available, click "Book It" and don't look back. You'll be glad you did - it's a terrific hidden gem in Columbia. And if you like Burgers' smoked meats, Deb speaks your language. Thanks again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cpcinc98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The house is located across the street from campus and within walking distance of downtown Columbia. I was very impressed with the interior of the house, well appointed and tastefully decorated. Breakfasts were delicious and made to our order. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dnmsbm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

I was new to the States on a new job at the Uni Hospital and wanted a place to spend a few days before I got on my feet. Thank goodness I found this place. The booking online was so easy despite my crappy Indian internet connection and a crappy credit card. This place has a lot of history with the university and the state of Missouri itself so I learned a lot frim the books they had at the BnB. The rooms are all themed and I stayed at the Missouri history room. You're served by uni students who work at the BnB and it is at par with any 5 star hotel in Europe, I can tell you that. The Chef Debbie has been kissed on her fingers by the god of cooking (who ever that is!), oh sweet heavens, I can't imagine how great the breakfasts were. And each day they have a different menu of some of the most amazing gastronomic combinations I have ever tried. They are also accommodative of your special requests (I had to box the breakfast up for a couple of days due to my schedule). I met some great people at the breakfast too and in fact made good friends with some of them.
The wifi is great, a 50in flat screen telly with all basic channels + an amazing back yard and a calm and cozy patio. The BnB is perfectly located in between the two main commercial roads here in Columbia, so I didn't find it hard getting around even though I didn't have a car. In fact discovering bthe place by walking around is the perfect thing to do when you are here.
The rates may look a bit on the pricey side but you are guaranteed to get more than what you pay for and that will , for sure melt your worries.... I will definitely bring my friends here when they come to visit me from abroad.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dr_surajrajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We have stayed in many BandB's around the world and we would put this one in the top 5 (it would be the best if it had better views like the Cliffs of Mohr, castles or ocean views like we have seen from our window at other B&B's). but for Columbia MO it is a highly recommended stay. The staff was great and the breakfast was phenominal. Beds were perfect and the rooms were well equiped. If you are visiting for MU purposes- the campus is right across the street...very convenient. We'll go back and recommend this one to everyone.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BandCBradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.5 mi away
The Broadway Columbia - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Tiger Hotel
The Tiger Hotel
#8 of 36 in Columbia
317 reviews
2.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia (at the University of Missouri)
1.9 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Columbia
1.8 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center  - Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gathering Place Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gathering Place Bed and Breakfast

Address: 606 S College Ave, Columbia, MO 65201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Columbia
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Columbia
Price Range: £63 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gathering Place Bed and Breakfast, housed in one of Columbia's original homes, offers a unique blend of convenience and luxury with its proximity to campus and the downtown District area, historic charm and modern amenities. Pamper yourself with spacious suites, private baths and sitting areas, free off-street parking and a gourmet breakfast, in the heart of a vibrant academic community, all steps away from the MU campus. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing