We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great nostalgic experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Wagon Wheel Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cuba
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wagon Wheel Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cuba
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great nostalgic experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

We have wanted to stay at the Wagon Wheel since its refurbishment and we were not disappointed. Our room was exceptionally clean, very comfortable, air conditioning worked perfectly, and the staff was friendly and helpful. I used the wifi without problem. Beautiful old neon sign is still working. Definitely call for a reservation, as they are typically full (we got the last vacancy). Our room was smaller than you might find in a typically chain, but that is typical of the time period in which the motel was built.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krista L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    127
    21
    7
    10
See reviews for
77
197
28
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Banning, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

I found out about this place from a local diner. Extremely clean.... reasonable. .. beautifully maintained. .... not modernized completely but just enough "21st century" to make it pleasant. It's restored but it even still has the original glass door knobs on the original doors.

The place "......reeks with atmosphere!" The only thing it needs to make the "time travel" part complete would be if it had a Philco Predicta television that didn't work!

It's the oldest continually operating motel on the Historic Route 66 system. Good wifi. Strong signal and data streaming. Good enough for Netflix.

Another little charm is the neon sign. It faces the wrong direction. R66 was one-way (eastbound) in this area when it was built in the 1930s. If you're headed westbound it's easy to miss. Especially at dusk before the sign is turned on.


Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Iconoclasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Our room was very comfortable although small, but it is true to the period it was built. Very charming and simple . Would highly recommend for Route 66 travelers. We loved the atmosphere and gift shop.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crodrph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grayslake, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Traveled from Chicago to Cuba,Mo on Rt 66 to see the Rocking chair in Fanning.
We decided to stay here last minute with a budget set for our travels. It was a great choice. Affordable and the rooms are Nice,CLEAN,beds are comfortable and updated with some yesteryears entwined in the rooms and in the property.
We loved all of it!! rooms are not huge, bathrooms are not big, table, chairs and coffeepot in room. Enough space for 4.
We came for the experience of the history that still lives in the Wagon Wheel Cabin/Motel. If your a true 66er you will enjoy this charming place,
We stayed in room 12. She is green with envy and has cool headboards.
Highly suggested for 66ers. xoxo

Room Tip: Stayed in Rm 12, sits back off the main road Very quiet and peaceful A table w/2 chairs coffee p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabrina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

This is my 10 year anniversary of traveling Route 66 for my on going documentation called Pics On Route 66. The second time I've stayed at the Wagon Wheel. Connie and her team continue to do an amazing job with this motel. Motel was gutted and remodeled while keeping all of its historic charm back in 2010, I remember traveling the road prior to then thinking this would be a great place to stay and it is. Nice places to chill outside. Extremely clean rooms. Quality towels and comfortable beds. If your looking for a great place to stay, this is it!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank PicsOnRoute66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Logansport, Indiana
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We were celebrating our 40th anniversary a bit early and were so glad to be able to stay there. We figured it would be impossible to get a room without a reservation, but luck was on our side. It was quiet and charming. A step back into older days, when travel was more relaxing. Add this stop to your travels. Hickory Hicks is next door, so you have a good place to get a meal. Everything was clean. Love this place. Thank you, Connie, for letting us add our stay to our growing list of Route 66 memories and making our anniversary trip even more awesome!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank route66kicks2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
235 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

This is a Route 66 fixture lovingly restored by Connie Ehols. It’s hard to imagine that this motel was low income housing just 4 ½ years ago. You make your reservation by e-mailing your request for dates and if you have a specific room request from their website: wagonwheel66cuba.com. Connie will e-mail a confirmation back. The rooms are “condo” style in separate “cottages”. You park outside your room. We stayed in Room 21 which also has a kitchenette. There is an adjoining thin wall to the room next door so we heard our neighbors really well. My daughter and I started whispering as we knew that they could hear us. The room was clean. Breakfast is not included so go to Shelly’s just down the street at 402 E. Washington Street. After breakfast, tour the 12 murals in downtown Cuba on either side of Washington Street. Cuba is known as “Route 66 Mural City” and is part of the Route 66 1000 Miles of Murals. You can pick up a brochure when you check in or in town. Right next door to the Wagon Wheel is Missouri Hicks BBQ so after a long day of driving, just walk the few steps over for BBQ. Sit upstairs in their screened in deck and watch the Route 66 “traffic” go by. My issues with the room: No bolt lock on the door. OK. It’s Cuba. Let me say that again: Cuba, Missouri, so maybe, it’s not an issue, but with two single ladies, safety is important. If it’s the morning, I know where to find all of Cuba’s law enforcement: having breakfast at Shelly’s. No in room phone, which is not an issue since everyone has their cell phones, but no “information” sheet with emergency numbers to contact if there is a problem. I’m glad that I got to stay and experience some of the Route 66 magic as too many famous motels and restaurants have gone the way of the bulldozer. Make sure you make time to visit the Route 66 State Park Visitor Center either going to or coming from St. Louis to take a walk down Route 66’s memory lane.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LifeWithNoRegrets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cuba
0.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Cuba
0.8 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#3 of 4 in Cuba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
12.9 mi away
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
#1 of 1 in Saint James
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Sullivan
15.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Sullivan
Comfort Inn Sullivan
#2 of 6 in Sullivan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
21.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Rolla
Hampton Inn Rolla
#1 of 13 in Rolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wagon Wheel Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wagon Wheel Motel

Property: Wagon Wheel Motel
Address: 901 E Washington Street, Cuba, MO 65453-1951
Region: United States > Missouri > Cuba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cuba
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The oldest continuously operating motel onHistoric Rte.66 totally restored. New beds, baths, Wifi, flatscreen tvs, all inthe original charm of a tourist court. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wagon Wheel Hotel Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing