We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pass this one up!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Budget Host Columbia
Ranked #31 of 36 Hotels in Columbia
Brookings SD
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Pass this one up!”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This is one place I won't return to, We got in late and it was not very clean. The sheets did not/would not even stay on the bed, which was hard and extremely uncomfortable. I don't think the bath vent fan actually vented, it just made noise. It was difficult to connect to the WiFi. The free "Bear Bites " breakfast is a joke. Not that I'll ever stay there again, but there is a Waffle House next door.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Dacotah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeColumbia, Guest Relations Manager at Budget Host Columbia, responded to this review, 17 November 2012
We sincerely apologize for the inconveneince you experienced and thank you for your commence as they will help us improve for future guests. We have rectified the situation with the fitted sheets, while the exhaust fans are genuinly functional. However, we were unable to identify your other concerns since we had no specifics. Our breakfast consists of hot and cold items with all the elements of an extended continental breakfast. We do appreciate direct input from guests so that we can make improvements as necessary. Thanks again and we look forward to serving you in the future with a better experience. Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    15
    20
    17
    58
See reviews for
35
18
14
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

I made a reservation to stay at this hotel at the end of June/beginning of July with the understanding that there were "no restrictions" regarding change or cancellation. Well to my surprise, this was NOT the case. When the time came and people in my group began cancelling and changing travel plans, I called the hotel to make changes accordingly. 3 staff members had assured me that this would not be a problem - 1) the person that took the reservation, 2) a staff member last night, 3) a staff member this morning. When I called back later in the day...WHAMMO!!! "Sir, you are required to pay a 2 night minimum." WHAT!?!?!?! I never would have reserved a room. I requested to speak to management to straighten this out, but they were unavailable. I got a call back from the hotel and was told that they had spoken with management and that I was required to pay a 2 night minimum. Very disappointed that management would not stand behind their staff. Then I read the previous reviews that were not available when I booked and was lucky enough to find other accommodations and cancel before the 72 hr deadline.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeColumbia, Manager at Budget Host Columbia, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
We sincerely apologize for any miscommunication. We did have a 2 nite stay requirement for that weekend and once again apologize for the misinformation. Cancellations were accepted 72 hours in advance. We regret that you had cancel the rooms and we lost an opportunity to extend our hospitality, which is always our intent. We will certainly be cautious in the future regarding the information that is given to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Columbia hotels

Festus, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2012

$126 per night!! I should not have paid half that much. The bathroom was clean, but that was the only plus. Property poorly maintained, beds (full) very small, uncomfortable, pillows none the same, lousy foam pillows - nasty stains on leaks in popcorn finish ceiling (attemp made to paint over). Was a true disappointment - but no other options..
Would never recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madsyd06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeColumbia, Manager at Budget Host Columbia, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
We do apologize for the inconvenience you experienced and will evaluate the situation in order to improve the conditions you mentioned. Thank you for your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2012

I want everyone to know this hotel should be your last resort. In fact I might say you may be safer sleeping in your car on the side of the highway in the middle of the Bronx. We never got to sleep because all the noise outside. When we woke up we found several cars vandalized and the hotel was toilet papered. The pictures of the hotel on the web site had to be taken several years ago or possible even a different location because it did even come close to how it looked. To top it all off we happened to stay at it during a Missouri home football game and they charged us 2 and a 1/2 times the normal rate. I can tell you truthfully I would not have paid more then 29.00 a night for this room and you can only imagine what I felt like when I got the bill for$126.99. Please for your safety and financial well being don't choose this hotel.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel no room is safe to stay in
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeColumbia, Manager at Budget Host Columbia, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
We do apologize for the actions of some of our guests which made this situation inconvenient for our other guests. It is difficult sometimes on game days to monitor the actions of a group that does not have a concern for others. We do apologize for your dissatisfaction with the rate. It was game day and rooms were occupied by as many as 5 individuals in one room, hence we charge rates to accomodate all kinds of groups. In the future we will take steps within our reach to prevent such situations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

We checked in our room this evening to find mice droppings in both beds. Upon further investigation we saw numerous mice thoughout the room. Management offered to find another room, which due to the football game in town we thought was our only option. Upon further reflection we asked for our money to be refunded as we were uncomfortable with the conditions. Not only did the front desk refuse to refund our money they refused to call management to discuss. They claimed there was nothing they could do because the room was reserved through travelocity, however, there was no attempt at all to solve the problem. Furthermore, because we mentioned the word rat move in the hotel they threatened to call the police.

This is the worst example of customer service I've ever encountered. We have contacted corporate to help rectify this situation but it has yet to be resolved. Hotel Management told us they would not refund our money because the new building did not have a history of rat problems, but at the same time admitted they had a history of rat problems in the building which they first booked us. Be very careful.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Milleke1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeColumbia, Manager at Budget Host Columbia, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
We had a lot of issues with this guest and had to call law and security to facilitate their departure from the property. The guest was in the lobby and verbally abused the staff and made other guests nervous and apprehensive. We have sent responses through Travelodge corporate and others and do not wish to send a public respond again. Thank you, Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

OK, this property is past its prime! Enough said. It is clean, comfortable and safe. It is old? Yes, but clean it is and if you expect and get a discounted rate you will be very pleased. The front desk experience is meh! When we got in our room the TV remote didn't work. The batteries were OK but the remote needed reset. The gal at the front desk could care less (more interested in her lunch break!). After 3 minutes on the Wi-Fi internet (which worked pretty good albeit slow) I reset the remote and it worked great! The Bear Bites breakfast was a JOKE! The first morning we went there we couldn't split the biscuits in half because they were harder than hockey pucks! Thank God for th Wafflehouse next door! It was awesome and saved breakfast for us. The swimming pool was nice and clean and a good break. Overall, this hotel is OK. Don't pay too much and you will be OK. Pay too much and you will complain, BIG TIME.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frhays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeColumbia, Guest Relations Manager at Budget Host Columbia, responded to this review, 17 November 2012
Dear Guest,
We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments and suggestions. Out hope is that every guest has a pleasant and comfortable stay. Regarding your remarks about the breakfast, we have been closely monitoring the quality of the biscuits and all the breakfast items. We hope to see you during your future visits to Columbia and hope that you will thoroughly enjoy your stay.

Thanks,
Hotel Manangement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neosho, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

This motel is so run down, I think it's well past the renovation stage. I'm thinking a bulldozer is the only solution to all of their problems. AC didn't work...replacement unit didn't work either. Unless you're so tired you just can't drive any further, please just drive on by! The only positive thing I can say about this place is the people who worked there were very nice to us.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicki w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeColumbia, Guest Relations Manager at Budget Host Columbia, responded to this review, 17 November 2012
Dear Guest, We do apologize for the inconveneince you experiened with the HVAC unit, during your stay. Being a larger property, we have been gradually repalcing all the units during the past 1 1/2 years an are almost at the tail end of the project. We do repair and repalce all items in the rooms as necessary over the course of each year. However, we appreciate your positive comments regarding the staff as we pride ourselves for our service. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you and have a more positive experience.
Thank you, management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbia hotels
2.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Columbia - Stadium Blvd.
2.1 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
1.9 mi away
Ramada Columbia
Ramada Columbia
#17 of 36 in Columbia
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Columbia
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Columbia
Comfort Suites Columbia
#7 of 36 in Columbia
321 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Executive Center - Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Host Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Host Columbia

Property: Budget Host Columbia
Address: 900 Vandiver Dr, I-70 & Rangeline, Columbia, MO 65202-1501 (Formerly Travelodge Columbia)
Region: United States > Missouri > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 36 Hotels in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Host Columbia 2*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Budget Host Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Columbia Hotel Columbia
Travel Lodge Columbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing