We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jack's Gourmet Restaurant

Jack's Gourmet Restaurant
Ranked #84 of 383 Restaurants in Columbia
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
246 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

Poorly prepared, poor quality, sad to see. A venerable place in this town. But, food just aint that good.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank jishenker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    5
    1
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

Jack's is wonderful. I prefer the bar food. Casual place to go and a good atmosphere. I would highly recommend.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank gayl203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food but loud environment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

A friend and I revisited Jack's last evening after a hiatus of almost 2 1/2 years. We were seated in a room with two groups of about 16 people on either side of us. Because we were uncomfortably close to the other diners and the noise was very loud, we asked to be moved to another table in the corner. Unfortunately, that didn't help much. The layout of this windowless room caused the sounds to bounce off the walls and reverberate through the room! The noise was so loud that my friend and I had to yell to be heard over the din. I respect the rights of large groups to a night of enjoyable dining, but by the same token, Jack's staff should've made sure that even small "groups" such as ours were extended the same courtesy. They did not…and they did not bother to even apologize for the loudness of the other parties. Yes, the food was good, but our overall experience left a lot to be desired. Don’t think we’ll be visiting or recommending Jack’s anytime soon.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzyQ877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“False front”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Travelers from Tucson were recomended by locals to Jacks steakhouse. My wife and I both ordered KC strips. Appetizers and salads were delivered promptly, steak dinners, delayed by 15 minutes or more following salads. Cooked perfectly at medium rare, but only warm at best. Due to delay of delivery to our table. The owner asked how was our dinner? I voiced my concern of the $24 Luke warm steak, he stood there dumbfounded and walked away. After high expectation of the Kansas City Strip, we leave Jacks Steakhouse in Columbia, MO very disappointed!!

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Teri Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food, Great Service, and Live Music”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

This is old fashioned continental cuisine. Wonderful french onion soup. Great meats. The service is amazing, and the fact there is always a pianoist playing during dinner is a real plus. On our anniversary when we were there was were given a colmplimentary Baked Alaska because it was our anniversary.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bybetsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jack's Gourmet Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Jack's Gourmet Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing