We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep going regardless of how tired you are.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Budget Host Columbia
Ranked #31 of 36 Hotels in Columbia
Reviewed 23 November 2012

This place is a dump. I never leave reviews, but this one is worth leaving. I couldn't even get a partial refund. Once they take your money they won't give it back. If you do stay here look at your room before paying.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeColumbia, Public Relations Manager at Budget Host Columbia, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2012

Dear Guest,
We are unaware of your situation as your stay occured during the month of August when this hotel was a Travelodge and the Guest Services manager was not the same. The ownership has converted this hotel to a Budget Host Inn and there have been changes in management.
Hence we do apologize that we are unable to verify your concerns at this time and hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you under better circumstances.
Thank you, management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2012

While the hotel is very basic it is clean and the people were very nice. Only complaint was the room was very stuffy and had a musky smell. Left the door open for a few minutes and it helped.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeColumbia, Guest Relations Manager at Budget Host Columbia, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2012

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to refelct on your stay with us. We are happy when our guest have a satisfactory stay. We appreciate your input and suggestions. Since your review we have investigated the matter and taken corrective steps to ensure that the rooms smell fresh and inviting. We hope to be your hotel of choice and look forward to hosting you during your future visit to Columbia.
Thanks,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This is one place I won't return to, We got in late and it was not very clean. The sheets did not/would not even stay on the bed, which was hard and extremely uncomfortable. I don't think the bath vent fan actually vented, it just made noise. It was difficult to connect to the WiFi. The free "Bear Bites " breakfast is a joke. Not that I'll ever stay there again, but there is a Waffle House next door.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Dacotah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeColumbia, Guest Relations Manager at Budget Host Columbia, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2012

We sincerely apologize for the inconveneince you experienced and thank you for your commence as they will help us improve for future guests. We have rectified the situation with the fitted sheets, while the exhaust fans are genuinly functional. However, we were unable to identify your other concerns since we had no specifics. Our breakfast consists of hot and cold items with all the elements of an extended continental breakfast. We do appreciate direct input from guests so that we can make improvements as necessary. Thanks again and we look forward to serving you in the future with a better experience. Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

I made a reservation to stay at this hotel at the end of June/beginning of July with the understanding that there were "no restrictions" regarding change or cancellation. Well to my surprise, this was NOT the case. When the time came and people in my group began cancelling and changing travel plans, I called the hotel to make changes accordingly. 3 staff members had assured me that this would not be a problem - 1) the person that took the reservation, 2) a staff member last night, 3) a staff member this morning. When I called back later in the day...WHAMMO!!! "Sir, you are required to pay a 2 night minimum." WHAT!?!?!?! I never would have reserved a room. I requested to speak to management to straighten this out, but they were unavailable. I got a call back from the hotel and was told that they had spoken with management and that I was required to pay a 2 night minimum. Very disappointed that management would not stand behind their staff. Then I read the previous reviews that were not available when I booked and was lucky enough to find other accommodations and cancel before the 72 hr deadline.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
2  Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeColumbia, Manager at Budget Host Columbia, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2012

We sincerely apologize for any miscommunication. We did have a 2 nite stay requirement for that weekend and once again apologize for the misinformation. Cancellations were accepted 72 hours in advance. We regret that you had cancel the rooms and we lost an opportunity to extend our hospitality, which is always our intent. We will certainly be cautious in the future regarding the information that is given to our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

$126 per night!! I should not have paid half that much. The bathroom was clean, but that was the only plus. Property poorly maintained, beds (full) very small, uncomfortable, pillows none the same, lousy foam pillows - nasty stains on leaks in popcorn finish ceiling (attemp made to paint over). Was a true disappointment - but no other options..
Would never recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madsyd06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeColumbia, Manager at Budget Host Columbia, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2012

We do apologize for the inconvenience you experienced and will evaluate the situation in order to improve the conditions you mentioned. Thank you for your input.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

I want everyone to know this hotel should be your last resort. In fact I might say you may be safer sleeping in your car on the side of the highway in the middle of the Bronx. We never got to sleep because all the noise outside. When we woke up we found several cars vandalized and the hotel was toilet papered. The pictures of the hotel on the web site had to be taken several years ago or possible even a different location because it did even come close to how it looked. To top it all off we happened to stay at it during a Missouri home football game and they charged us 2 and a 1/2 times the normal rate. I can tell you truthfully I would not have paid more then 29.00 a night for this room and you can only imagine what I felt like when I got the bill for$126.99. Please for your safety and financial well being don't choose this hotel.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel no room is safe to stay in
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeColumbia, Manager at Budget Host Columbia, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2012

We do apologize for the actions of some of our guests which made this situation inconvenient for our other guests. It is difficult sometimes on game days to monitor the actions of a group that does not have a concern for others. We do apologize for your dissatisfaction with the rate. It was game day and rooms were occupied by as many as 5 individuals in one room, hence we charge rates to accomodate all kinds of groups. In the future we will take steps within our reach to prevent such situations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

We checked in our room this evening to find mice droppings in both beds. Upon further investigation we saw numerous mice thoughout the room. Management offered to find another room, which due to the football game in town we thought was our only option. Upon further reflection we asked for our money to be refunded as we were uncomfortable with the conditions. Not only did the front desk refuse to refund our money they refused to call management to discuss. They claimed there was nothing they could do because the room was reserved through travelocity, however, there was no attempt at all to solve the problem. Furthermore, because we mentioned the word rat move in the hotel they threatened to call the police.

This is the worst example of customer service I've ever encountered. We have contacted corporate to help rectify this situation but it has yet to be resolved. Hotel Management told us they would not refund our money because the new building did not have a history of rat problems, but at the same time admitted they had a history of rat problems in the building which they first booked us. Be very careful.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Milleke1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeColumbia, Manager at Budget Host Columbia, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2012

We had a lot of issues with this guest and had to call law and security to facilitate their departure from the property. The guest was in the lobby and verbally abused the staff and made other guests nervous and apprehensive. We have sent responses through Travelodge corporate and others and do not wish to send a public respond again. Thank you, Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbia hotels
1.9 mi away
Ramada Columbia
Ramada Columbia
#18 of 36 in Columbia
786 reviews
2.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Columbia, MO
2.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Columbia - Stadium Blvd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Columbia Inn
4.1 mi away
Super 8 Columbia East
Super 8 Columbia East
#27 of 36 in Columbia
407 reviews
2.2 mi away
Motel 6 Columbia - East
Motel 6 Columbia - East
#26 of 36 in Columbia
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Host Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Host Columbia

Address: 900 Vandiver Dr, I-70 & Rangeline, Columbia, MO 65202-1501 (Formerly Travelodge Columbia)
Region: United States > Missouri > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 36 Hotels in Columbia
Price Range: £36 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Host Columbia 2*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Budget Host Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Columbia Hotel Columbia
Travel Lodge Columbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing