We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Executive Center - Columbia
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Tiger Hotel(Columbia)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (316)
Filter reviews
316 results
Traveller rating
105
89
55
38
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
105
89
55
38
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssports barexecutive floorsports zoneindoor and outdoor poolsthe hotel was fully bookedtwo double bedscoffee makerfront desk staffbusiness travelerfitness centerrooms are niceeasy accessfree breakfastconventionpillowsmofacility
Filter
Updating list...
168 - 173 of 316 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This hotel presents itself as upscale. It was anything but. The little sports restaurant had decent food and great staff but the wait was always long. We never could find a salt shaker that would release salt. I guess it was caked because of the high humidity outside. Other restaurants find resolutions, though. We were told we would have 2 rooms adjacent to each other. We were half a hall apart and on opposite sides. I know the hotel was full and that creates a problem but do not promise it if you aren't able to do it. We had key after key made and our room lock just did not work. Finally a maintenance man was summoned to show us how to use the key properly. Hid didn't work either. He took the lock apart and said it needed new batteries. The keys worked better after that but we still had to make several tries to get the door open. We had trouble with the keys for the other room also. The room with the bad lock was the room farthest from the front desk. I finally counted - 160 paces. So each time we had to walk back for a new key it was 160 down, 160 back for a new key, and the final 160 to the room. Once I did this walk back and forth 3 times. That's when a maintenance man was finally summoned. The from cover over the bathroom sink fell out onto the floor revealing 1 empty Skye Vodka bottle and 2 emply Bud Light quart beer cans. We did get quite a kick out of this and were finally able to reset the cover back into place. The slightest bump into it would knock it out. Finally, there were cobwebs in the corner of the room at the ceiling and one cobweb from the night table lamp all the way to the ceiling. Very unimpressive. The saving grace of the entire experience was James at the front desk. He took our complaints very seriously and had us all laughing at him and ourselves. What a great asset he is to your staff! We were in rooms 260 (bad lock, cobwebs, loose sink cover) and 247 by the way.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelstaff1234, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Executive Center - Columbia, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for your constructive feedback and may I apologize for the facility issues you experienced during your stay . I will certainly pass on your comments to the relevant personnel so that steps may be taken to make improvements.
I am pleased however that you found James and the rest of our staff helpful and accommodating. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back and show you the hotel experience that we're capable of. Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Booked a king room in April for July and ended up with double beds for my husband and I, was told we could upgrade to a more expensive room for a charge, the hotel was not worth spending the extra money for a king bed. So, my husband and I slept in serperate beds. Mostly everyone who booked early did not get the room that they booked and some of the people said that this happens every year.

Air condition was very loud, had to turn the volume up on the tv in order to hear it when the air condition came on.

Bathtub had some issues but was fixed right away.

Room Tip: Supposedly floors 3-6 has been renovated, had a end room and was a decent size.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merlyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelstaff1234, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Executive Center - Columbia, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Merlyn L., Thank you for taking the time to leave a review based on your recent stay with us. Please allow us to apologize for the experience you had with your in-room Air-Conditioner and for the mixup in beds. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable accommodations and great service. Your review will be used to make improvements and we hope to have the chance to welcome you back to an improved hotel next time. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I booked in to this particular Holiday Inn because it is one of the few in the area with an outdoor pool and an indoor pool for the kids. First let me say that I was sufficiently impressed by the staff here. Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful! Kudos for this, Columbia! That being said, although the atrium area of the hotel is beautiful, the property could really use some maintenance and upgrading. Both pools had a great deal of chipped paint; especially bad in the indoor pool. My kids were picking it up. Blak. The inside pool deck was uneven and unsightly and the mock "piller" had a big hole in the bottom of it. The rooms could use a lift as well. Our ceiling needed repair and the beds were a bit sub standard. We are Priority members, but honestly, we more often choose Sheraton or Hampton (Hilton) for their consistent mattresses. We can always count on a good nights sleep! For these reasons I have to give this hotel just an "average" rating.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelstaff1234, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Executive Center - Columbia, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for your constructive feedback following your recent stay.
I was most concerned to learn of the problems you've encountered from your visit and will certainly make note to review when we evaluate the hotel facilities.
On a positive note, it is wonderful to hear that our staff was friendly and professional and was able to assist you.
We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to Columbia in the future. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We made reservations while on the road through the main Holiday Inn reservation line. We needed a place close to I-70, so in that respect it qualifies and gets one star.

We stayed on a Saturday night, which highlighted some of the challenging logistics of this place. First, when we arrived about 10 p.m., already there was no parking. There is a sports bar located there, and on that night of our arrival there was apparently a big game. The parking lot and hotel was thronged with foul-mouthed, drunk guys in jerseys and their shrill, scantily garbed fan base.

We needed a handicapped spot but couldn’t get one, much less a regular parking slot. The first place we finally found to park was not a legal space and a long way from the lobby. We saw other cars being towed so one of us had to stay in the car while the other hiked/limped a country mile to check in. Finally found a permanent slot to park far away in the back of the hotel where the staff park, but the rowdy drunks roaming in packs through the lot made leaving any car unattended an unnerving prospect. We wondered where security was and never saw any uniformed presence in or around the hotel.

The lobby was similarly thronged with loud drunks who seemed to have free run of the place. They really took 'holiday' literally in this inn. We dreaded the thought of hearing partying, puking neighbors all night long, but it was too late to drive on and every place we called previously was booked.

Room itself was tired and shabby. As prior reviewers noted, the bathroom is truly dated. It was large but had a very low ceiling. The shower was terrible. Low shower head that required crouching for anyone over 5’5 to use, all the shower head settings were painful (a few hard, drilling jets was the best we could get, no gentler broad rain option). The see-thru “crystal plastic” tub knob was full of black mold. There is no bathroom fan vent, so using the shower renders the rooms and mirrors full of steam and humidity that takes a long time to clear.

Towels were thin, scratchy and stained. The in-room fridge had no freezer compartment, which we needed to refreeze our cooler packs. There was a large blood or coffee stain (let's hope it's the latter) on the bed’s dust ruffle, and visible hairs all over the bedspread. From start to finish it, this just wasn’t a clean, safe or nice hotel experience. Think frat house after the team has checked out.

As a final disappointment, we discovered the next morning that regular Holiday Inns don’t offer continental breakfast like the express versions do, so we left tired AND hungry. Lesson learned, research first, and don’t book any place out of late-night desperation. I note that in the TripAdvisor rankings as of today, this place already falls way down on the list, wedged between two Super 8s. Let that be a clue.

Room Tip: Drive on to the next town.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blue_Morpho_Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelstaff1234, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Executive Center - Columbia, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Blue_Morpho_Flyer, Thank you for taking the time to leave a thorough review of your stay. We appreciate all feedback, whether positive or negative, so that we may improve upon our service and facilities. Please let us apologize for the unfortunate night you spent and let us assure you that we are in the process of updating our rooms. Thank you again for your feedback and we wish you safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This is a very well maintained facility. Great sports bar and knowledgeable staff that are very professional. No issues at all w/ the rooms that are very clean and well maintained, Located rigt off I-70 easy on / easy off. Excellent breakfast buffet also.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snake247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelstaff1234, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Executive Center - Columbia, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your hotel experience. We're happy to hear you had a pleasant experience and enjoyed the convenience of the hotel location. Thank you again for your comments and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews